We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Library III is still the best steak value in South Jersey”
Review of Library III - CLOSED

Library III
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Very popular area restaurant,not listed with TA.
Brigantine, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Library III is still the best steak value in South Jersey”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is a place you would never just see and stop in. From the outside you'd never guess how good the entrees are. The Library III is a time capsule including the musicians who entertain in the lounge. All together for decades but dependable and welcoming to old friends and first time visitors alike.

After the hostess seats you a server takes your drink order. Then you walk up to the blackboard menu where it is mostly pricing by the ounce. You decide on your portion of beef and the chef will cut it right in front of you and ask how you'd like it cooked. From there you go to the salad and bread bar and return to your table.

I have been going there since the 1970's and never once have they missed a textbook medium rare.

You won't get all the fuss and flair of an Atlantic City steakhouse but you'll get a grade of beef cooked exactly how you'd like it at less than half the price and you'll be supporting a local merchant.

Don't just take my word for it. "Voted "Best Steaks" and "Salad Bar" since 1985 by the Press of Atlantic City."

6605 Black Horse Pike Egg Harbor Twp, NJ 08234

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Globewalker73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    14
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent food, fair prices but the place needs a lot of TLC”
Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

I have grown up with the Library. The food is consistently great. The atmosphere on the other hand...not so much. You can't help but feel they keep the lighting extremely dim for a reason. The joint is Physically falling apart. They are always busy. Please reinvest some money into your building!? Character is one thing, dilapidation is another.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wildmanjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic prime rib!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Best place for prime rib, the only place to go! Salad bar is one of the best! Live music in bar.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Much Better Option Available”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I know this place is popular with most locals. I am a local and was only there once and probably would not come back. For the price, there are much better options. First the positive - my steak was actually cooked really well. In fact, that is the ONLY reason this place did not get a 2.

Where do I begin? The place is filthy. I am not sure what is worse: the worn out stained carpets, the holes in the bathroom wall, or the thick dust that permeates the place. At least the lighting is really dark so you do not notice it. The food areas seemed clean and sanitary and the tables were clean so I am not talking about it being unsanitary or unsafe, but it is uncomfortably dirty. They seriously need cleaning and repairs.

Then there is the selection. Yes, they have steak, seafood (limited), and a few sides. Their appetizers are limited and they offer no soup of any kind. They have a few other odds and ends on their menu, but they lack the selection that that many other steak houses offer.

Finally, there is the salad bar. I know people for some reason love it. Apparently, they have never been to a diner. In fact, their salad bar is sad compared to many others. Limited vegetables, limited sides and toppings, and fake bacon bits. Really .. fake bacon bits.

All in all, they are a one trick pony. They cook good steaks but that is about where it ends. Well, their dessert was pretty good. Being fair, I should mention that.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheNJBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I like to go to the places that the locals go to. This is one of them. If you want a steak it's fine. You actually go up to the chef and place your order. He then cuts the meat in front of you and prepares it for delivery after you have your salad. He delivered to us fine quality choice beef prepared just the way we wanted. I would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bensson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Library III also viewed

Egg Harbor Township, NJ
 
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
 
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing