We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Make reservations early”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mama Mia's

Mama Mia's
Reserve with OpenTable
Mama Mia's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Italian, Steak, Seafood
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Make reservations early”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

This establishment has very limited seating & it goes fast. A BYO it's nice to bring a good bottle of Italin wine & not pay restaurant prices. We almost always share salads & appetizers here as the entrees are huge (but very good). Don't miss the escargot or any specials that might be offered. Desserts match the quality of the entrees. Great selection of pizza but not in the dining room during dinner

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank FrequentDinerEHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    6
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Jersey
Level Contributor
263 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Very Good Italian, minor critiques.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

I have had both dining room and take out catering service at Mama Mia's. Although I do question their pricing which I think is a little top heavy they do serve quality food and provide excellent service.. Maybe it's the"old getting what you pay for". The take out Chicken Brushetta is outstanding although I don't see why they don't include at least some of their fine bread and pasta with the item.. Oh well despite my critiques I' ll be back.the food is that good. Be mindful that the dining room is small , but the food is worth the wait.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ricardomnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHT, NJ
Level Contributor
147 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

A nice addition to the Mama Mia family of restaurants. The menu is limited to daily specials for the most part but, I get the feeling that the kitchen can whip up a variation of whatever you're craving. Food was well prepared and had a very fresh taste to all the ingredients. This kitchen knows what their doing.BYOB. Reservations are a must since the only drawback to this fine restaurants is the size. Mama Mia's is a little on the small size, some folks may find it charming, others a bit cramped.Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vdas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
93 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

We love Mama Mia's. The menu selections at lunchtime are tasty, copious and very reasonably priced. In the evening, the intimate but very nicely appointed dining room goes upscale (reservations only) and the food and service are superb. Naturally the dinner prices are higher, but the elegant service and gourmet food are well worth the price. My wife and I always come away well satisfied whether we visit for lunch or dinner. By the way, the brick oven pizza and breads are also top notch. I rate the cost $$ as an average. Lunch is probably closer to $, and dinner $$$.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank njryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

This place I believe opened sometime in the middle of 2009. At first I though it was just a casual take out pizza and wings italian palce, but it turns out I was mostly wrong. While it does offer your typical Italian takeout (pizza, wings, entrees, etc.), it also features an intimate (8-10 table) dining experience. Although small, the dining room is nicely appointed and the service is outstanding. The main waiter (I forgot his name) is there, I believe Tuesday-Saturday, and he is one of the best waiters I've ever had.

As for the food, expect to pay around $18-$30 per entree, $8-14 per appeteizer, and $7-$10 per dessert. Italian dishes, beef, lamb, seafood, pastas, chicken, veal all very creative and delicious. This restaurant is also BYO, which I knwo some people like, because it's usually cheaper that way. While there's no dress code, the first time I rolled in to try the place wearing jeans and a t-shirt and I did feel a bit underdressed.

Some personal favorites are the cold antipasto appeiteizer, the chicken adriatico entree, and the tartufo dessert. Lastly, due to it's small size reservations are recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Binky103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Mia's also viewed

Egg Harbor Township, NJ
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
 
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
 

Been to Mama Mia's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing