We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Valenca

Valenca
Ranked #1 of 240 Restaurants in Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
170 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Food is consistently good. Everyone we go with loves the hot stone cooking. As other reviewers have stated service is not quick,. But it is not bad service either. We enjoying going here with friends that we want to catch up and enjoy a good meal and an extremely reasonable price for the quality of food. We always try and make reservation and even than we usually have to wait about 1/2 hour.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank honeypup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    94
    22
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

An unexpected Friday night dinner out while visiting my brother-in-law. Ate in the bar/grill. After settling in at the bar, and ordering our drinks, our table opened up. The place was packed. Before we even placed an order, they brought out bread, olives and a salad served family style. Our appetizers were baby clams in garlic sauce and marinated portobello mushrooms. I would have ordered more of the clams if I had known how great they were. For dinner, I ordered mixed seafood in a pot. It contained clams, mussels, calamari, shrimp, scallops, and half of a lobster in a red, low spicy sauce. Just great. My husband the paella that also contained lobsters, clams, mussels and shrimp. My inlaws, ordered shrimp with garlic and the octopus dish. We had after dinner drinks, coffee and flan, creme brulee and sorbet. The waiter served us an additional round of after dinner drinks on the house.

Was just a great atmosphere, service was excellent and food worth going back for next time we eat out in NJ.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grtchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great birthday dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

My son & his girlfriend took us out for my birthday and we loved it. i had the steak on a stone and it was delicious

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank twcrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldBridge
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Valenca dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Whether you dine in or take out, Valenca should be a must on your next visit to north New Jersey. The food is not only well seasoned and delicious but the atmosphere is romantic and clean.

If you desire to take out, the price is unbeatable. Try the spanish fries, ribs and grilled chicken. You'll surely return there on your next trip.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laureen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Enjoy cooking your own steak!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

What a great place! Tasty steaks that you cook yourself on a hot stone! A must try if you are in the area. Try the Filet Mignon and Tuna :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FAITHamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Valenca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing