We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indian food”
Review of The Nizam's

The Nizam's
Reserve with OpenTable
The Nizam's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
311 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great Indian food”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I'm a sucker for Indian food. Great biryani rice dishes, like the real thing. Portions were huge; took a box full of food home. Many classic Indian choices on the menu, tandoori, vegetarian, naan bread, masala tea, etc., even mango ice cream. Protein choices of chicken, lamb, shrimp, etc.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fisherdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    17
    3
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
“good food”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

very nice food and always consisten i always eat here when i am in a mood for indian food its a little far from ac and its not that fancy but the food def makes up for it

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Consistent good authentic Indain food”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Nizams is the best Indian restaurant in the area. While small, the service is always friendly and the food is consistently good. I was nervous to try Indian food for the first time because I am a steak and potatoes kind of guy, but now I find myself being the one to suggest it more often then not. The Chicken Mahkhani is delicious and they will spice most of the food to your desire. The Aloo Tikki Cha is another of my personal favorites. It is a small and quaint building and those who are locals may remember it as the 1400 bar. let me say it has changed quite a it from the old dive bar days. one of my preferred eats in EHT.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must Try”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

An average rating of 4.3 on a scale of 5 on some of the reviews and rated by both Indians and non-Indians as some of the best food they ever had in US, I wanted to check out The Nizam's in Egg Harbor Township, NJ.

Nizam's Tangri Kebab is one of the best appetizers I ever had in an Indian Restaurant in US. I rate this as better than what I get in many Indian Restaurants in India. I heard the waiter telling me that they are famous for their Biryanis and I ordered their regular chicken Biryani. It was pretty good although I cannot compare it to the Hyderabadi Dum Biryani. I am planning to try their Nizam's Biryani when I visit next time. This restaurant is about 2 hours from where I live. Since Ocean City is close to this restaurant, I plan to visit Ocean City again in the next few weeks and wrap up my day with a dinner at The Nizam's.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank praveenms_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tasty Indian food in Egg Harbor”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Ate dinner at Nizams the other night and enjoyed both entree dishes we ordered. Lamb Biryani and Chicken Tikka Masala were both excellent. We also had the keemakulcha which was very tasty. Food was very fresh and sizes were larger then we previously had at other Indian venues. We will certainly return for another dinner and would like to try the buffet for lunch sometime..

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank voltagesls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nizam's also viewed

 
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
 

Been to The Nizam's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing