We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient and pleasant!”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Edgewater
Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“convenient and pleasant!”
Reviewed October 12, 2006

This hotel was very well-priced, especially considering how close it is to Manhattan. If you don't mind taking the NJ Transit bus across the street (just $3.10 each way), it's a comfortable 25-minute ride to midtown. Plus you get a gorgeous view of the Manhattan skyline. Another plus is the Mitsuwa Market, the Japanese mall just down the street from the hotel: it has a huge Japanese grocery store, many authentic food stands, a bookstore, etc.
On the downside, some of the rooms lights weren't working and you could hear noise from other rooms, but it doesn't matter much if you're planning to spend most of your time in NY anyway.

  • Liked — location and price
  • Tips/Secrets — Eat at Mitsuwa Market
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank waltrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    46
    30
    16
    15
See reviews for
55
24
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2006

I was a bit hesitant to stay here, couldn't find too much information on this hotel.
I travel often to NJ & am always looking for a new place to stay.
I will definitely chose this Comfort Inn again & would recommend to others.

POSITIVES: Rooms were very clean & comfortable. Staff was extra friendly & helpful. Balcony view was beautiful, especially at night-worth the extra money. Easy access to many roads. Safe location. Many shops nearby, including grocery store. Close to ferry ( 15 minutes to NYC)& mass transit. Coffee maker in room, Free breakfast - plenty of choices. Overall atmosphere was great.

NEGATIVES: No elevator- but just 2 floors. Only 1 ice machine & no mini fridge in room.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SouthFloridaSQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 24, 2005

It's quite a good deal comparing prices, I thought. Although it took quite some time to get into Manhattan by bus, ferry... or why not try the customer's shuttle at the Mitsuwa Center nearby where you might also taste the delicious Japanese food. A beautiful suprise was discovering the Hudson Walk along the river - offering a magnificient view onto Manhattan - which going up north lead to the great Whole Foods Market.
The hotel attendants were friendly (although you had to ask for the Internet cable and the coffee-machine first) and the room was very clean.
I was in room 104 opposite the ice-machine which occasionally was quite noisy, fortunately not after midnight. Furthermore there was quite some noise coming from the next room where they were still renovating. In change, I felt that my room had been renovated recently and looked quite nice and was spacious.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2005

This motel was very convenient, as it was near my brother's home. It was also a great alternative to expensive N.Y.C. hotels, as the bus across the street takes you to Port Authority (be patient...can be a bit of a wait). The previous reviewers are right...the renovations are still happening. The place is still in disarray. The door to our room needed to be planed, as you needed brute strength to close it. The continental breakfast was adequate...not wonderful and it was guarded by one of the motel staff (I didn't dare take a second muffin!).

The motel staff were pleasant and there was plenty of parking. Another plus was the mile-long boardwalk along the Hudson River. A Whole Foods Market was a quarter mile away.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Saunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edgewater hotels

Box Elder, South Dakota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2005

We chose this hotel because the chain has had an excellent reputation - we've stayed at several in the past and have been pleased with the prices and amenities. This hotel has to be one of the worst we have EVER stayed in, and we've been in some holes across the street from railroad tracks, so it's not like we're comparing it with 5-star places.

The carpet was not only worn with holes (odd in a non-smoking room?), but it was damp and so filthy that it turned bare feet black. After the first evening we made sure to always leave on our slippers or shoes. The towels were small and old, with the sandpaper-y feel of having no loft left in the loops.

The 'breakfast area' that's supposedly being renovated was full of paper, buckets of spackle, etc, a job that would have taken us amateurs about a week to finish. In the meantime the breakfast area is a folding 'display' table with some folding chairs in the middle of the lobby, which also has a couch and an easy chair. One party could wipe out the breakfast offering, or take up all the room.

The high-speed internet was free, but the access was on the opposite side of the room from the desk, next to the TV. We were barely able to rearrange the furniture to make it work, but the TV cable was so short that the dresser couldn't be moved more than a few inches. That left the working area in a dark corner with no light. It's a good thing we had read the previous review and brought our own cable, because we probably wouldn't have thought to do so otherwise.

The windows in our first floor room didn't lock, and my husband was able to easily lift them out! Surely a thief could do the same.

The one good thing is the easy bus access. The bus stop was right across the street, and rates have now gone up to $3.10 for the trip to New York, but that sure beats parking in the City (if you could find any). The trip takes from 30-40 minutes, depending on stops and traffic, but we figured it would be worth the extra time to save some money. Next time we'll pay more to stay closer.

Even once they finish their renovation - which might turn out ok if the models of fabric, carpet, and wallpaper samples are what they're actually using - they need to do something about the pervasive dampness. Even though the humidity is high, we didn't experience it in any of the other buildings we visited during our five-day stay.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dnawaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2005

Good points:
- Bus near hotel takes you to NYC in 20 minutes - $2.80 one-way
- Close to Yaohan shopping center (which was one of the reasons we went there)
- Shower was excellent (some hotels skimp on this)

Bad points:
- Ferry near there has a club / restaurant on it - if you're near the water or the parking lot, you can hear a steady bass beat late into the night from both the ferry and/or kids in the parking lot (3:00am) - this was by far the worse part
- Needs renovation - carpeting had holes, and the front desk ran out of Ethernet cables for the Internet (Bring your own, if you want to use the high-speed internet access)
- Need thicker walls - I could hear what the couple next door to us were doing at 1:30am
- More spare amenities needed - the front desk had only one blanket and two pillows for the extra bed. The blanket had a hole in it too.
- Need bigger breakfast area, but that was being renovated.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NATraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulpen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
158 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2004

The hotel is located at a nice and quiet location. We were asked and given a room with a view towards the Hudson river. Room was spacious and beds were ok. The rooms were clean but a bit noisy. It takes 20 to 30 minutes to get to Times Square (2.6 USD). Good alternative for small and expensive manhattan rooms.

Helpful?
5 Thank Elmer&Lizette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgewater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#390 of 468 in New York City
627 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#393 of 468 in New York City
1,495 reviews
Opera House Hotel
#2 of 14 in Bronx
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 725 River Rd, Edgewater, NJ 07020-1171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Edgewater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Edgewater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Edgewater
Edgewater Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Edgewater Nj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing