We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was terrible”
Review of IHOP

IHOP
Ranked #5 of 242 Restaurants in Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Service was terrible”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We went on the weekend and were seated right away. Good sign because on the weekends, there is always a wait however, when we got our food, it was ice cold. Ok, let me back up. Our server came to take our order, we asked for a few minutes to look over the menu and she never came back. I waved her down and she took our order. After she took our order, she took the order of a table of 12. 15-20 go by and no food. 5 minutes later, it comes to the table ice cold. I waved the waitress back over and she apologizes and takes the food back. So now, the table of 12 starts receiving their food and ours is nowhere to be found. The waitress says" idk what happened, the cooks didn't remake it". Manager! The mgr apologizes and tries to give us certificates. No thanks. We came prepared to pay for our food and we'll not be returning there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reese W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    92
    37
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food for great prices!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

You can't go wrong with IHOP. The prices are affordable and the food is consistent and delicious. The service was awesome. The location is directly across the road from the outlet mall.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CSCTravelAgentKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Marvelous value for money”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This place gets crowded, often with a line waiting for a table. But IHOP is very civilised. If it is crowded, put your name down as you enter, grab an seat and read a newspaper or magazine. Even if you, like me, are engrossed in a novel, don't worry. If you don't hear your name when the staff call it out, they will raise their voices until you will hear it. LOL

Even though this IHOP is large and filled to capacity, service here is faster than I have experienced in IHOPs I frequent in Los Angeles.

Well done IHOP.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JA-From-Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“GreaT FOOD”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Food was delicious but I can't eat that much! Food tasted delicious and the service was great! Loved Edauardo! He was so friendly and helpful. He made us laugh and was very helpful.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Norma Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food is great”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The staff is very pleasant and patient food was served quickly pancakes nice and fresh I'd eat here again when passing thru

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank DLA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IHOP also viewed

 
Elizabeth, NJ
Elizabeth, NJ
 

Been to IHOP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing