We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but Old”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Edison
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Edison
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice but Old”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for a night, the hotel itself looks pretty old but the room was big, spacious and clean. Nothing out of ordinary, everything You could expect from a hotel but definelty not a upscale one. I got this hotel for a deal, hence for the price, it was worth the stay. They do have free breakfast in the attached hotel if You booked tickets through them which was good too. If You are planning to visit NYC, its a good 20-30 min drive with no traffic from this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saju84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello Saju,

Good to hear the hotel stay was worth the money and convenient for NYC travel. It is unfortunate you find the hotel looking old (I'd rather use the word "classy")! We just updated our bedding linens, bathroom towels, and bathroom amenities this year, and will soon be looking into other items as well.

Thank you for your review and hope to see you return soon.

Jonathan Lin
jlin@menlohotels.com
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    70
    50
    20
    11
See reviews for
39
31
14
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Booked this hotel for two rooms less than 12 hours before we checked in. We used an online 'bidding' service to book it and got a GREAT deal. I am sometimes hesitant to use online discount booking services because I have found that many hotels treat you as second rate. When they see you used one of these sites, they aren't willing to help you out in any way. At least one hotel was downright RUDE. Anyway, the Crowne Plaza was wonderful. When we checked in (very, very late) they changed our rooms from one bed kings (which we automatically received due to the online service) to two bed doubles without hesitation. The front desk clerk was very polite and friendly as were the housekeeping staff members. The hotel itself is very, very nice - it has a large main lobby with a fountain in the center. There is a restaurant (which we did not visit), and they offer free breakfast to those who book through them and pay full price. We did not get breakfast which was no big deal to us. There is a diner directly across the street which was tasty. The room was very large - larger than I expected - with two double beds (they aren't queens, just doubles so it was a little cramped sleeping two in a bed), a chair and ottoman, a desk, flat screen TV, a safe, and a roomy closet. The bathroom was average sized. Overall the room and bathroom were very clean. Bed was comfortable, albeit a bit small. Air conditioner unit worked well. And the complimetary toiletries they give you are great - even a relaxation kit near the bed with lotion for tired legs and feet and a soothing mist to use before you go to sleep.

Overall, especially for the price we paid, this was a fine stay. I would def. stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Always great to hear guests enjoying their experience with us!

It is indeed our philosophy here to treat every single of our guests with full attention and respect. We appreciate you explaining that there are advantages (such as the deluxe hot breakfast buffet that includes a manned omelette station on weekdays) to booking directly through our hotel, at very competitive pricing to the discount channels.

We hope the next time you return you could try out our restaurant as we are very proud of the product. Sorry to hear you did not have as great an experience at a few of your other hotel stays, but look forward to your return!

Jonathan Lin
General Manager
jlin@menlohotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I have stayed here a number of times over the years as it is convenient for the major highways and also close to rail transportation to NYC. The hotel seems to be well run and managed, the staff are efficient, the rooms large and well furnished and always spotlessly clean. What else can you ask for?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you John for the encouraging review.

Indeed, we are less than 1 mile from major highways and we provide complimentary shuttle service to the Edison Train Station, which is only 1.5 miles away. Happy to hear that your stays here were satisfying, we will continue improving to earn that one additional point in service.

Jonathan Lin
General Manager
jlin@menlohotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at Edison, NJ for a business trip and found the hotel to be perfect for business travelers on medium budget. The rooms are compact but have all that's needed for basic stay. Service was decent and the breakfast was good.. The bar in the ground floor has good collection of beers and have good quality vegetarian food as well.. All in all a good experience..

Room Tip: Vegetarian food options are available..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Punit24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Greetings Punit,

thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Edison. We are proud to be one of the very few suburban hotels that offer a manned omelette station Tuesday-Friday mornings. Our chef has also studied internationally and masters a wide variety of cuisines.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay here, hope to see you again!

Jonathan Lin
General Manager
jlin@menlohotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed there a night or two every week for the past 4 or 5 weeks for business. I always enjoy staying at this hotel because the rooms are clean and spacious. The customer service is always excellent, my first night there was a credit card issue and the evening supervisor Beverly help clear it up very nicely. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hello again Denise,

thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I have passed on your message to Beverly and she was smiling from cheek to cheek. Enjoy the rest of your stay this week!

Jonathan Lin
General Manager
jlin@menlohotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights while in town for a lacrosse tournament at Rutgers. The property is not within walking distance of anything. It's in a commercial area. We checked in late and the night manager was very professional and service oriented. However, can't say that or the rest of the team. Seven requests and assurances later- and a conversation with the GM- finally got us the cot we had requested when we made the reservation and had been assured numerous times it was on its way up to the room- at 11pm the second night. Not the best experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loriglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Greetings Lori,

No excuses for the length of time it took the staff to place an additional cot into your guest room. We were not prepared for the number of requests for cots due to the tournament, and that was an oversight on our part. We will look to purchase more cots so this issue will not happen a second time.

There is a diner and a couple of laid-back eateries within half a mile of the restaurant. If you do choose to return again you can request for our shuttle to take you to nearby destinations such as the Menlo Park Mall, where there is the Rainforest Cafe, a popular restaurant for kids.

Again, not acceptable it took an excessive amount of time to honor your request, if you shall return again please feel free to contact me and I will oversee your reservation.

Jonathan Lin
General Manager
jlin@menlohotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edison hotels

South River, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed in the Presidential Suite on the night before and after my wedding. When I tried to check in, I was told there was no credit card on file for the suite although I had arranged this many months prior with the sales rep, Eva. Apparently, she was on vacation and they had no paperwork on file to verify. Obviously, someone didn't do their job. On the day of my wedding, I rec'd a call from Maria at the front desk saying that they would "shut everything off" if they didn't get a credit card to charge. I had to run down and try to diffuse the situation. This kind of customer service is reprehensible. On top of that, the room itself was disappointing since the water from the shower head was shooting up into the ceiling, the shower floor was moldy and the toilet didn't work properly. Enough said.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Erika,

We discussed your situation at our managers' meeting yesterday and are investigating the details for how the event transpired. Furthermore, we have sent engineering department to examine/repair the bathroom which fell below your expectations.

PS. Glad to hear from the front desk your wedding was a success, and a belated congratulations!

Sincerely,

Jonathan Lin
General Manager
jlin@menlohotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edison hotels
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Edison/Raritan Center
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Edison Hotel Raritan Center
3.2 mi away
Courtyard Edison Woodbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Edison - Raritan Center
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Edison-South Plainfield
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Edison
Comfort Inn Edison
#9 of 15 in Edison
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Edison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Edison

Property: Crowne Plaza Edison
Address: 2055 Lincoln Hwy, Edison, NJ 08817-3334
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Edison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Edison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Edison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle into the sensible and elegant Crowne Plaza Hotel Edison. Whether you're a business or leisure traveler, you will enjoy the combination of practicality and aesthetic appeal. Our beautiful hotel features 169 spacious guestrooms and suites with contemporary amenities such as wireless high-speed Internet access, a 24-hour business center, a fitness center open 24/7 and local shuttle service within 3 miles, based upon availability. You won't have to go far to grab a bite to eat. Local favorite Christie's Steakhouse Restaurant is onsite, serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner. You can also grab lunch, dinner, and your favorite drink at Christie's Lounge. Whether you're holding a business retreat, board meeting, or training seminar, your comfort and success are paramount. Take advantage of our facilities, which boast 12,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space fit to accommodate 200 people for socials and 300 for conferences. Whatever your needs, Crowne Plaza is where your success starts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Edison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing