We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, very nice service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of LouCas

LouCas
Ranked #2 of 265 Restaurants in Edison
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food, very nice service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Went to the restaurant on a busy Saturday night. When we saw a crowd of people waiting in the entryway, we thought our reservation would mean nothing. We were wrong as we were seated immediately. Our wine was opened (BYO restaurant) and bread arrived within a few minutes of our being seated. We ordered fried zucchini strings as a shared appetizer. My husband thoroughly enjoyed his Seafood Fra Diavolo as I did my lamb chop special. Entree servings were more than adequate and service was brisk and efficient. We'll definitely pay a return visit.

Helpful?
Thank Margo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    92
    22
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Good, very good!!...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Nice restaurant, fair prices, good quality food, always fresh!!!... Few words to describe my good experience at this restaurant, I really enjoy every time I go!...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Johann1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Visited here on a Saturday night with a large group (10). They were very accommodating. The food was very good, only complaint I had was that my veal chop was not cooked medium rare as I had requested (it was medium), but it was still very tender and quite tasty. The appetizers were excellent, the best eggplant rollatini I ever had (and I don't even like eggplant). My friends all enjoyed their meals very much also, especially the wild boar rack and the mahi mahi and grouper specials. The prices were a little high, but you received a lot of food and it was very good. We really appreciate that it was BYOB, since this allows us to select our own wines and keep the price a little more reasonable. The staff was very friendly and attentive, and we never felt rushed, even though the resaurant was filled to capacity. Make sure you have a reservation!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NurseJudy0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
263 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“Food is 5 star, table arrangements 0”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Pecan Crusted Grouper with mango salsa was amazing. The lump crab with shiitake mushrooms, asparagus and tomatoes over angel har was delish. All that said, the experience was less than amazing. We were crammed into a table which that I had to get up to let the busboy at the next table. My chair was bumped so many times I thought I was on a NY subway. The owners should consider taking some tables out to make the experience more enjoyable.

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Italian!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

While looking for a decent place to eat while staying in Edison I found this place in a Google search. My fiance and I decided to give it a shot. We found the restaurant clean and nice enough and the service was ok however we found out the hard way that the place is BYOB! The menu had a very good selection and the food was amazing. The seafood was fresh and the portions were generous. We didn't have room for dessert but the table next to us did and it looked good as well. If you should find yourself in the Edison NJ area for some strange reason try this place out.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmbro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LouCas also viewed

 

Been to LouCas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing