We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for a weekend in AC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Atlantic City West
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Not a great property, but not horrible either. About a 5 min drive from the casinos on the strip. Decent, filling breakfast served in the a.m. Property gets a lot of traffic, so its not in the greatest shape and can be busy on the weekends. Free bus takes you to the Tropicana casino.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotels2ndhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COORDINATOR78, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Atlantic City West, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

We're so glad you were able to stay with us and thank you for giving us your feedback. We are working hard to improve our look with our complete hotel renovation that is currently underway. With our location, outstanding service and new rooms, we hope to really WOW you during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 386 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed recently at this property. The rate was good, around $100, just a bit from the Garden State Parkway. Initially, I was taken aback by the unusual setup. The checkin, and breakfast area, is in a separate building from the actual hotel. You check in, then get back in your car and drive to the entrance to the hotel. All access is with your card.

The halls and rooms (at least the one I was in) have been refreshed, and look somewhat like newer HIE facilities. One thing that I look for, is a microwave in the room. I was told that there were none (even upon request), but that each floor had one in the vending room. Not very convenient, especally when yor room is at the far end of the long hall. In the case of this floor, there was no microwave in the vending room... just an empty shelf where one should have been.

The rooms were pretty clean (save for a couple of used coffee stirrers on he floor under the work area). The TV was an old tube Tv, that could only be seen from bed. If want to work and watch TV, you needed to drag the work desk out across the rooom, as the TV had little slack cord and couldn't be rotated much. The room did have a nice mini-fridge.

The bathroom was clean and decent size, with the great HIE showerhead, good pressure and hot water.

It's not that it isn't a place you would hate to stay, just not what i have come to expect from HIEs, like the newer one in Neptune.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HudsonValleyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COORDINATOR78, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Atlantic City West, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for your review. We strive to ensure each and every guest has an outstanding visit. Since we are still in the middle of our renovation not all things have been updated just yet. The new flat screen tv's are now in all of the completed renovated rooms. I must thank you for your comment about the microwave. We have since made sure all floors have a microwave available. We are also excited to say that with our renovation of rooms we are also renovating our front desk/ lobby/ and breakfast areas and hope to have them all in one building very soon. We hope you will come back and see all the new and exciting changes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

It has been five months and we still talk about this disappointing trip. We had this great idea to check out Atlantic City for a quick overnight trip on a Saturday night. This hotel advertises a shuttle to the strip, so we thought we'd be geniuses and save a couple hundred bucks by staying here. The shuttle doesn't run as frequently as we like (we've had better experiences with other Holiday Inn Express shuttles, particularly in upstate New York), so we paid $40 to cab it to the hotel, which is stuck in some god-forsaken suburban environment with no food and no booze nearby. We felt trapped. Here's something odd- the pillows are not normal size. They're about 12 x 12 and seemingly made for little people. I called the front desk and asked for a normal pillow, only to be disappointed. I ended up watching bad made for tv movies all night. The one highlight was the good coffee and the tasty cinnamon rolls on the breakfast buffet. We called a cab and were horrified when some clanker pulled up. We wondered if our life was in danger, but after the night we had, we just wanted to high-it the h out of this city. So, we paid another $40 for the cab ride and that's exactly we did.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Atlantic City West, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear CDAdventures,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our property. I am pleased that you found our breakfast good enough for your stay. I want to assure you that we work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. Please accept my sincerest apology if your stay was negatively affected by the unavailability of the shuttle service. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

When compared with the Holiday Inn Express in Absecon, NJ (Atlantic City), Absecon wins hands down. HIE West is still nice, but the rooms and beds are smaller and more outdated, but in their defense, I see they are making updates. The pool is much smaller in comparison and you have to walk outside to get to the breakfast area which is not all that convenient in bad weather. To be fair, I shouldn’t compare the two hotels when giving a review of the establishment, so I will digress.

The room was clean, but had a slightly weird odor upon entering which dissipated after being inside a few minutes. The front desk was very helpful as well as housekeeping. Breakfast was plentiful and the one girl with the really big eyelashes kept it well stocked. Kudos to her since it was a holiday weekend it was very crowded and she accommodated folk’s requests very quickly. There were other wait staff there, but you did not see them working nearly as hard as she was. Just get there WELL before 10am otherwise you will be without breakfast.

The hotel is conveniently located to Atlantic City’s shopping and casinos - do not get back on the expressway when going to AC. Make a right out of the parking lot and drive until you can go no further and make a left. This will save you from all of the expressway traffic into the city. It is also located near other area businesses (there’s a K’Mart down the street if you forgot something). I will definitely stay here again if the HIE Absecon is unavailable. I would just request a more updated room.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Jinja1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COORDINATOR78, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Atlantic City West, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

You should definately come back....we are indeed updating our rooms and you will LOVE the changes! Infact we are currently under a complete renovation which includes moving our breakfast and lobby area to the building where our rooms are, so no more walking outside for breakfast! We want to Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear from our guests and please know that your comments were taken into consideration for this renovation. We hope you will come back and stay with us during your next trip to Atlantic City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Atlantic City many times over 10 years. The hotel is showing its age a bit, but they are in the process of renovating the hotel and rooms. By far, this hotel probably has the best FREE breakfast bar in the AC area. The breakfast bar was well stocked and had items such as oatmeal, eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy, fruit, baked goods, breads, cereals, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, pancakes, and more. The breakfast area is quite large and very sunny and airy.
The hotel rooms are separate from the hotel lobby which is in another building... security has always been good here and I have never felt unsafe or worried about having the car parked in the parking lot. This hotel was one of the very first Holiday Inn Express hotels in the United States... yes the building is old but you would never know it. They keep everything clean and up to date. The newly renovated rooms are very nice with dark browns and very modern and stylish furniture. The rooms are a good size and the bathroom shower has really good water pressure. The only thing I wish they had done during renovations was replace the bathroom exhaust fans and also the sink faucets. The location itself is very quiet and you won't hear any outside noise. The heating/AC unit is wall mounted and does give off some noise... but nothing crazy... its a nice "white" noise for sleeping. The towels and linens were like new and there is a coffee maker and refrigerator in the room. I look forward to my next stay at this hotel!

Room Tip: The hotel has 4 floors... ask for a first floor as the elevators are in the middle of the hotel divi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank No1HotelAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COORDINATOR78, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Atlantic City West, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and continue to visit us. We are very excited about our renovations and will certainly keep your remarks about the exhaust fans in mind. As for the sink faucets, we have ordered all new faucets and they will be added to the rooms shortly. We are happy to say the same goes for our air conditioners. They are also all being replaced with brand new units. We will continue to work hard to WOW you and each and every guest that comes to stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Pros: Young ladies at the front desk were very friendly when checking in. Room was clean, king bed was fresh looking and very comfortable for a good night's sleep. Bathroom was clean and well appointed. Rooms have coffee makers and refrigerators. Free wi-fi, although the signal was not always the fastest. Nice breakfast set-up.

Con: Toilet was a little slow moving and one morning we had to have the maintenance man come up to plunge it. However, he responded quickly and it wasn't a deal breaker.

All in all, we were very happy with this hotel. It is clean, reasonably priced and convenient to Atlantic City. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissusT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COORDINATOR78, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Atlantic City West, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

On behalf of our entire team, thank you for your comments. Our staff works very hard to insure that we exceed your expectations and WOW you with service. Although we make every effort to insure that everything in your room is in working condition, things happen, but I am thrilled that our team responded and corrected the issue quickly. Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The check in lobby is separate from the Hotel with the Pool between the two, everything looked clean and presentable, it was only a 12 minute drive into the city, they offered a free shuttle but I didn't use it.
The Free breakfast was nicely set up and alot of food choices.
Older tube style TV but I wasn't there to watch TV , LOL
The staff was very friendly and the room was very quiet. It is a basic Hotel set up and I do recommend staying here. The price was right.

Room Tip: The elevator's are in the middle of the hotel with LONG hallway's going in both direction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhillyTomcat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COORDINATOR78, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Atlantic City West, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

On behalf of our team, thank you for your kind words. They mean a lot to our hard working staff
We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel. and our supurb breakfast. I hope you tried our hot off the griddle pancakes. We are in process of a complete renovation which will offer a brand new lobby and check-in area connected to the tower. Many of our rooms have been completed and have flat screen tv's Thanks again. We hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egg Harbor Township
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Atlantic City Airport Egg Harbor Township
Residence Inn Atlantic City Airp...
#3 of 8 in Egg Harbor Township
291 reviews
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Atlantic City/Egg Harbor Township
Homewood Suites by Hilton Atlant...
#1 of 8 in Egg Harbor Township
668 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites West Atlantic City
3.4 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Atlantic City North
3.3 mi away
Garden State Inn
Garden State Inn
#3 of 24 in Absecon
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Atlantic City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Atlantic City West

Address: 6811 Black Horse Pike, Egg Harbor Township, NJ 08234-4131 (Formerly The Plaza on the Pike)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Egg Harbor Township
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Egg Harbor Township
Price Range: $58 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Atlantic City West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a clean and affordable hotel, but don't want to stay in downtown Atlantic City? The Plaza on the Pike in Egg Harbor Township, NJ is a four-story interior corridor hotel with a great room and a full breakfast served from 6AM - 10AM daily. We are located just two miles from FAA Tech Center and Atlantic City Airport. Located just 10 minutes from the excitement of the Atlantic City casinos, beaches and boardwalk. We offer a shuttle to the boardwalk for those guests who would prefer not to drive. Every oversized room has a 25-inch TV, free cable and HBO, free high-speed wireless Internet and voice mail, coffee makers, fridges, iron and ironing boards, hair dryers and clock radios. You will fall in love with our brand new king and traditional double bedded rooms with desk and easy chair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Atlantic City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express West Atlantic City Hotel Egg Harbor Township
Holiday Inn Express Pleasantville
Holiday Inn Pleasantville
Pleasantville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing