We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best kept secret - my new hangout!”
Review of The Avenue Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Avenue Cafe
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
231 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Best kept secret - my new hangout!”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

A group of us descended on Avenue around 5:30 - which was perfect because they open at 5. After trying a few brews from the draft selection (~8-10 different types, $6-8 each), I decided on my drink and sat back to enjoy. My other friends enjoyed a mead, some whiskey, a glass of wine (three other friends, not one person drinking all three!). The bartender was attentive and gave me a great education on the brews offered. For dinner I had the Peace Pilgrim as it was the only vegetarian option offered. LOVED. IT!! Why do you need other veg. options on the menu when this one is just so darn good.
I'll be back for sure!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phykos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    3
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Egg Harbor City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best Hamburger!!!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Great menu for the spring/summer and I had the most amazing hamburger ever!!!! Also enjoyed the bar conversation as a solo traveler!! Friendly and welcomed at every visit!! Check out the secret whiskey/honey/sprite/splash of lime drink!! Yummy!!!!! I LOVE this place!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maryemilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“On the Avenue..Philadelphia Avenue”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is a new place that is just fabulous..they have local beers which always are changing..which is great. The food is also all local..all homemade..the breads are fresh and made daily..The atmosphere is very relaxing and there is always something new going on. On Thuirsday night a 3 piece band called Jug Paradise play and they can make the music!!! They recently started an open mic night on Sunday nite. The talent is amazing!!! The staff is very attentive and fun!! I'm a local and just love being able to go someplace so great so close to home.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathyann1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avenue Cafe, Egg Harbor City, great beers & food, but too loud !!!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Avenue has a nice bar-scene with music at times; great selection of craft beers and good sandwiches. However, the decibel level is so loud in the dining area that you can barely hear the waiter and must strain to listen to others in your party. When we go to Avenue again, we'd only sit at bar, but not in the dining room again, until they dampen that room's noise level. The owners must add noise deafening features on walls/ceiling ... they should also assure bar-area noise is okay too, especially when musicians playing at end of bar.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2013Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“a very nice time!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Went with a good friend of mine. Enjoyed their mussels and black bean soup, as well as their 400 Monkey and Stoudts Fat Dog Stout. Not so crazy about their Cheese appetizer. Great service, enjoyable atmosphere. We were not rushed and enjoyed our experience. Not a lot of vegetarian options, but my friend enjoyed the Peace Pilgrim sandwich…..coffee was a bit bitter…..will return!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SueIris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Avenue Cafe also viewed

 
Egg Harbor City, NJ
Egg Harbor City, NJ
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing