We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and reception”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Elizabeth
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza thinking I was booking here. The difference is stark.

The staff here have always been lovely. Every time I have stayed I have had a warm welcome. The rooms are large and comfortable, the internet fast, the shower good. It's well maintained, and there is plenty of parking. The shuttle staff were friendly when I used them to go into town.

Very good value, and well recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LichfieldGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

861 - 867 of 1,300 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed here last year and had a horrible experience (see earlier review). At that time, after a day in NYC, I returned to my room with some visitors only to find the room looking like Hurricane Katrina had hit it. It was not made up at all!

Anyway I complained and was assured my next stay would be a great improvement. I was informed the problems were related to a change of hotel management and staff and won't happen again.

Taking the hotel at its word, I stayed in the hotel Oct 3-7.

Check in this time was lightening fast.

The pros of the hotel:

Rooms are nice and spacious. Some have fridges and microwaves.

The cons of the hotel:

Safe Deposit - I checked in after midnight and found the in room safe to be locked and hence unusable. “Did someone leave their valuables behind?’ I thought. Too tired to do anything about it at that time, I waited until the next morning, when I woke up at 10:00am and called the front desk to open it for me. I was told that someone would come in a minute or two. Nobody came for 20 mins, so I called again. A few minutes thereafter, the hotels’ engineer, Jim, arrived and after some difficulty, managed to pry open the safe. He stated that it is common for kids to cause such mayhem for other guests and hotel staff.

My suggestion to hotel management: either debit guests who leave the safe locked an amount to reflect the inconvenience caused to the subsequent guests and to hotel staff such as Jim, or, ask housekeeping to check that the safes are open BEFORE considering the room AVAILABLE for new guests.

Hotel Shuttle -The entrance to the Jersey Gardens Outlet Mall by foot is a good 15 mins away.
On my prior visit, there was a REGULAR complimentary hotel shuttle to the outlet mall. The trip took 2 mins.

Now the shuttle is only on demand. Going to the mall it can leave every hour and drops guests off as it makes its way to the airport.

But returning from the mall it is woefully unreliable. Both the driver and the front desk told me to call the hotel when I want a ride back from the mall.

On Oct 7 from the mall, I called the hotel at 12:29pm and was told the bus is on the way and will collect me in a couple of mins. I was asked twice where I was so as to ensure I waited in the right place. The “right place” is exactly where I was dropped off, outside the food court. At 12:54am I called again saying the bus has not arrived. The front desk apologised and the bus appeared shortly after 1:00pm. The inconvenience I endured can be measured by the fact that I stood like a scarecrow in a cornfield for 33 mins in the cold and rain when I could have been shopping or enjoying a burger at Johnny Rocket’s.

That was not the only negative experience with the shuttle.

Only the night before, I spent the evening in NYC. On leaving the hotel earlier that day I asked about shuttles from the airport and was told ‘yes we have them at night, no problem’. I arrived back at EWR from NYC at 01:06am.

Thinking that there are shuttles every 30-40 mins, I patiently waited and waited. At 01:40am ALONE at the airport's shuttle's pick up point, I was somewhere between nervous and fed up. I called the hotel and was told there are no shuttles after 01:00am. This is NOT what I was told several hours earlier. After a short chat, the front desk sent a shuttle, which collected me at 01:55 am.

These two shuttle experiences really, really frustrated me. Especially the wait at the airport. Alone. And I bet it would more than frustrate seniors or single women.

Breakfast – cereal, bagels (with cheese, jam, honey), eggs, waffles and coffee are all ok.
If you don't like the breakfast there is an IHOP next door for great pancakes.

Staff – uniformly sporting a positive attitude, I found the front desk was always understaffed IMHO given the volume of guests.

This hotel is rated the #1 choice in the EWR vicinity. But my experiences – low staff numbers at the front desk, guest rooms not thoroughly checked before being released to the next guest and problematic shuttles – indicate the hotel is slipping down the standards totem pole.

That said, the rooms are still nice and the breakfast still passable. And for my money, the hotel
represents very good value.

Memo to management: Please address the issues of shuttle and safe deposit box and you will no doubt keep your rating as EWR’s #1 hotel.

All things considered I'll be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JA-From-Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I am surprised this hotel is well rated in some other reviews.

I booked online and paid in full for a King room more than a week in advance. On checkin, front desk lady assigns me a Queen and claims online sites like Ex----- and Pr------- don't book King vs Queen rooms. I show her a printout of my reservation. Then she claims that a Double Queen is a actually upgrade from the King I paid in advance for. After I dispute to the manager, I finally receive a King room.

The room itself is old and tired. Carpet is heavily stained and looks filthy. The room is noisy -- there is a lot of noise close to the elevator, and also noise from trains during the night.

The complimentary "Deluxe Breakfast" basically consists of badly cooked eggs and Kellogg cereal. The only saving grace to the breakfast is the "make your own waffle" machine.

Country Inn is not at all worth it for the price. Will stay elsewhere when I fly through EWR.

Room Tip: Very noisy if room is near elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank T6D3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your review of our property. Please be advised that not all 3rd party sites guarantee room types. I am glad that they were able to accommodate you in the room type you preferred. All types of reviews help us to make it better to accommodate all of our guests. We understand that some of our rooms seem outdated and that is why we are in the process renovating our property. I hope you would give us another chance in the future to show you that our hotel is about comfort and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for its value and convience.Our flight was 5:30 AM, returning a week later.Although they advertise 24hr airport shuttle service,they don't actually start the service until 4 AM.Because our flight was so early we requested a 3:30 AM pickup without any issue.The driver was right on time.I parked the car in the rear of the hotel with a date of return on the window.The room was very clean and comfortable.We stayed over on a Monday night.It was quiet but the lobby was fairly busy with many people waiting to check in.When we returned from our flight we called the hotel using the courtousy phone located at the P-4 terminal using the air tram to get there.We waited 5 minutes for the shuttle.The only issue was with the service at checkin.The clerk that was checking us in did not have it together.He couldn't check us in even though he had or reservation.He requested a reservation number from us that i did not no i needed.To make a long story short we got the mgr to get us thru this problem.The clerk then started to check someone else in before we were done.He took my credit card and forgot to give it back to me with the room key.I would stay here again but they have to improve the coustomer service

Room Tip: There is a Ruby Tuesday and Ihop located right next door to the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irishwhiskey135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel is very convenient located near EWR and offers a pre-cruise package, so we decided to stay here before a cruise. The package included round-trip transportation to the Cape Liberty Cruise Port, and we found this service great. There is also a complimentary 24-hour shuttle service to EWR.

Although the hotel is quite large with more than 200 rooms, the atmosphere is cozy with afternoon cookies. We found the staff friendly and helpful.

Our room was not very modern, but clean and ok. The CRT TV had a minor signal problem, which was quickly fixed, so no big deal.

The included breakfast was excellent with a huge selection of hot and cold items.

There is a great Ruby Tuesday right next to the hotel, and we had an enjoyable dinner there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NemoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel was extremely convenient for us as we were flying out of Newark the next morning. They drop you off at the airport every half hour on the hour and we thought we would have to call them when we returned (make sure you are at parking stop P4- you will need to take a short shuttle) but to our surprise they were already there! It was a flawless operation and it's a 5-10 min ride back and forth. We checked in to the hotel early as we wanted to avoid rush hour coming from Philly and guess what? Check in time is at 4 but they gave us a room at 1:00! We then went across the street to the Jersey Gardens outlet mall which is great if you love to shop. They have every store imaginable and then we went back to the hotel for a swim. They have a very nice relaxing indoor pool and fitness center. We then freshened up before we went next door to Ruby Tuesday's for dinner which was great! Overall this was a wonderful experience. However, I wouldn't be honest if I didn't mention a couple of very minor complaints: It would have been nice to get eye contact and a smile from the person who checked us in (maybe he was having a bad day) and also I'm still waiting for our 4:00 AM wake up call to arrive. Luckily we set the alarm as a backup! Next year we go away on another trip and we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed at this hotel during a holiday week end when hotel rates in Manhattan were sky high. I chose it because of reviews and a good senior rate. The hotel itself was fine with a nice enough large clean, quiet room and bathroom, comfortable bed and free internet that worked after cordial assistance from a techincal support person. The breakfast was OK. The staff were very helpful and respectful.

When I stayed near Newark Aiport before the hotels were isolated and getting to the train that goes into NYC was a bit complicated--hotel van, tram, and train that cost maybe $10 each way. This hotel was very close to several others and across the road ,with stop light and a short safe walk from the hotel, was a large outlet mall, which I did not frequent (the hotel van will take you there if you would rather not walk). The nice thing was that at this outlet mall is a TNJ bus that goes right into Port of Authority in Manhattan in 30 minutes and cost under $3 for a senior. The hotel clerk gave me schedules for the appropriate bus to and from the city and very careful directions.I had no problem walking to the mall and back to the hotel at midnight. I saved lots to spend in Manhattan on things i wanted to do.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grover33Raleigh_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Newark Elizabeth
Courtyard Newark Elizabeth
#6 of 14 in Elizabeth
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport
3.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
1.9 mi away
Hilton Newark Airport
Hilton Newark Airport
#3 of 14 in Elizabeth
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport

Address: 100 Glimcher Realty Way, Elizabeth, NJ 07201-2953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Elizabeth
#2 Green Hotel in Elizabeth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Elizabeth
Price Range: $117 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming Hotel’s Convenient Location in Newark When you stay at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport, NJ, experience quality amenities like free high-speed Internet access and an indoor pool in a convenient location just two miles from Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR). Guests appreciate gracious services like a fitness center, a business center, meeting facilities and the complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast buffet, which is served daily. The area is full of delicious restaurants like Assaggini di Roma, high-end shopping like The Outlet Collection at Jersey Gardens Mall, and cultural centers like the Newark Museum. Plus, the hotel’s location in Newark is less than half an hour away by train from the exciting and iconic New York City. Book your comfortable, well-appointed room or suite today and enjoy a prime location near everything the area has to offer. Starting April 14, 2014, there will be an overnight parking charge of $10. 100% non-smoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Newark Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Country Inn And Suites Newark Airport
Country Inn Newark Airport
Country Inn Elizabeth
Elizabeth Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing