We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food - Beautiful Restaurant”
Review of Akbar Restaurant

Akbar Restaurant
Ranked #60 of 272 Restaurants in Edison
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Transit: 3 minutes drive from metuchen NJ transit railway station.less then half a mile from garden state parkway south or north turn pike 287 south or north.close to rt 1 south and north.in Edison NJ.08837
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Food - Beautiful Restaurant”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We found this restaurant with a Restaurant.com coupon. As we are never quite sure what we'll get when we get this coupon we were a bit apprehensive! The food was amazing and the place was beautiful. We visit it every time we can when we are in NJ!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheNotarangelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    19
    3
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hit or miss”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Its good one time, you like food & service...Next time you go its opposite. Its been going the same way for years.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank hv2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great place - worth the drive”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We drive 35 minutes to get to this restaurant - but it is well worth it. We went with friends to Akbar for New Year's Day. Now I will be bringing my wife, daughter, her husband, and 2 kids to celebrate Mother's Day. We are not Indian, just plain old Americans. But anyone will find this food is wonderful, spanning from great seasoned dishes to tasty tender Tandoori chicken. Sometimes they have had Rasmali dessert which is our family favorite.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“2nd Visit as Good as the 1st”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

True mark of excellent restaurants is if they're as good the second time around. Akbar was just as good, and nothing was changed from our first visit a year ago. Excellent Indian in beautiful surroundings and with attentive staff.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank IlProfessore21212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle Park, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Grab Dinner”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Good food and good customer service always brings out a positive atmosphere and vibe. This restaurant has it for sure. I am willing to return very soon and hope things stay the way they are at this restaurant. Good job Guys. !

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EricP2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akbar Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Akbar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing