We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza”
Review of Tony's Pizzeria

Tony's Pizzeria
Ranked #104 of 275 Restaurants in Edison
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Newark, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

All the food here is excellent. Outstanding pizza. Very fresh seafood meals. And as another reviewer noted, excellent salads also. Quick service. Highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NJTraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best pizza”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We've been to Tony for some 30 years. Best pizza anywhere, great cappuccino and seafood dishes. We go there for quick bites or dinners and we never have any problem with the service (common, it's a pizzeria).

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chai7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Not worth Eating Here”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We used to eat here once a week, but never got used to not being greeted when we walked in or thanked for our business when leaving. Used to order hot sandwiches which were good or pizza which was also good, but then the service got bad because they were firing help when the restaurant wasn't filled, and the food got bad - so bad that my family and I had the runs after one dinner and decided never to return.

Helpful?
Thank Arline Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great Pizza, Hole in the Wall Place”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I live in Houston. We lack great, NY style pizza there. So when I visit my family in NJ, I nearly always stop at Tony's for some great pizza. The atmosphere isn't much, and I usually take the pizza to go. I often have salads as well, which are huge with fresh ingredients.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coralyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cranky, cranky workers!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have always enjoyed the food. I used to go quite often for lunch and dinner. However, I just could not stand how rude the men there were. There have been the same guys forever; maybe they are just sick of the work. They would never smile, yell at us, tell us to stop talking. The waitresses were no better. My friends and I can no longer bring our business there!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amytf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tony's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing