We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can u say Bed Bugs...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Newark Elizabeth
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We arrived from the airport...checked in and off to New York...upon returning we noticed a bed bug crawling on the top sheet toward me lying on the bed...then I preceeded to inspectthe mattress to find feces dropping all around the box spring and the mattress was stained...the management was prompt to assist but they agreed when to accomodate...like this been an on going problem....check check...before u sleep...anywhere especially where a lot of frequent..... Ugh ;(((((

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shuggar913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 332 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2011

Stayed here because we were flying out of Newark to Mexico. First, they have a 24 hour a day shuttle to the airport. It leaves every half hour. You can park at the hotel and leave your car there until you return and its all FREE included with your room! When we returned we wanted to spend a day in NYC. The hotel can tell you how to get there. We used the following method and it was great (Also the most popular), take the free shuttle to the airport, take the free airtran, which is a monorail (the shuttles drop off and pick up at the airtran station). Take the airtran to the rail station, buy a ticket on the NJT to New York Penn station ($12.50 one way on weekends) and your there. Reverse it back home (Trains leave as late as 1 am). The trains leave about every fifteen minutes.

The hotel is very good, the rooms are large and comfortable. The is a small resturant at the hotel and several nice resturants, Ruby Tuesdays and IHOP a short walk away. Jersey Gardens Mall is across the road and they have a shuttle there by request (we drove over). This is a very large mall with many outlet stores and about 20 places to eat and theaters. So good food and entertainment nearby.

The hotel has a small market, with some fast foods, drinks. There is also free wi fi internet and you can print airline boarding passes the night before you leave.

If you want to go to NYC and need a inexpensive place to stay, this is the place, we paid $109 a night for a king size bed. PS for those who don't know NYC, Penn Station is below Madison Square Garden so if you want to go to a game or a concert this is the place to go.

The rooms were really clean, service was great and we really liked this place. PS-they have a nice gym area and a heated indoor pool. You really can't beat this place for a good stay.

The one negative and it really did not bother us is that this is close to Newark Airport and there is some plane noise but to be honest you really don't hear it unless you open the window.

Room Tip: This is a hotel complex, several others nearby. The front rooms have the best views. The West rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msmacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way to Cancun from the UK.

I chose this hotel because it saved us going into Manhattan when were only there for about 20 hrs in total and I liked the fact it was close to Jersey Gardens outlet mall. The pickup point from the airport for the courtesy bus was easy to find.

Our room wasn't ready when we arrived at the hotel but they let us leave our luggage and we went over the the mall. It's about a 5 minute walk to the mall, which you can see across the street. The mall has a good range of shops and we got some great bargains at Abercrombie and also in Saks off 5th. There is a good food court too, starbucks and quite a few other places to eat.

When we got back to the hotel a few hours later our room was ready and we were checked in quickly. Our room was comfortable with a large lcd with a good range of TV channels and a queen size bed. The room and bathroom were quite dated. We weren't bothered with any aircraft noise, we could here the planes earlier in the evening but it did become less frequent. The walls were quite thin in the room and we were more aware of the noise from next door. We also a light bite to eat at the bistro in the hotel and our food was really nice. The staff were nice and friendly as well.

I would definitely stay here again if I was on another stopover.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotel-Guru-Kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Close to Newark airport and Jersey Gardens. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was bright and clean and lots of space. Shuttle to and from airport/Jersey Gardens was always on time. The only one negative complaint I had was that children would get on the computers in the lobby in the evening and stay on them for hours and the guests would not have access to the computers during this period.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retirednewfie2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Been there for one night only arriving by plane. Nice welcoming business hotel with everything you need like pool, fitness room, free coffee/tea, free wifi, free parking etc. Breakfast is not included and very expensive when having it at a starbucks kind of shop. Rooms are clean and up to date. We specially liked the proximity to the Jersey Gardens Outlet Mall.

Room Tip: upper floor overviewing elizabeth
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medallion-chief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I've stayed for 1 night during October, hust to catch a flight the following day. This review is written a year after I've stayed at the next door Country In & suites hotel. Both of them are good hotels and the reviews in TA don't lie, but the Courtyard is signifficantly better, so this is why I'm surprised that Country In & suites is ranked no. 1.
Upon arrival I was greeted by an exceptionally nice and quick desk clerck (I think her name was Jane or Jenny) and I was given the rom key very quickly.
The hotel room is very spacious comparing to Manhattan hotels, has an LCD TV and the room in general is very clean.
The design of the room and the hotel is relativly nice and in whole, the hotel seems like it was built only a few years ago.
Breakfast wasn't a buffet, but only a sandwich and a drink, but I didn't come for the breakfast.
The hotel also has free wi-fi and even a pool and a large lobby for meetings etc.. The business room provides a few computers with a printer which was very helpful to me in printing cupons and the flight e-ticket.
The main advantage of the hotel is the proximity to both Newark airport and to Jersey Gardens Outlet mall. Newark is a breeze with the hotel's free shuttle (10-15 minutes drive, every 30 minutes), and the mall is 4-5 minutes walk. A very good mall with great prices.
Conection to Manhattan can be a little bit of a hassle if you choose to go via Newark, Airtrain and the NJ Path train, especially with luggage. But a great and cheap option is to use the NJ bus as I did - lines 111 or 115 stop at the mall, and after a short walk you're in the hotel. The 115 bus even runs untill nidnight or so. Travel time is ~50 minutes from Port Authority bus terminal.
All in all, it's a brilliat option for 1-2 night stay near Newark airport and a good (and mainly cheap) option for a Manhattan conection.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors are more quiet (airplanes landing).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iolan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed at the Residence Inn across from this last year so thought I would try this one for our stop over at Newark. It was smooth all the way and a good stay. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms very clean. Only issue I had was that although it was a non-smoking room it was obvious that someone had been smoking in the room but I did not complain as it was near the rest of my family and I guess the hotel cannot police this 100% .

We did not use the hotel shuttle on arrival but used it the following morning. Very good service. We had snacks and drinks in the lobby area in the evening and there were lots of TVs on so we were entertained while we sat. There appeared to be a mix of guests, business people, airport staff and visitors.

We used one of the PCs in the lobby seating area to check in online but it did not have paper however we found some in another printer and got it going. Panic over. We used points for this stay and I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking to stay in this area. I will be back next month for another stop over. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elizabeth hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Newark Airport, NJ
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newark Airport
1.7 mi away
Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Newark Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Newark Elizabeth

Address: 87 International Blvd, Elizabeth, NJ 07201-3924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Elizabeth
Price Range: $120 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Newark Elizabeth 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step out of the same old business travel routine when you step inside our Courtyard Elizabeth Hotel near Newark Airport. Perfect for business travelers, this Elizabeth hotel boasts four meeting rooms and a state-of-the-art lobby with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi & easy access to the latest news, weather & airport updates via our GoBoard™. The highlight of our lobby is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.™, which provides guests with healthy food & beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Guests of our Elizabeth hotel can relax in comfort in our contemporary accommodations featuring designer bedding, relax at our indoor pool & whirlpool or workout in our 24-hour fitness center. Our hotel is across from Jersey Gardens Mall and only 15 minutes from Port of Bayonne and the NJ Prudential Center. We are also central to UMDNJ, Rutgers & Kean University. The Courtyard Newark Elizabeth Hotel near Newark, NJ is designed to work the way you do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Newark Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Newark Elizabeth Hotel Elizabeth
Courtyard Elizabeth
Elizabeth Marriott
Elizabeth Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing