We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only #2 in Edison???”

Harold's New York Deli Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 275 Restaurants in Edison
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Only #2 in Edison???”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Harold's is a MUST GO TO whenever we're in the area. There used to be a whole lot of Kosher and Kosher style delis in NJ....but not any more!! Now there are comparatively few. But..one of them is OUTSTANDING! Not only are the portions huge, but the quality is superb. It is obvious why: Harold!! Harold watches over his 'baby' constantly, making sure that the service is up to his high standard and that the food served is done the right way. We've never been to Harold's when it wasn't crowded; people know where to go for the best pastrami, corned beef, brisket, etc. sandwiches!~!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Darryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    201
    60
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Holy Moly! Is right!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I always heard of Harolds. Finally went to experience it first hand. Decor Blah. Staff ok but the food. Wow. Seriously huge portions. One sandwich will make 4 normal sandwiches. Food was good quality too. Very good deli Meat. Huge Pickle bar.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank allmotorchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“HOLY MOLY!!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My family and I went there on a recommendation from my cousin. We didn't know what to expect. When the food came, it was jaw-dropping. Pancakes the size of a medium pizza and matzah balls the size of soccer balls. Make sure you don't come here alone; this place is for groups. I get it...LARGE servings are their "thing", but it's a shame to see so much food go to waste.

PS - They also have a really great pickle bar.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Infidel_Sheepdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Took me 4 days to finish....”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Whenever in NJ we stop at Harold's. Don't let the price's scare you because you will be eating it for the next 3 or 4 days. The meat is really good quality meat, and the "Health" salad is amazing. Be sure to top it off with a 14 inch slice of cake !!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tamrabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wow what a sandwich!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

A coworker and I went there for dinner based on a hotel staff recommendation. Sure glad there were two of us to share that HUGE pastrami sandwich. It was great even though it was a bit pricey.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank HJK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harold's New York Deli Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Harold's New York Deli Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing