We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshed older property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Edison-South Plainfield
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Edison
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The lobby, breakfast area, and rooms have been nicely renovated. The breakfast was typical Fairfield inn fare: a large variety with constant refilling of food. We enjoyed the room but could tell it was an older property as we could hear the people walking in the room above us. Free high-speed Internet was a big plus. My only negative is that it was a little difficult getting to from the highway (I-287) as the nearest interchange was a half-interchange (to and from the north) and as we were coming from and going back towards the south, we had to take several local roads to reach the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison_NjJwr, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Edison-South Plainfield, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Thank you for your nice review of our property - we are due to be refreshed again very soon. We hope if you are in the Edison area you will once again consider our property. I have to agree with your comments about getting back on 287 - it is a little backwards. We try to give directions to ouour guests that cause the least turning and changing streets.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 155 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed for one night, we were planning to go to Jersey Shore, and all beachfront hotels were booked. It was very nice overnight stay, very clean room, friendly stuff, breakfast included.
Bathroom was very clean, room itself was very well maintained. Air conditioner was a bit noisy - but they are like that everywhere.

Room Tip: We stayed in executive suite; it has a very nice entertainment center
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zsmirnoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison_NjJwr, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Edison-South Plainfield, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

I just want to thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. We are all so busy, we forget to compliment good experiences. We all thank you and hope you will come again real soon.

Thank you again!

Peggy Riedesel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The Stay in the hotel was wonderful. We reached late and we have a reservation in Red Roof Inn which is just opposite to hotel and after looking at the amenities in Red Roof, we just decided not to stay and went to Fairfiled Inn to explore the option.
The Front Desk attendant, Dainel was very helpful and provided us the options and make sure that, our experience will be great. He gave good options and provided great rooms. Thanks to him. The overall stay was very good.
On the day of leaving on July 8th early morning (3:00 AM). The front desk person made was Awesome and at that time he made coffee for us. The hospitality o front desk attendant was excellent. My bad I forgot to ask his name. Thanks to him and all other staff member for wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Good for stay for family. Nice Place and lot of options. Safe Area. Near to Freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SumitSmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind remarks regarding your stay here. I have passed your comments on to all staff and we all want to have nice things said regarding our hotel and service to our guests.

We hope when you are in the Edison, NJ area, you will make us your hotel of choice.

Happy traveling to you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My stay at the Fairfield Inn and Suites was as comfortable, convenient and clean as it gets! The General Manager is friendly and helpful and the staff is wonderful. It was remarkably quiet, considering it's just off a busy freeway. It's as close to New York City as you'll get and still feel like you're in a rural setting! REALLY a GREAT PLACE to stay!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerMontage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review of our property. I have paassed it along to our staff and they all say it is nice to be noticed. We pride ourselves in our level of service and it pays off with guests like you and your family

Please come again when you are in the area!

Thank you, again.

Sincerely,

Peggy Riedesel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed here with the family. Had a nice room. Hotel was clean and quiet.
Breakfast was great, kids enjoyed the waffles.
Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

It was so nice to hear your positive feedback for our property. We do feel there is a lot of value for our guests and we hope they will give our hotel a try. I have passed your review onto our staff, so they know their friendliness is appreciated.

We hope if you are in our area again, you will come to stay.

Sincerely,

Peggy Riedesel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We needed a place to stay for a weekend event, and the Faifield Inn and Suites was convenient for the location, and was very reasonable in price. While the staff was all quite friendly, and the property itself is generally clean, I was disappointed in some specific things during our stay. The pool, which was a "required feature" according to many of the teenagers that were traveling with our group :-), appeared dirty. One of the children jumped in, only to immediately climb out after being somewhat "grossed out" by the condition and things that were floating in the water. As you could imagine, the group was very disappointed. The room was fine. A relatively heavy musty smell which was eased once the airconditioner was running, but generally clean and fine. Breakfast the next moring was a tremendous disappointment. while it certainly could have been the timing, when we arrived there was quite literally two options to chose from. A single english muffin or one of the two yogurt containers that were left in the refrigerator. The cereal, bagels, muffins, refrigerated fruit, and most unfortunately, the COFFEE (both containers) were empty. The counters were a mess, the garbage can was overflowing. I'm sure the breakfast attendant was quite frazzled, but she was less than polite when I inquired, as nicely as I could, about the coffee. Of course it may have simply been timing, but unfortunate that the breakfast area was in that state when we needed to grab something to eat then head out to our event. A stop at Dunkin Donuts did the trick.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I needed a place to stay at the last minute this week in the Edison , NJ area.
After calling several places, and receiving sticker shock, I pulled in to this clean, nice looing hotel. I was greeted nicely at the desk by Chris, who was determined to help me. I settled on the Jacquzzi room, priced the same that day,as a regular room. The room was great.
My only suggestion is they get better towels, My complaint is it is noisy between the rooms above and next to. The breakfast was marginal, the breakfast service was lacking.
I will stay there again, and you should try it too. The counter staff represented the hotel well, and it was noticed.

Room Tip: Ask for a better room and better deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edison
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Edison
Crowne Plaza Edison
#4 of 15 in Edison
209 reviews
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Edison Woodbridge
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Edison/Raritan Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Edison
Red Roof Inn Edison
#6 of 15 in Edison
256 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Pis...
#1 of 5 in South Plainfield
607 reviews
2 mi away
Comfort Inn Edison
Comfort Inn Edison
#7 of 15 in Edison
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Edison-South Plainfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Edison-South Plainfield

Address: 875 New Durham Rd, Edison, NJ 08817-2827 (Formerly Fairfield Inn and Suites Edison)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Edison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Edison
Price Range: $95 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Edison-South Plainfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are traveling to New Jersey on business or pleasure, the Fairfield Inn & Suites Edison by Marriott is the place to be. This three story hotel has spacious, fresh and clean guest rooms and suites at affordable price, right for anyone's budget. The Fairfield Inn & Suites is a brand new hotel suitably located off Rt. 287 North at Exit 4 in central New Jersey. Business Travelers will enjoy convenient access to numerous companies and universities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Edison-South Plainfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Edison Hotel Edison
Fairfield Inn Edison
Fairfield Inn Hotel Edison
Edison Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing