We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad choice for Edison”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Edison-South Plainfield
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Edison
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The hotel is clean, and the location is not bad. WiFi service is good throughout the hotel.
The one thing that tarnished my stay was the reservation process. I booked via Marriott.com, but apparently did not hit the confirm button AFTER I received my confirmation number. Yes...apparently, you have to reconfirm after you have been confirmed. This happens quite a bit, I was told by the FD clerk. The problem was that I would not have had a room had someone not called that precise moment to cancel their room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viajero S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krissy B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Edison-South Plainfield, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2014

Viajero S thank you for your kind words about the property in your review we apologize that the reservation process was a concern. With Marriott you do have to confirm to ensure your reservation sometimes it can be an inconvenience but this helps when some guest are shoping and unsure of their selection. Thank you again for your review. Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Inn & Suites Edison-South Plainfield
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 151 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

the hotel looks recently renovated, you can still smell that everything is new. the price was about 115 per night which was reasonable, the breakfast was nice they had a lot of fruit, just that it is a very small area and takes very long to get what you want (waffles, cereal). also the other thing to knock on is that they didn't have any water in the Jacuzzi and the pool was cold because it was unheated.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed here for a few nights in January while attending an event at Rutgers. Check-in was easy, the front desk was helpful with directions and nearby food choices, and it was convenient for what we were there for. The breakfast buffet was well stocked by a friendly and helpful lady who was constantly refilling and bringing out fresh items. The only drawback was the styrofoam plates and bowls for breakfast. In a day and age of trying to cut back on unnecessary waste, this was a cheap way to cut costs. Also, a hot waffle would burn impressions into the styrofoam and that doesn't seem very healthy!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaineTravel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I have stayed here before the recent renovation and thought it was nice, but the renovation improved the hotel. Obviously, things were new such as the carpet and paint in the room. But everything in general was clean and fresh.

I had a room facing the road on the 3rd floor. Even though it faced the road it was quiet. The bed and linens were fresh and clean. I had a 2 room suite and had plenty of room.

The front desk staff at check in was very friendly. Price wise for the area this hotel is competitive for its category. They offer free breakfast, which I did not have. I simply don't like many free hotels breakfasts, not a knock on this one since I didn't try, but I like cooked to order breakfast and there are alternatives nearby. There are several restaurants about 2 miles away for dinner in many different price categories.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tsbjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

If you have a car and is on short business trip, this is a nice hotel to stay. Good facilities including small workout area. The breakfast has lots of items and nice to have in the cold weather. The staff is very friendly.
The disadvantage of this place, it's about the location. It's quite far from nearest train station. Thee is no restaurants around. The only options being pizza or Chinese take away, to be order over phone. There are few marketplace items which can be purchased 24 hrs a day.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Aninda_mukherjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krissy B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Edison-South Plainfield, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2014

Aninda_mukherjeem I want to thank you for all your kind words in reference to our hotel, breakfast and staff. The location is located between 2 trains stations the Metuchen terminal is 1.3 miles away as the Edison Train station is 2.0 miles way for our guest travelng for business or leisure and want to frequent NY or other NJ cities. I'm sorry that location seemed to a concern during your travel. Thank you again for your reivew and your time. Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Very nice hotel close to many attractions, Menlo Park shopping, AMC Cinemas and many local restaurants. The rooms are very clean and the linens aren't worn. They have a nice pool and whirlpool that the kids will love. Their buffet breakfast which is included, is one of the best I have ever seen.The Staff Managers Christe and Dan are very helpful, if you have a problem which you probably won't. If you want to get out of the house for the weekend, this is the place.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, but if your traveling without the kids and don't mind paying a little extra
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpecialOps56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

good value/reasonably priced
very accommodating staff; stored frozen food samples for me for a presentation the next day
nice interior, newly renovated
spacious rooms with large work area
good breakfast buffet with decent healthy choices
good internet service
close to Rt 287

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edison hotels
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Edison Woodbridge
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Edison/Raritan Center
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Edison
Crowne Plaza Edison
#4 of 15 in Edison
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Edison
Red Roof Inn Edison
#7 of 15 in Edison
251 reviews
3.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Edison - Raritan Center
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Edison Hotel Raritan Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Edison-South Plainfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Edison-South Plainfield

Address: 875 New Durham Rd, Edison, NJ 08817-2827 (Formerly Fairfield Inn and Suites Edison)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Edison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Edison
Price Range: $109 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Edison-South Plainfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are traveling to New Jersey on business or pleasure, the Fairfield Inn & Suites Edison by Marriott is the place to be. This three story hotel has spacious, fresh and clean guest rooms and suites at affordable price, right for anyone's budget. The Fairfield Inn & Suites is a brand new hotel suitably located off Rt. 287 North at Exit 4 in central New Jersey. Business Travelers will enjoy convenient access to numerous companies and universities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Edison-South Plainfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Edison Hotel Edison
Fairfield Inn Edison
Fairfield Inn Hotel Edison
Edison Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing