We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Crowne Plaza hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Edison
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Edison
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Good Crowne Plaza hotel”
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Typical Crowne Plaza, nice lobby and friendly efficient service. Did receive wrong directions to Johnson & Johnson which caused a great deal of extra driving and made me close to being late for an appointment. This is a frustration that you should not have when staying in a unfamiliar local. Everything else was normal Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdean1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    69
    50
    20
    11
See reviews for
39
30
14
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
210 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We were there visiting our son and his family. The hotel is about 30 or so minutes from Newark Airport. Easy drive down to the hotel. Check in was a breeze. Front desk was nice and efficient. Room was very nice, large and clean. Beds were great. Hotel does seem to be a little dark and a tad bit dated in the public areas. Nonetheless still a nice place.
The hotel restaurant was horrible. The food wasn't good and the prices were worse. It took me more than 30 minutes to get a simple omelette and there were only 3 other occupied tables.
I will definitely recommend the hotel, but make sure you go somewhere else to eat.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gvldiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmarron, Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this review, December 15, 2010
Thank You for your review. We did a major renovation finished in July, so if you are in the area, stop by to see our beautiful new lobby, ballrooms, & restaurant, no more outdated look! I apologize for your unhappiness with our restaurant, please let us make it up to you. We look forward to seeing you and having you leave happy!
-Caitlin Marron, Catering Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2009

Excellent value! The hotel is located close to the Rutgers campus and New Jersey Transit stations. This is one of the best hotels in the Edison/New Brunswick area that lives up to the Crowne Plaza brand. The staff was very helpful with early check-in, directions, requests. The room was spacious and comfortable with all of the expected amenities. The hotel has a courtesy shuttle. The area is safe and visitor friendly.

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank frequenttraveler234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2009

Thankfully the front desk staff... namely George and Eric were so friendly, professional and accommodating - as the restaurant deflected a lot of their hard work due to appauling food/prices. I am not a picky eater by any stretch but this was the first time I couldphysically not eat my soup. It took us 2 time sto realize that Christies was not going to be where we eat. The prices were outrageous and virtually 8/10 dishes were seafood (which I love but its not for every one). The staff at the restaurant were fantastic and very understanding with the meal being inedible. They were friendly, attentive and helpful.
Thank Goodness for the Shuttle service as Carlos is a huge asset to the hotel with his charm, professionalism, and impecable timing. We would go to Menlo Mall (8min drive) shop all day and return to the hotel, only to turn aruond and go back to the mall to eat at the Cheesecake Factory. The train is perfect as that's with in the 5 mile complimentary shuttle range and for 1st time passengers we made out well with the guidance and assistance fromt he front desk.
The original room we were assigned had an ajoining door, was about 15 rooms down from the elevator and had no safe. My mum had recently had knee surgery and found the distance, along iwth being unsettled about the safe too much. Upon speaking with the front desk, they were able to a ccommodate us in an alternate room that was 2 doors from the elevator, without an ajoining door and advised that they had a safety deposit behind the desk. This worked out perfect for remainder of our stay!
Thank goodness for the staff as they werre the main contributing factor to our staying at The Crowne Plaza Edison. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BermyGirl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza Hotel for a day on 12th April 09 while visiting family in Highland Park. I would definitely return to this hotel again. The double bed room that we stayed was roomy, spacious and comfortable. Very clean. The bathroom spotless. The towels very clean some neatly tied in a ribbon. Though the breakfast was very good at the restaurant the ambiance was dull and very claustrophobic. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to a family or friend.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lathav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2009

I stayed at this newly renovated hotel in January 2009 for one night while on a business trip. My room was quite large, very comfortable and very clean. There is a large outdoor parking lot beside the hotel.
The lobby is quite large and the front-desk staff were very friendly. There was even a plate of freshly-baked cookies on the counter!
No complaints at all. I will return to this hotel the next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha77Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2008

This is a nice hotel.

Lobby is beatiful with plenty of marble. Guest room was wonderful and clean; in fact, I received a free upgrade to the Presidential Suite, probably due to PC Platinum status.

Restaurant, although a little pricey served excellent food.

Only problem was a paqtio door that didn't lock, but it waqsn't a big deal being on the 5'th floor.

  • Liked — Clean, upscale accomadations
  • Disliked — located on a very busy street
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ToSquareBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edison
3.2 mi away
Courtyard Edison Woodbridge
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Edison Hotel Raritan Center
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Edison/Raritan Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Edison-South Plainfield
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Edison
Red Roof Inn Edison
#8 of 15 in Edison
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton East Brunswick Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Edison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Edison

Property: Crowne Plaza Edison
Address: 2055 Lincoln Hwy, Edison, NJ 08817-3334
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Edison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Edison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Edison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle into the sensible and elegant Crowne Plaza Hotel Edison. Whether you're a business or leisure traveler, you will enjoy the combination of practicality and aesthetic appeal. Our beautiful hotel features 169 spacious guestrooms and suites with contemporary amenities such as wireless high-speed Internet access, a 24-hour business center, a fitness center open 24/7 and local shuttle service within 3 miles, based upon availability. You won't have to go far to grab a bite to eat. Local favorite Christie's Steakhouse Restaurant is onsite, serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner. You can also grab lunch, dinner, and your favorite drink at Christie's Lounge. Whether you're holding a business retreat, board meeting, or training seminar, your comfort and success are paramount. Take advantage of our facilities, which boast 12,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space fit to accommodate 200 people for socials and 300 for conferences. Whatever your needs, Crowne Plaza is where your success starts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Edison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing