We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so easy to find from I-95”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Edison
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Edison
Reviewed July 6, 2008

We stayed here during our move from NC to Boston. Parking lot was very big and well-lit, enough so that we weren't fretful about having our moving truck out there all night. The bathroom was tiny, but they have the sink and mirror separate from the tub and toilet. It wasn't easy to find this hotel coming from I-95, especially at night and in the rain. But the best thing about any Red Roof Inn is that they're pet friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CrashDavis8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 253 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2008

A question: What's an average budget motel like?
A clue: You have to walk outside and go around the building to the registration desk to get an iron and table-top ironing board.
This is not a complaint; just a reality check for travelers who'd like to know that sort of thing.

I booked the room by phone late Saturday night during an emergency trip to see a relative in the hospital. It was close to JFK Medical Center (2-3 miles) and only $68. Plus, the other hotels I called were full.

Basically, I just needed a room to sleep, shower and check-out by 9am. So, for a non-fussy, tired traveler, this room at first glance was adequate. I did not have high expectations, and it did not dissappoint.

The room looked recently remodeled, but unless the management details everything regularly, I doubt that even the no-frills appeal will hold up for very long. For example: the simulated wood flooring in the bathroom-- what's that going to look like in 6 months?!

The desk staff was friendly. I needed a cab to take me back to the hospital in the morning, and the receptionist called for a driver that arrived in less than 10 minutes. (He charged me $15 which seemed high for a 6-minute ride.)

Under similar circumstances, I'd probably stay at this Red Roof Inn again. Ironically, however, there's a Fairfield Inn directly across the street. And I found out that I could have gotten a serious upgrade for only $20 more (hot breakfast included). At least next time I'll hopefully have more choices.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Pathen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2008

I used this as a launching point for touring Manhattan. Definitely a LOT cheaper than a hotel in the city, and only approx 1-hour to the Staten Island Ferry giving me a free trip into the city with a very cheap $5 parking fee at a lot near the ferry.

I was a bit nervous about choosing such a low-priced motel, but the Red Roof web site indicated that the room was recently remodeled which made me decide to give it a try. I was disappointed about the quality of the remodeling, though. The renovation was clearly done to minimize the cost. There were still remnants of the old 1970s light fixtures and the smoke detector also appears to be from that era (yikes!).

Yes, the room had a newer wood veneer floor in the bathroom and newer carpet and furniture but this hotel is obviously very busy because these newer items were getting beaten-up fast. Give it another 2 years and the room will be in desperate need of another remodel.

Cleanliness was not too good. The bathroom had not been cleaned well. The room (nonsmoking room) had a musty odor. Only a minimal amount of towels were provided and they were just a tad getting on the grubby side. The bed sheets didn't have any stains, thankfully, but there was a tear in the sheets on the side.

The shower spray and hot water were good.

The motel is right off I-287 and there is a fair amount of traffic noise. It is a motel-style building so the room doors go directly outside. There is a Marriott Fairfield across the street.

If I come back to the New York area, I would consider staying here again... but I would also investigate other hotels even if they cost a bit more.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank kanling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2008

For the price paid for the room, I must say that what I got was ok. I needed a place to stay, that wasn't too far from New York. As I don't live in the US, I had been restricted to doing my research (for a place to stay) on the internet.

I was a bit sceptical about the place, mainly due to the very low rates that were being charged. But on arrival, I was greeted by a very polite receptionist and on getting to my room the place was very neat (& cosy) indeed.

This is strictly a "no frills" place - in other words, all you get is a place to sleep. If you are looking for something more than a place to stay for a short period (max 1 week), this may not be the place for you.

I will surely stay here again, when next I visit that part of the US.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank The_Traveller066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2008

Considering how expensive hotels in NJ can be, this is a fine place to stay. Don't expect anything fancy, tho. The rooms are clean, however they can be slightly noisy (as I stated in the prior review, turn the fan on to low, it helps). Hotel is close to the freeway, and close to Edison. It's ~20 minutes to the Metropark NJT train station, which gets you into midtown Manhattan in less than an hour. I like staying here because it's safe, a good value, and a central location. Their most expensive room, with a king bed and a desk to work on, was something like $80 plus tax. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KenCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2008

a reasonable place .
it was clean and conveniently located . the room was very small but still acceptable for 1 night . the thin walls might cause problem if ppl next door are noisy but it didn't happen to me .

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kamitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2005

The Edison Red Roof Inn is a great value for your money. We found an affordable rate of $69 online. The hotel was recently renovated, and our room was clean and comfortable. The beds were particularly good -- excellent back support, yet cozy. We also had a very friendly greeting from the desk clerk, unusual for a budget property. Would stay here again!

A note -- rooms do not have hair dryers, so bring your own. I was able to get one from the front desk last minute, but I think it was the only one available.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SarahP1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edison hotels
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Edison
Comfort Inn Edison
#8 of 15 in Edison
113 reviews
3.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Edison - Raritan Center
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 15 in Edison
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Edison
Crowne Plaza Edison
#5 of 15 in Edison
204 reviews
3.3 mi away
E Hotel Banquet & Conference Center
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Edison/Raritan Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Edison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Edison

Address: 860 New Durham Rd, I-287 at Middlesex Avenue, Exit #3/2-A, Edison, NJ 08817-2837
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Edison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Edison
Price Range: $71 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Edison 2*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms feature wireless internet, complimentary local and long distance calls and faxes, lobby coffee, upgraded HBO channels. Our coffee bar is in our lobby and available 24/7 along with complimentary USA Today during the week. Our Superior King rooms include Microwave, fridge, in room coffee brewer and a large work area. Children under 18 are free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Red Roof Inn Edison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Edison Hotel Edison
Edison Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing