We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HUGE!!! Just Huge”

Harold's New York Deli Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 275 Restaurants in Edison
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“HUGE!!! Just Huge”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Looks like everything is on steroids lol. Everything is meant to be shared, do not order per person. The meat is very fresh and the food comes quickly. I love the pickle bar. Grab some friends and go for lunch or dinner, It's an experience. Make sure you are HUNGRY!! A little expensive but you get lots of food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    201
    60
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ever heard of single size portions?”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I went to this restaurant without knowing that the smallest thing on the menu was enough to feed a family of five in China for a week and cost as much as a small space station. Is there any chance that had I been in a larger group, ANY of them would have been interested in the same food as I was? Doubt it. Shrink sizes and prices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ghostrider525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level 6 Contributor
457 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“An experience not to be missed.”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We go here several times a year and enjoy bringing people for their 1st Harold's experience. You will understand once you see the front dessert case when you enter. All items are meant to be SHARED. Do not make the mistake of ordering one item per person unless you want to take a lot of food home. There is an all you can eat pickle bar that has a very good health salad on it. We love the mini muffins that are only served at night. Food comes quickly and is always consistent. They do not take reservations. If you don't want to wait on line for an hour arrive by around 4pm on the weekends. We went for breakfast the other day the place was empty. For the amount of food you receive it is very reasonable. Go with a group of people so you can order a few things to share. Make sure you go with an appetite and enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank FLB18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Another fabulous Lunch”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is not my first review of Harolds, and hopefully wont be the last, but I wanted to write again because the food and service get better and better, if that was possible. This time we ordered a pastrami, turkey and corn beef club sandwich. I cannot tell you how delicious it was. The meat is so fresh, the rye bread is delicious, the service is fabulous - what more is there to say? My cousins got 2 milkshakes, and they got to-go cups, as they were still drinking their shakes when we were done our meals. We were with a lot of relatives, and we ordered blintzes, potato knish, kasha, a vegetable-burger, and beef ribs. Just can't say how great everything was. Can't wait to get back there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jerseygirl047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You need a big stomach”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Harold's is located in the Edison Hotel. If you are really, really in need of food, this is the place to go, but bring your credit card. If you have at least 4 people, please agree to share the same meal(family style) then the price is reasonably. The sandwiches have more meat in them then most stores. I split a hero and still could eat it all. It's an experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harold's New York Deli Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Harold's New York Deli Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing