We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Place!”
Review of Champps Americana - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Champps Americana
Cuisines: American, Bar
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
602 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Good Place!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I visited Champps for the first time on a Monday for lunch with 7 other retired men. We had a great time. They gave us tables with plenty of elbow room and our server, Eric, did a great job keeping up with our needs. The service provided by him was exceptional.

Champps is a large sports bar and restaurant. A variety of hamburgers and salads top their menu but they also have a good variety of other choices.

Full bar and great deserts too.

Parking is not a problem. Champps is located on the 2nd floor of the Menlo Park Mall in Edison, NJ, and can be entered directly from the 2nd froor parking lot (the one of the Rt. 1 side of the shopping center) . . . . . . or through the inside of the mall . . . . . . and the far end of the food court.

I'll be back again. You should try it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilivennj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    14
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
195 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Good if you're in the mall”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great sit down option at Menlo Park Mall. Never really a wait like Cheesecake Factory and the food is good. The service is generally ok.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Didojen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
263 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“My favorite place for salad”
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

I just love their salads. They are frequently changing the menu items but the stales stay the same. Their balsamic dressing should be bottled and sold. The only thing bad I ever had there was a burger, so I don't order the burgers!

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“really packed”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The food was actually better than I anticipated. There were a lot of really rowdy fans there because of the Giants game. It was beyond enjoyable just because of the rowdiness. The server was good and the price was not too bad. There was something in my beer. Overall, I would say I wouldn't come back unless nothing else was open.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davidson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“The Most Delicious Turkey Burger!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

I ended up at Chammps because I couldn't find the place I was really looking for and had become frustrated. I was ready to eat. My date and I were seated right away and our waiter soon arrived. We ordered a Jack Daniels and ginger ale to relax while we looked at the menu. There were so many items to choose from. My date got a coconut chicken salad and I ordered a turkey burger with mushrooms, Swiss cheese, and bacon. My burger came perfectly cooked with yummy toppings and a side of waffle fries.. To say this was a good burger is an understatement. It was FANTASTIC. I found myself doing a little dance while I was eating... My date was looking at me like I was crazy until I let him have a bite. He then realized he should have ordered a burger. I will be going back just for the burger. I'm sure their other foods are good but my turkey burger was the bomb!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kitty_DeLuscious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champps Americana also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing