We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Edison
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Edison
South River, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed in the Presidential Suite on the night before and after my wedding. When I tried to check in, I was told there was no credit card on file for the suite although I had arranged this many months prior with the sales rep, Eva. Apparently, she was on vacation and they had no paperwork on file to verify. Obviously, someone didn't do their job. On the day of my wedding, I rec'd a call from Maria at the front desk saying that they would "shut everything off" if they didn't get a credit card to charge. I had to run down and try to diffuse the situation. This kind of customer service is reprehensible. On top of that, the room itself was disappointing since the water from the shower head was shooting up into the ceiling, the shower floor was moldy and the toilet didn't work properly. Enough said.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Erika,

We discussed your situation at our managers' meeting yesterday and are investigating the details for how the event transpired. Furthermore, we have sent engineering department to examine/repair the bathroom which fell below your expectations.

PS. Glad to hear from the front desk your wedding was a success, and a belated congratulations!

Sincerely,

Jonathan Lin
General Manager
jlin@menlohotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    72
    50
    20
    12
See reviews for
40
31
14
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We typically stay with family, so this time we only needed to book a hotel for an overnight stay in the Edison area of New Jersey. My husband took a chance and used and online discount booking service and you don't know where you going to be booked, until it's done. There we stood in our living room with fingers crossed and the return option clicked, because who knew where we were going to be sent...then it showed Crowne Plaza. We both breathed a sigh of relief, as I looked it up online and read some reviews from the faithful TripAdvisor.

As we pulled onto the parking lot, we both realized that it was familiar because friends of ours had their reception here a few years ago. The front desk attendant was pleasant and informed us that they upgraded our room, but I don't know what the difference is - oh well I'll take it. Hmm, haven't figured out what constitutes as the"upgraded room" yet. There's a comfortable king bed, flat screen tv, mini fridge (mini wet bar area minus the alcohol), couch, etc. It's so nice that I decided the family overnighter can wait for next visit. I called the online booking service we used and booked for our remaining time here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frecklechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for extending your stay at the Crowne Plaza Edison and we are glad that your mystery hotel booking adventure ended with a good result!

With the exception of our Junior and Presidential Suites, our upgraded rooms are on the 5th floor. The 5th floor is a "quiet zone" with delayed housekeeping hours. These rooms have some additional room features such as granite bathroom floors. Additional amenities include bathrobe, extra bathroom commodity, with complimentary slippers and soda coming soon. The 5th floor also has access to its own business center and concierge lounge that serves complimentary wine/beer/finger food Monday-Thursday 3pm-8pm.

We hope you will return on your next visit to Edison!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The lobby is beautiful and the rooms are nice and large. A bonus is the friendly Manager, George Kovacs. We always have a pleasant stay here when we want to visit family in the area. They have a shuttle and can take you to the train station to NY.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your encouragement to the hotel!

I will let George know you appreciated his service, I am sure he will be excited. We do have one of the largest guest rooms in the area at 425 square feet per room!

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Lin
General Manager
jlin@menlohotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I sent an email to Guest Relations at Crown Plaza detailing my disappointing experience at the Edison hotel. I received an automatic email back saying they would respond to my email within 5 days. 12 days later I received a response that said my email was forwarded to the manager at the Edison hotel and I would receive a response from him within 48 hours. It has now been 6 days and I have not heard a word. I have sent yet another email to the original response indicating this and have yet to hear back. Despite the claim of Crowne Plaza that their customers are of the upmost importance, they must not really believe that, or their customer service would not be so poor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CADTraveller154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Greetings CADTraveller,

Thank you for voicing your concern with the hotel as we are always looking for ways to improve. We believe your issue had been resolved a few weeks ago and we are sorry of the inconvenience that it had caused you.

We hope you will forgive us and return for another stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edison hotels

Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I made reservations with this hotel since my daughters and myself were traveling to New York for the weekend. I had contacted the hotel front desk to inform them of my late arriaval due to delay on the highway. The representative assured me that the reservation was still in place eventhough the call was made after 6pm. Another call was placed to the hotel when we were a couple of exits away and the representative informed me the reservations were cancelled and there were no other rooms or partner properties that will accomadate us and when he when I informed him of the previous call he stated it was not his mistake. Well, the next day the manager Dwayne was contacted and he was not helpful with my complaint or concerns either. Personally I believe they have no true customer service skills based on my experience. I will never recommend this property to anyone

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Greetings Elaine,

Apologies for the great inconvenience you experienced. No excuses that we were unable to at the very least locate a hotel for you to rest.

I am sorry Dwayne was not able to resolve your disappointment. If you send me a message or email me at jlin@menlohotels.com, I will personally see through a great experience at our hotel on your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed here from 04/27 to 05/03 to attend business meetings. The size of the room is nice and big and the bed is confortable with plenty of pillows. The restaurant is good (depends on what you order). And that's all the good in the hotel.

The lack of cleanliness in the room was disgusting. I'm a long hair brunnette, and since day 1 I found a short black hair in the shower wall. Every day when I took a shower I verified, and the hair was in the shower wall during my whole stay. You can see the residues of shampoo and conditioner from previous guests in the shower curtain. I blow dry my hair on my first night at the hotel, and my hair remained over the bathroom counter top for about 3 to 4 days. The rug of the room was dirty. It had a bubble gum residues by the bed side. The walls of the room were paper thin. I could hear EVERYTHING the guests of the next rooms talked and did at their rooms.

The conference rooms were clean, but the chairs were in a disrepair state.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devotemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for the compliments on the size of the room and our restaurant.

I am disappointed to hear about the unsatisfactory cleanliness of your hotel room. Our hotel has been receiving excellent cleanliness reviews since implementing a 100-points inspection program. If you would like to message me the room you stayed in it would really help us pinpoint the issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed here on the recommendation of my client and was pleasantly surprised at the room assigned - it was HUGE, comfortable, and well laid out. The bathroom amenities (shampoo, soaps, etc.) were luxe, and in the main room, there was more than enough space to lay out suitcase, laptop bag, etc.

Bed was comfy, chairs were nice, and there were enough plugs to let everything charge easily (no crawling behind nightstands or under desks to access plugs.)

I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: I noticed the next morning that there was a newspaper outside of every other room, which is why the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marymcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edison, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Hi Mary,

Very glad you enjoyed your stay with the hotel! Our new bathroom amenities package has indeed received positive reviews from the guests; our standard guest rooms are 408 square feet.

Thank you for staying with us and posting your recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edison hotels
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Edison/Raritan Center
3.2 mi away
Courtyard Edison Woodbridge
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Edison Hotel Raritan Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Edison - Raritan Center
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Edison-South Plainfield
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Edison
Red Roof Inn Edison
#7 of 15 in Edison
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Edison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Edison

Property: Crowne Plaza Edison
Address: 2055 Lincoln Hwy, Edison, NJ 08817-3334
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Edison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Edison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Edison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle into the sensible and elegant Crowne Plaza Hotel Edison. Whether you're a business or leisure traveler, you will enjoy the combination of practicality and aesthetic appeal. Our beautiful hotel features 169 spacious guestrooms and suites with contemporary amenities such as wireless high-speed Internet access, a 24-hour business center, a fitness center open 24/7 and local shuttle service within 3 miles, based upon availability. You won't have to go far to grab a bite to eat. Local favorite Christie's Steakhouse Restaurant is onsite, serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner. You can also grab lunch, dinner, and your favorite drink at Christie's Lounge. Whether you're holding a business retreat, board meeting, or training seminar, your comfort and success are paramount. Take advantage of our facilities, which boast 12,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space fit to accommodate 200 people for socials and 300 for conferences. Whatever your needs, Crowne Plaza is where your success starts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Edison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing