We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No night life what so ever!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Egg Harbor City
West Berlin, NJ
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“No night life what so ever!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2008

This is their quote online: To provide a memorable experience to our customers by exceeding their expectations.

The hotel is beautifully decorated and the amenities as good as any 4 start hotel. Note that the only good views are in the front of the hotel. The walls are paper thin as the prior post mentioned. Not just muffled sounds but we heard clearly the names and actions of our next door neighbors "in the biblical sense" at about 8am Saturday morning.

We went with 2 other couples and had a fun night planned out! We had dinner plans at the Gourmet Restaurant - which was fabulous as it has always been the 7 or so times prior that we have eaten there. Truly a treat! We finished up around 9:30pm to head back to the hotel and hang out in Joseph's bar. We were told there was a piano player and that they stay open as long as people are there. The website stated open until mid-night. Yeah not! They were all closed up! So here we are in the middle of no-where with nothing to do onsight. 3 other couples there had sad they were closing the bar and asked them to go outside!

The worst part was we were told we could hang out in the upper living quarters. Um no- not with paper thin walls and people in their rooms trying to get some sleep prior to a wedding going to be held the next day. We have better sense then that. So we were told we could sit outside on the back patio. Um no! So we can all get cold? Come on! There was nothing exceeded with this evening except the good company of friends. So we went back into the lounge area. We were told we could not stay there and that we had to leave. We asked what is our group of 6 people supposed to do at 11pm and we were again told- to go outside! We complained again but fell on deaf ears. There were also 3 other couples trying to find a place to gather and chat as well! Outside there was about another 4 couples shivering and smoking. Right there was enough people for them to have or keep the bar open- absolutley ridiculous! It was in the mid 50's nto summer weather for outdoors.

So if you want to eat any meal - great place! If you want to have no night life and to just call it an early night in your room - great place! However the walls are paper thin so hope you don't have noisy hall mates.

  • Liked — The food at the gourmet restaurant
  • Disliked — There was nothing to do after dinner.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Life_O_Reilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    75
    48
    17
    13
See reviews for
27
139
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2008

We stayed at the Tuscany House Hotel after a night at the Trop in AC. Huge difference! The Tuscany House staff are professional and polite, The propery is impeccably maintained and the room was spotless. The mattress was very comfortable. The decor of the property is ultra Italian, so if that is not your style you may not like it. There are 2 pools on a beautiful landscaped space. THe restaurants on the property are quite good and vry reasonably priced. Since the hotel is small you will avoid any crowds. Next time I go to Atlantic City I will stay at the Tuscany House and skip the tacky AC hotel.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Room had a bit of an off smell
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ChipRey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2008

If you like peace and quiet with absolutely nothing else to do, then Tuscan House is for you. It is located about 7 miles off the Garden State Parkway in the middle of nowhere. The winery is directly across the street and they offer a forty minute tour. There are two restaurants which were okay. We booked a getaway package which included a wine tour, $10 credit in the gift shop, six course meal, room and breakfast. The six course meal was just okay with the exception of the main course. The main course was excellent quality. As far as the hotel, it was nice. The lobby was beautiful and it is definitely quiet and secluded. We had an executive king room which was VERY large. The bed was not very comfortable, but the temperature in the room was very comfortable. The room had an "old" smell, but it really didn't bother us. The hotel was quiet and the bathroom and vanity area were good. The room was very clean and the television was good quality with a good choice of channels. The staff is very nice and accommodating. As I said earlier, if you want to relax and stay in your hotel, it is nice. Atlantic City is about a half hour away, but you have to drive down very dark unlit roads to get back to the parkway.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njrangerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedGyrl37
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2008

I stayed at the Tuscany Hotel in January while in town for business. It is definitely in the middle of nowhere. Once I got of the the Parkway, I thought I would never get there and several times I thought I was lost. Narrow winding roads and nothing but land. I even encountered deer crossing the road in the daylight, and taking there time about it. I stayed for 5 nights and I think I was the only guest in the hotel since there were never any other cars in the lot in the morning. One night the weather was really bad, there was snow and an ice storm and I received a call from the owner telling me that the staff could not make it in. He wanted to know if I would mind the night there alone and if not he would make other arrangements for me. He said he would lock the place up and give me his personal phone number just in case something happened. I decided to stay. I had my hotwings and a bottle of wine, and luckily Ive never been a horror film or book fan so I wasn't afraid. Overall it was a great relaxing stay for me. I would recommend the hotel for older couples, someone seeking anonymity, or someone who just needs to relax and unwind, because it is a very soothing place.

  • Liked — Rooms were very clean and beautiful
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RedGyrl37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2008

Stayed at this property with golfing buddies for one night. Upon checking in the two people at the desk didn't seem to know what was going on. They claimed they had no room for two in our party but eventually found one for them. When we arose in the morning, our cars were the only ones in the parking lot - honest, no exaggeration. The rooms were okay but the walls were paper thin. We could clearly hear the discussion of our two fellow golfers in the next room. I had originally planned to visit this property with my wife for a weekend of golf but would definitely not stay at this hotel. This was a pricey hotel but not worth the money.

  • Liked — cleanliness/decor
  • Disliked — paper thin walls in guest rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nickd990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2008

We stayed in April, 2008 on a Sunday night. The 45 room hotel was deserted. There were only 3 rooms occupied but the staff was still very accommodating. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and the bed was even more comfortable. Bathrooms were immaculate and carpets clean. The lobby is painted with Tuscany murals and has a fountain and is is so relaxing a couple was sleeping on the couch in the lobby. Seems like summer may be a better time to go when the pool is open and the golf course, which I hear is great, is hopping.

Had breakfast at Joseph's, very good. BUT the dinner across the street at the Renault was excellent. Prepare for a 2 hour 6 course meal. You pick your main entree and the chef chooses the rest for you. Small portions but many of them and very filling with 2 wine samples between and an intermezzo. If you are planning to go to AC after the dinner, then go to Joseph's for dinner instead. We were so stuffed, we couldnt move and missed going to AC.

Wine tour was interesting but the wine sampling was even better and walked out of there with a buzz. They gave you many samples of wine and you can request anything else you may want to sample. Not sure if they do this with larger groups but we were a group of 4 couples so we had fun in there.

We purchase the Spring Getaway package which included room, wine tour, $10.00 voucher at the winery, complete dinner and breakfast for about 240.00 plus tax. I would definately go again but plan my dinner and time of year better. Oh and be careful if there is a wedding there, it tends to get very loud.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Tfam91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2008

We stayed @ Tuscany House back in December 2004 for a weekend. The rooms were beautiful and very clean. Nice and quiet, perfect for spending time at winery instead of driving home. Close to Smithville and Atlantic City. We decided to stay at Tuscany House since we were seeing a show in AC, but the AC hotels are outrageous. So we decided to stay here and it was worth it. The food is also very good at Joseph's Restaurant . We went for bruch at the Winery Gourmet Restaurant and had a reservation but sad to say we were overlooked there. We were seated and you order from a menu your main entree then have the buffet. Well this was a Sunday morning, and we ordered breakfast, it took 1 1/2 half to get the food to us. We were annoyed by that and let them know, they said the meal was on the house and sent us home with a bottle of champagne. Better service at Joseph's from our experience and the hotel is definately worth the stay.

Helpful?
2 Thank galluvswarmweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egg Harbor City
14.6 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,606 reviews
7.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Atlantic City/Egg Harbor Township
Homewood Suites by Hilton Atlant...
#1 of 9 in Egg Harbor Township
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
14.5 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Monroe Inn & Suites
9.6 mi away
Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club
9.3 mi away
Marriott's Fairway Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort

Property: Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort
Address: Historic Renault Winery, 72 N. Bremen Avenue, Egg Harbor City, NJ 08215
Location: United States > New Jersey > Egg Harbor City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Egg Harbor City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nearly a century and a half old, Renault Winery is a recognized New Jersey State Historical site and one of the oldest continuously operating wineries in the United States. Like a fine varietal, the winery has continued to grow, develop and improve with age. Today, Joseph Milza, a former newspaper owner and publisher, owns and operates the winery and vineyards with his family. Under his direction, the winery has thrived and become one of the most popular tourist attractions in New Jersey and a favorite of local residents.~Renault Winery ~ Tuscany House Hotel ~ Joseph's Restaurant ~ Vineyard Golf Course ~ Renault Gourmet Restaurant ~ Wedding ~ Banquets ~ Corporate Meetings ~ Award Winning Wines ~ Gift Shop ~ Tours & Tasting~ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuscany House At The Renault Winery Hotel Egg Harbor City
Renault Winery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing