We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can't beat the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Atlantic City West
Holtsville, NY
Level Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“can't beat the price”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed for one night after the AC airshow was at the Borgata night before but could not see spending $399 for the same room that was half that the night before. I requested a remodeled which I did receive on the 1st floor. the ladies at the front desk were very welcoming...gave me a nice welcome bag with water and snacks. The room was very clean and new. The room and hallways did have a musty smell but we put the ac on and it seemed to help. When I went to take a shower there was no hot water so I called the front desk and it was resolved immediately and I received a follow up call soon after. went down to breakfast around 7am and it was nice a quiet and stocked with fresh food. If you are looking for a reasonable clean safe p.ace you can't beat this hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disney07us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COORDINATOR78, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Atlantic City West, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. Our staff works very hard to exceed your expectations
I am happy you found our newly remodeled room clean and comfortable. Wait until the entire hotel is completed it will be the best in the area. I will pass your comments to our staff,
who wiil certainly appreciate them. Please come visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    90
    62
    41
    35
See reviews for
97
79
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Neptune, New Jersey
Level Contributor
155 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed here for business last night - staff was very friendly when checking in. Elevators need work - had to help push the doors open - hallway carpet needs cleaning - rooms are ok - old tv's in the room - mine didn't work and they did come right up and swap it out. Beds are fine and linens are clean. Bathrooms need a ton of work - toilet barely flushed and make constant noise as did the fan in the bathroom - sink was obviously clogged and as I shaved it filled up and took up to 10 minutes to drain. For the money its fine and I know they are working on the property but for now I would go around the corner...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsabatini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COORDINATOR78, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Atlantic City West, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for you candid thoughts. We are in process of a total renovation of our hotel.
The new and exciting Holiday Inn Express will WOW you. We sincerely apologize for the issues in your bathroom, and when your travels bring you to our area Please come visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We arrived late but I had called in advance. Front desk was very nice. The gentleman greeted us with my priority welcome bag. Nice service. Nice updated room. It was clean. The pool was small but we didn't get in it. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronx_NYCleanFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COORDINATOR78, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Atlantic City West, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. My staff and I appreciate your comments and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit. We are happy that you enjoyed one of our new rooms, and are pleased to let you know that we are in the process of renovating the entire hotel to give our guests and wonderful experience and WOW you. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamaroneck, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My friends and I went to AC this past weekend and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. We booked this hotel because of the location and free shuttles. However, when arriving to the hotel we were greeted with disappointment after disappointment. The actual hotel is located a minute away from the lobby. When finally getting into the hotel, the room cards were not even activated. Therefore, I had to walk back to lobby to have them activated. When attempting to get in the room a second time, we were once again let down. Finally, after a five minute wait the maintenance man (who was very helpful), had to use the room master key to get in since his room card did not work as well.

Once in the room we decided to check the beds. In each "queen" size beds we found bed bugs. Completely grossed out we yet again called the lobby and told them our newest problem. They sent us to a new room, that after checking was clear of bed bugs. However, this new room did not have a refrigerator. The maintenance man then went to our old room to retrieve the refrigerator from our infected room. We did receive the refrigerator in a timely manner. Lastly, our TV did not work and had to call the lobby yet again to fix this problem.

When coming home and telling others our problems with this hotel, another couple had stated that a previous week to our stay they too stayed at this hotel. They also encountered the bed bug issue.

So I highly recommend that no one stay at this hotel, unless you want to get infected with bed bugs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COORDINATOR78, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Atlantic City West, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
First and foremost please accept our sincerest apologies for not exceeding your expectations.
And, thank you for bringing the issues you described in your review to our attention.
We are sorry that you had a key issue and had to walk to the desk for a new set. We are in the process of building a brand new lobby and entrance in the hotel tower, so that all services will be available in the same building. We are proud to report to you, that after the report of bed bugs in your room, we called on "Bella" our bed bug sniffing dog, (who is 99.9% accurate in detecting any sign of bed bugs) and she did not find any sign of bed bugs. We take any report of bed bugs very serious, and act on it immediately. I am not sure who you are referring to as another family, however I am sure that if they reported it to us we acted in the same manner
as we did for you. Because we inconvienced you were give a deep discount from your original rate. We again apologize for a less than perfect stay, and hope you will give us another opportunity WOW you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Egg Harbor Township hotels

York, PA USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayed here many times. Very clean and well kept property. Free shuttle to casinos. Clean pool. Something that no one else mentions is safety. At night parking lot is well lit and I always feel safe leaving the car. This is something good you don't get when you park in the city. Always lock your doors and use the dead bolt in the room. Each room has a safe so there is little to worry about. Remember that you are on vacation and if you have to wait in line for the free breakfast it is not a bad thing.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. Great wifi through whole building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjw185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COORDINATOR78, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Atlantic City West, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent tay with us. We take a lot of pride in our Hotel, and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay. I will certainly pass along your comments to our staff, who are the ones that make it happen. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I would not suggest this hotel to anyone. From the time I stepped in the door I was already upset. My sister & I didn't get our rooms for 2 1/2 hours. Then when I finally got into my room it wasn't what I paid for. I booked a King size bed and received 2 double beds. The manager changed me to a suite but when I got into the suite the room was not clean. The bed wasn't made, towels on the floor in the bathroom. I contacted the Corporate office and was told my room was going to be Compd and I was going to get a refund. I have not received my refund yet.
I would suggest to anyone if you want to stay in a Holiday Inn do not stay in this one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COORDINATOR78, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Atlantic City West, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We sincerely apologize for your less than perfect stay during your recent visit.
As you are aware when you checked in we were in the middle of a thunder storm which
caused us to loose power. This prevented us from getting all of our rooms ready by 4pm.
We are sorry that you received a room with two double beds, as you did request a king bedded room. Due to a computer issue caused by the storm, we thought we were upgrading you to a king bedded suite at no additional cost due to your inconvenience. This room did show clean in our system, however it was not. We did get it cleaned for you quickly, and we did infact comp your stay. If you did not receive a credit by the method of payment used, please contact us immediately and we will rectify the issue. Again we are sincerely sorry for the issues during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

To be fair there were signs stating "Please excuse our renovations" On a Saturday afternoon there was one clerk behind the desk and the line was out the door. One thing I didn't realize before arriving is the rooms aren't connected to the office. The day we arrived was pouring so having to walk outside to get to our rooms was draining. You can def tell the hotel is dated, our room had a damp & muggy feel to it, the entire time even when the rain stopped. The room was a bit tight (2 adults 1 child). There is a complimentry breakfast, however it was mobbed!! as soon as food was put out it was like a feeding frenzy. I only stayed overnight, and was out of the room most of the time for my activities - so it did the job. However if I needed to stay for a longer amount time, I would stay somewhere else. 5 minutes from the Boardwalk

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peekaboo912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COORDINATOR78, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Atlantic City West, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us. We are finishing up a complete renovation to our hotel
I am sorry about the short walk to the tower form our Great Room, however we a building a brand new lobby and entrance in our hotel tower, and will have a brand new hotel for you to enjoy. Again our sincere apologies for not exceeding your expectations, but I can assure you that we will on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egg Harbor Township
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Atlantic City/Egg Harbor Township
Homewood Suites by Hilton Atlant...
#1 of 9 in Egg Harbor Township
582 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites West Atlantic City
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Atlantic City Airport Egg Harbor Township
Residence Inn Atlantic City Airp...
#3 of 9 in Egg Harbor Township
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
16,768 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Atlantic City West Extended Stay & Suites
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Absecon Atlantic City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Atlantic City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Atlantic City West

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Atlantic City West
Address: 6811 Black Horse Pike, Egg Harbor Township, NJ 08234-4131 (Formerly The Plaza on the Pike)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Egg Harbor Township
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Egg Harbor Township
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Atlantic City West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a clean and affordable hotel, but don't want to stay in downtown Atlantic City? The Plaza on the Pike in Egg Harbor Township, NJ is a four-story interior corridor hotel with a great room and a full breakfast served from 6AM - 10AM daily. We are located just two miles from FAA Tech Center and Atlantic City Airport. Located just 10 minutes from the excitement of the Atlantic City casinos, beaches and boardwalk. We offer a shuttle to the boardwalk for those guests who would prefer not to drive. Every oversized room has a 25-inch TV, free cable and HBO, free high-speed wireless Internet and voice mail, coffee makers, fridges, iron and ironing boards, hair dryers and clock radios. You will fall in love with our brand new king and traditional double bedded rooms with desk and easy chair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Atlantic City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express West Atlantic City Hotel Egg Harbor Township
Holiday Inn Express Pleasantville
Holiday Inn Pleasantville
Pleasantville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing