We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel....Great Price....Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Newark Elizabeth
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hotel is located just across a shopping center..NJ Gardens and you do not have to starve as there is an IHOP for breakfast and Ruby Tuesday...walk to the shopping garden and you have a food court. Although the rooms are small,they are clean and organize. The people at the counter have a welcoming attitude. The complex where it is located is very conducive for walking or even jogging

Room Tip: 3rd floor near elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eggwinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel K, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write and share feedback from your most recent stay on Trip Advisor. Our location is truly one of our biggest amenities which has huge advantages being able to shop, dine or drive into New York City within minutes. Our goal is to provide our guests with a memorable and enjoyable experience from start to finish and we hope to welcome you back.

Gabriel Kuan
General Manager – Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 326 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here for a night prior to cruising out of Cape Liberty. The hotel was very nice and very clean. Also there was secured parking. Our room was spacious, the bed was very comfortable, and there was a nice TV in the room. There is also a outlet shopping center really close. We ate at a IHOP which was close enough for us to walk to. The indoor pool appeared to be nice. However, we did not have a chance to use it. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and I will personally stay there again the next time we sail out of Cape Liberty.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jace E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel K, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for sharing on Trip Advisor. Guest satisfaction and customer care are amongst our highest priorities so thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I will certainly share this with members of my team as we aim to provide a truly memorable stay for all of our Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth guests. We do hope to welcome you back to Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth in the near future so that we may show you a more perfect hotel experience.

Gabriel Kuan
General Manager – Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We used this hotel for a pre-cruise night. Good size room, clean, bath and toilet separated from sink which is convenient. Large King bed very comfortable.
Conveniently situated near highway 95 and 78 and close to Neward Airport and Cape Liberty in Bayonne. Across the street from Jersey Gardens Outlett mall. We ate at Ruby Tuesday across the street for diner. Breakfast was included in our fare, at the hotel, and we had the choice of any hot items or two cold ones from their Café Bistro. It was plentiful and good. Starbucks coffee is served.

The hotel has a nice indoor pool, and a gym.

Parking is not included in hotel fare. $15 a day.

A shuttle to airport and port is available but we did not use either.

I would definitely go back there for a one-nighter, but not for longer as there's really not much in this area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcdess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel K, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. Guest satisfaction and customer care are amongst our highest priorities so thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Our location is one of our best amenity being only 15 minutes from Cape Liberty Port. We do have some great offers that do include one night accommodations and parking such as our Park and Cruise rate or you can choose to pay on a daily basis for parking at $11.

I will certainly share this positive feedback with members of my team as we aim to provide a truly memorable stay for all of our Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth guests. We do hope to welcome you back to Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth in the near future.

Gabriel Kuan
General Manager – Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed there for 1 night on our way back from Niagara Falls to fly out from JFK. As we arrived, front desk was ok. When I went to open my room (after a 9 hour drive from Canada) the key didn't work. I went downstairs (room was on the 3rd floor) And they reactivated the card, went up and it still didn't work. (I still had all my luggage) I had to go down to front desk 4 times when I finally asked them to have someone come with me! It was at least 15 minutes before I could finally get into my room!!! Very bad experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSM1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard N, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay with us and thank you for taking time to review your experience, as you can understand things, particularly mechanical; do not always work the way they should.
However our team could have taken care of this simple issue the first time, as you will see from the many great reviews we receive through this wonderful forum; we have a very hard working team making a positive difference in travelers experience every single day.
Please feel free to reach out to me directly if business or pleasure brings you back to the area and I will personally ensure a memorable stay for all the right reasons. Happy traveling.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I liked the Courtyard in Elizabeth, New Jersey mostly for the great outlet mall directly across the street. I did get a great night's sleep, the staff was friendly, and there was also food nearby. The desk clerk was able to direct me to the Concierge Desk at the mall for a coupon book which saved me even more on my purchases.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjb415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel K, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor! I’m delighted you enjoyed your Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth experience. We are an approved hotel in the area to provide the Jersey Gardens Oultet Mall Coupon book to all our guest!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth for business or pleasure.

Gabriel Kuan
General Manager – Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here after having had a flight cancellation. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly. There is a very good cafe for light meals or good breakfast selections Good shuttle to and from airport. The beds were very comfortable. Look out for taxes and fees which amounted to around $40.00 for us.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. We were on the 3rd floor with (2) queen beds. The room as also handicap friendl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnandPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel K, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor! I’m delighted you enjoyed your Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth experience. The Bistro Café is an a la carte breakfast option with fresh made items. Taxes are controlled by the state/city for our hotel. Elizabeth is a urban free tax zone so for Marriott to operate in the city it has some higher taxes than other cities.
Your feedback gives us a wonderful chance to make service operation impacts! We look forward to welcoming you back to Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth for business or pleasure.

Gabriel Kuan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Let me say this first - the hotel is clean, well laid out, staff are friendly and it's everything you would want a short stay visit to be. I didn't have much luck during my 3-night stay, as the first morning I woke up to workers on the roof making a lot of noise before 7:00am with what seemed like they were dropping cars on the roof! The next day we had to evacuate the hotel while 7 fire response vehicles showed up to investigate. I couldn't understand why the staff didn't address the crowd of cold people waiting to go back inside and it seemed to be everyone doing their own thing! Not once did anybody come outside and say that it was OK to return to our rooms. I had 2 small children in night dresses getting cold.

Room Tip: Not much to look at, just as well to let the kids watch the airplanes at the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewfieSteak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel K, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write and share feedback from your most recent stay on Trip Advisor. Please accept our apologies for the dissatisfaction of the noise and fire alarm during your time spent with us. This is certainly not the Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth experience we aim to provide our guests and I am truly sorry for your experience. I will be sure to follow up with our management team so that we may look further into these matters. Our goal is to provide our guests with a memorable and enjoyable experience from start to finish and we hope to welcome you back.

Gabriel Kuan
General Manager – Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elizabeth hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
1.8 mi away
Hilton Newark Airport
Hilton Newark Airport
#2 of 13 in Elizabeth
1,737 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Newark Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Newark Elizabeth

Address: 87 International Blvd, Elizabeth, NJ 07201-3924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Elizabeth
Price Range: $131 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Newark Elizabeth 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step out of the same old business travel routine when you step inside our Courtyard Elizabeth Hotel near Newark Airport. Perfect for business travelers, this Elizabeth hotel boasts four meeting rooms and a state-of-the-art lobby with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi & easy access to the latest news, weather & airport updates via our GoBoard™. The highlight of our lobby is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.™, which provides guests with healthy food & beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Guests of our Elizabeth hotel can relax in comfort in our contemporary accommodations featuring designer bedding, relax at our indoor pool & whirlpool or workout in our 24-hour fitness center. Our hotel is across from Jersey Gardens Mall and only 15 minutes from Port of Bayonne and the NJ Prudential Center. We are also central to UMDNJ, Rutgers & Kean University. The Courtyard Newark Elizabeth Hotel near Newark, NJ is designed to work the way you do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Newark Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Newark Elizabeth Hotel Elizabeth
Courtyard Elizabeth
Elizabeth Marriott
Elizabeth Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing