We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Newark Elizabeth
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great base if you want to explore New York. We stayed here as it was much cheaper and cleaner than the same sort of hotels for our budget in New York. Staff where very friendly, 10/10. Shuttle bus collects you from airport and it is only a short 5 mins drive away and yet you hear no noise from planes etc. There is also the Jersey Gardens mall 5 mins walk away where you can get the bus into NYC. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophi_9x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel K, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Elizabeth, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. Guest satisfaction and customer care are amongst our highest priorities so thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Our location is a great amenity to all our guests.

I will certainly share this positive feedback with members of my team as we aim to provide a truly memorable stay for all of our Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth guests. We do hope to welcome you back to Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth in the near future.

Gabriel Kuan
General Manager – Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    144
    46
    18
    8
See reviews for
82
78
16
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here in April, 2013 for one night before going on a cruise. It was about 10 minutes from the Newark airport. They have a 24 hr shuttle for airport to hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolH852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel K, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Elizabeth, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor! I’m delighted you enjoyed your Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth experience. Our location and 24 hour shuttle are among one of our best amenities.

Your feedback gives us a wonderful chance to make service operation impacts! We look forward to welcoming you back to Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth for business or pleasure.

Gabriel Kuan
General Manager – Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City San Fernando, State California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife stayed here for one night before driving to Washington DC. We found the room to be well appointed and clean. The bed and bedding were both really comfortable. Check and check out were quick and easy. There is an IHOP and Ruby Tuesdays restaurant adjacent to the hotel and within walking distance. The only complaint we had was the lack of light in the shower. When the shower curtain is closed to take a shower the light from the ceiling is blacked out. Other than that it was a 4/5 stay.

Room Tip: Skip the breakfast and walk over to IHOP.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MexVacationing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel K, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Elizabeth, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. Guest satisfaction and customer care are amongst our highest priorities so thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We will begin to look at upgrading the light output in the guest bathrooms to increase visibility in the bathroom while the shower curtain is closed.

I will certainly share this positive feedback with members of my team as we aim to provide a truly memorable stay for all of our Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth guests. We do hope to welcome you back to Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth in the near future.

Gabriel Kuan
General Manager – Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Been staying at this hotel for several years now. I've always found it clean with friendly, helpful employees. The only complaint I ever had, which I used to laugh at, was that the free coffee in the lobby was awful. I've asked them over and over again to please make the Starbucks coffee available for purchase at all times, as I usually leave the hotel before the restaurant opens.

The hotel appears to have recently decided to cut costs and have killed the coffee service altogether. As an airline crew member who stays in many hotels, this is a first. I'm fine with not having the free option, but at least make something available for purchase.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weblass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel K, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Elizabeth, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and share feedback from your most recent stay on Trip Advisor. Please accept our apologies for the dissatisfaction with not informing you of our new Coffee Standards. Our standards were changed due to Brand Specifications with Starbucks in the same location. We do provide complimentary coffee and tea in all guestrooms.

On your next visit to NJ please stop at the front desk, our entire front desk is trained to make any specialty drink upon request when the Bistro is closed. Please accept my open invitation to enjoy a complimentary Starbucks Drink on your next visit regardless of the time.

Our goal is to provide our guests with a memorable and enjoyable experience from start to finish and we hope to welcome you back.

Gabriel Kuan
General Manager – Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Location is great since is nearby Ihop, Ruby Tuesday and Jersey Gardens. Check in was fast, the stayed was during the storm, we where able to spend the night with drinks at the lobby. They gave us a room that smelled a lot to cigarrette, but after a call they changed it within minutes and everything was perfect. Rate was around 100us, so it was great value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdnaPinzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel K, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Elizabeth, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor! I’m delighted you enjoyed your Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth experience. Your feedback gives us a wonderful chance to make service operation impacts! We look forward to welcoming you back to Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth for business or pleasure.

Gabriel Kuan
General Manager – Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec City, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at this Courtyard the night before boarding our cruise out of Cap Liberty (Bayonne), NJ.

The location was fine (there is a big outlet mall nearby - great to kill spare time). Check in was easy. The room size was reasonable and it was well appointed. Shortly after our check in, we went to the indoor pool to have a bit of quiet time. The kids enjoyed it.

Things were not as pleasant the following morning. We needed to head out only around noon, so we took our time to get out of bed. By the time we hit the shower (around 10 am), there was no hot water left.

We headed to the café for breakfast. We had pre-booked it in our package. I would not recommend having breakfast there especially if you are on a schedule. The menu is very limited and the service was extremely slow.

On our way out, we asked if there was a drugstore nearby. We were handed out a piece of paper with directions to Walgreens. The first 2 tips worked, but the directions did not work once you were on Highway 1.

We like staying at Marriott Courtyards. However, the Elizabeth NJ location did not meet our expectations.

Room Tip: Avoid booking your room with the breakfast package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juneau67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel K, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Elizabeth, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and share feedback from your most recent stay on Trip Advisor. Please accept our apologies for the dissatisfaction of the hot water levels and for not being open late on Sunday mornings. This is certainly not the Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth experience we aim to provide our guests and I am truly sorry for your experience. I will be sure to follow up with our management team so that we may look further into these matters. Our goal is to provide our guests with a memorable and enjoyable experience from start to finish and we hope to welcome you back.

Gabriel Kuan
General Manager – Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We're just back from our second stay here and can't say enough nice things about this hotel.Its right across the street from jersey gardens shopping mall which is a big bonus if your on a shopping trip like we where, It's 5 mins from Newark airport with a shuttle bus.It's clean bright and fresh and has free wifi. The staff are lovely and very helpful and what more could you ask for. See ye again next year

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noreen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel K, General Manager at Courtyard Newark Elizabeth, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing on Trip Advisor. Guest satisfaction and customer care are amongst our highest priorities so thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us.
I will certainly share this with members of my team as we aim to provide a truly memorable stay for all of our Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth guests. We do hope to welcome you back to Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth in the near future so that we may show you a more perfect hotel experience.

Gabriel Kuan
General Manager – Courtyard Marriott Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elizabeth hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Newark Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Newark Elizabeth

Property: Courtyard Newark Elizabeth
Address: 87 International Blvd, Elizabeth, NJ 07201-3924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Newark Elizabeth 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step out of the same old business travel routine when you step inside our Courtyard Elizabeth Hotel near Newark Airport. Perfect for business travelers, this Elizabeth hotel boasts four meeting rooms and a state-of-the-art lobby with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi & easy access to the latest news, weather & airport updates via our GoBoard™. The highlight of our lobby is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.™, which provides guests with healthy food & beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Guests of our Elizabeth hotel can relax in comfort in our contemporary accommodations featuring designer bedding, relax at our indoor pool & whirlpool or workout in our 24-hour fitness center. Our hotel is across from Jersey Gardens Mall and only 15 minutes from Port of Bayonne and the NJ Prudential Center. We are also central to UMDNJ, Rutgers & Kean University. The Courtyard Newark Elizabeth Hotel near Newark, NJ is designed to work the way you do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Newark Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Newark Elizabeth Hotel Elizabeth
Courtyard Elizabeth
Elizabeth Marriott
Elizabeth Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing