We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gigantic Portions!”

Harold's New York Deli Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 268 Restaurants in Edison
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Montgomery, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Gigantic Portions!”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Friends and I have dined at Harold's since it opened years ago. Recently, we were visiting an out-of-town friend's home so we placed a take-out order. We had a large pastrami/corned beef sandwich and a container of chopped chicken liver. All were delicious and divine! The chopped chicken liver is reminiscent of our parents' comfort food from long ago! Although we received more than enough bread in the package, there were only a few pickles - nothing like the selection at the restaurant's pickle bar. We all enjoyed the tasty selections!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryPat105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    191
    59
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“LOVE HAROLDS”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Once in a while I get a weird craving for some good pastrami, so I immediately go to Harold's! This place is so good. Make sure you bring at least a group of 3 or 4, because trust me, the food is too much for 1 or 2 people. Look at the pics! I have never worked up the courage to try one of those cakes, maybe one day... I need to go back soon!

Plus, they got a really good pickle bar!

Helpful?
Thank Toni-ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
119 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Brooklyn deli in Edison N.J.”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We recently went to Harolds for a friends informal party, which is probably the best setting for a venue like this. If you are thinking of going just two people, I strongly urge you to reconsider. The portions are just too large, even if you order one of everything for the two of you. However, for a party of 6 or so, it is the perfect venue for a friendly informal "kosher style" meal. The deli food is the best south of Brooklyn. As noted, the portions are enourmous and if you are a health nut, this is your chance to cheat a bit. Don't bother looking for anything healthy. It isn't here!! This is a great place to experience the deli food of New York City in a more relaxed suburban environment and I recommend this to anyone who loves great cold cuts and all the extra's that go with it. Also beware that the great food comes at a great price as well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dpg1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
400 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Crazy portion sizes in this place”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Met a friend here recently while in town - apparently he was a partner in Carnegie and has taken it up a notch. The portion sizes are made for sharing, so prepare to be surprised at the prices. It actually can be cost effective when sharing, but can be disconcerting when trying to order. As for the food, it was good , but not great - we had matzoh ball soup and pastrami and brisket, along with some fries. The pickle bar is cool with lots of choices to pick at - worth a shot for the novelty effect, but otherwise not going out of my way to go back

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Are they serious?”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Went here alone for dinner while on business nearby.
Not a good idea. The pastrami sandwich costs $23.95. It "feeds 2-3 people." If you don't have 1-2 people with you who feel like eating what you're eating what good is that arrangement? So you can ooh and ahh about a sandwich plate of way too much meat delivered to your table? And even if you did have two people with you AND they wanted the same sandwich as you do, you think they might be interested in having their own bread? How does two slices of rye bread serve three sandwich-eaters?The whole thing reeks rip-off.
Oh, yeah, when I saw the price of the deli sandwiches I thought that maybe it was just a sandwich gimmick. I checked the entree section of the menu. Almost snagged a nice roast turkey and mashed potatoes. It was only $58.95.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dwight5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harold's New York Deli Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Harold's New York Deli Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing