We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Elizabeth
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I have been coming to Extended Stay America in Elizabeth, NJ for a while every time I have to work on the East coast. And they have upgraded their decor quite impressively. So now they are approaching the 5 star level as their employees especially Carmen. And I know there are a lot of plugs for Carmen but you have to come meet her yourself.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NathanS913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

I would like to personally thank you not only for your continued loyalty to our hotel, but also for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Extended Stay America Elizabeth - Newark Airport. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. To be told that we are “approaching the 5 star level” means so very much to all of us.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we cannot wait to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 224 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

Carmen at the front desk is every bit as awesome as the rest of the reviews suggest. That is where the good things end. Airport shuttle costs $5+tax and runs 7am to 11pm. The hotel is run down. My non-smoking room stinks like cigarettes and marijuana. The bedspread has holes in it. The TV remote doesn't work. Whatever - I wasn't expecting luxury for $94/night at the airport for the 6 hours I'll be in the room. But what really takes the cake is the construction going on in the room directly above me at MIDNIGHT! Drills, hammers, etc. When i called the front desk, the agent (not Carmen) verified that construction was indeed happening in the room above me and suggested that I talk to the manager when he arrives at 7am because "she just works there". Seriously???

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

I recently received a copy of your review, and would like to take a moment to respond. Our company prides itself on excellent guest service, so it was gratifying to read your feedback about Carmen. But I would like to give you my most heartfelt apology regarding the part of your stay that was not satisfactory.

As this hotel’s manager, I challenge our staff to continually improve the experience of our guests, from the cleanliness of our rooms, to the courteous professionalism of our staff. Unfortunately, in your situation, it is clear that we were unsuccessful in achieving these goals. Given our belief that guests like you are our most valuable asset, this failure is particularly troubling.

Your review has caused us to take a serious look at the systems we have in place to handle our day to day operations and we will be making modifications as appropriate.
It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We arrived here with a party of 8 and had 2 rooms reserved. But initially the both rooms were on different floors.Carmen at the front desk was very helping and she went out of the way to re-assign our rooms at the same floor. She also helped us with our questions related to restaurents and also with the questions related to local travel. She really showed interest in trying to help us. I was impressed a lot! and I will strongly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mukesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

"I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Extended Stay America Elizabeth - Newark Airport. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. I am so glad that Carmen was able to get both of your rooms closer together for you, and to help you with regard to the surrounding area. We believe that building a professional, courteous, and accommodating relationship with our customers will continue to bring them back for future stays, and your willingness to recommend us to others is the greatest compliment you can give us!
Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Im about to write this review and can already read the numerous positive reviews about the Front Desk clerk Carmen... and for a good reason. She fulfilled all of our requests. We were already stressed out because my husband is active military and we were en route to Germany on pcs orders. We were also traveling with our cat. She helped make our stop in between flights extremely accommodating and was understanding with a family issue that had come up.

The property was excellently priced for what we received, but honestly, it's always great service that makes the stay worth wild. Carmen should be highly commended for her uplifting personality, sense of understanding, efficiency, and overall charismatic quality, wanting to help and putting others before herself. Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Kimberly,

I would like to thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Extended Stay America Elizabeth - Newark Airport, and, in particular, about our colleague Carmen. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. Our business is one in which the staff gets to know our guests, who sometimes stay with us for weeks or months. We believe that building a professional, courteous, and accommodating relationship with our customers will continue to bring them back for future stays. We also realize that we are very fortunate to have Carmen representing us to our guests!
Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Good:

Rooms have decent space.
Love their convenient Laundry and microwave oven.
Very warm staff. Meet with a lady called Carmen (I think). Very genial person that is hard to find in other hotel receptions.

Bad:
Rooms have a strange odor, but the window can be open by yourself, so it's not a big issue.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caomuruzhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

It was very kind of you to take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at the Extended Stay America Elizabeth - Newark Airport. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. That's why the biggest investment we make is in our customers. As you know, our unique suites are designed with you in mind. Offering amenities like a full refrigerator, stovetop, in-room wifi access, personalized voicemail, and on-premise laundry in exceptionally priced rooms has led us to be the premier extended stay option in the industry. And with guests like you, we will continue to thrive.
It would, of course, be our pleasure to see you as our guest again in the future. Should you experience any issues with odors on your next visit, please be sure to bring it to our attention so that we can rectify the issue during your stay. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Just wanted to take a moment to say thanks for having such great and caring person working in this hotel such as Carmen. She doesn't only greets you with a smile, but she goes above and behond to help you and take care of you. Feel very bless to know I can come here and know Carmen will take great care of me and my family. Thanks Carmen!!! Keep up the good work!!!!

Room Tip: Try to book before hand and double check on your reservation before arrival. It always helps to ensu...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Erika,

I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Extended Stay America Elizabeth - Newark Airport, and in particular, about the service provided by Carmen. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. Our business is one in which the staff gets to know our guests, who sometimes stay with us for weeks or months. We believe that building a professional, courteous, and accommodating relationship with our customers will continue to bring them back for future stays. I will be sure to let Carmen know what an impact she has had.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed for a lengthy duration at the Extended Stay in Elizabeth. While there I received great service from the staff. The most notable staff member is Carmen. She always had a smile on her face. She was very attentive to the guest at the front counter and made them feel at home.

All in all stay was very good and a great value.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

T J,

I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Extended Stay America Elizabeth - Newark Airport. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. We strive to provide a ""home away from home"" experience for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. It sounds like we were able to do just that for you, and we are truly honored for your recognition.
Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Newark Elizabeth
Courtyard Newark Elizabeth
#6 of 14 in Elizabeth
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Newark Elizabeth/Liberty International Airport
2.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport

Address: 45 International Blvd, Elizabeth, NJ 07201-3924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range: $119 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. Parking Fee: 1-5 nights: $5/night 6+ nights: one-time $25.00 charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Extended Stay, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Elizabeth - Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Elizabeth - Newark Airport Hotel Elizabeth
Extended Stayamerica Hotel Elizabeth
Extended Stay Elizabeth
Elizabeth Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing