We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Edgewater
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Beautiful view of the New York City Skyline. Rooms very clean and the staff was very warm and friendly. Rooms are all completely renovated with refrigerator and microwave. I definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jean g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHANTI S, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Jean,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

SHANTI SANTIAGO
GM
COMFORT INN
201-943-3131
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    42
    30
    16
    13
See reviews for
48
23
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

It's inexpensive and with free parking is a good place to stay if you are on a road trip. Breakfast is crowded and it is not unusual for most of the food to run out. It can feel a little like survival of the fittest. Though it has been recently renovated, it's really just a thin coat of paint on a tired facility. Good access to a bus to NYC or a half mile walk to a boat that will take you to Midtown (but it's a commuter boat, so it stops at 8pm).

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bjroessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family do not have to stay in an 5 star hotel but we do not have to be subject to a digusting one. First there is no elevetator, okay we can deal with that but really? We walked up to the room it smelled really bad. We tried spraying it with lysol it just completely stunk. Then my husband tells me on the last day (stayed for 2 days) that there was ants in the bed and he had to call the front desk to come spray the rooms. Ants wasn't just in bed they was on floor of the room also. If it wasn't for all the problems in that room I would have noticed that the room has a nice view of NYC. But coudn't enjoy it becaus the room was just horrible. Only certain rooms get refrigerator and microwaves and want to charge you to put it in your room. I wanted to get my money back and check out. I had payed in advance and my husband is the the kind of guy that wanted to just get throught the 2 days. Really for that price I got that type of service!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edgewater hotels

DUNMORE
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

this hotel is not the place to go to if you want to get sleep! the walls are so thin you can hear the people next to you! it is not very clean the doors were banging all night people fighting in the hallway the breakfast is so-so i have stayed in alot of comfort inns that were so nice this hotel is like hotel from hell spend a little more money and stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: i do not know if there is a good one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BARBARA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was our second time staying at this Comfort Inn. The cost is far less than staying in the city, which leaves you money for expensive souvenirs and ballpark food! The hot breakfast is plenty sufficient, and the rooms, thanks to a post-Sandy reno, are gorgeous! The staff is super friendly and attentive. The best part is that it's pretty much a straight shot across the GWB to get to the stadium. We will stay there again and again.

Room Tip: Look for first floor availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanainnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I went here because of the location with 3 other people. After spending a day in NYC we ran into disaster trying to check in to our hotel room. The room we received was the size of a closet with one bed and a bathroom that had no walls but merely a fold up roomdivider! It smelled awful and should be completely illegal. we eventually had to get a refund and find another hotel. They would not give us another room or anything for our trouble. I would never stay here because it was the worst experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
119 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed here in part to find out for myself after reading so many conflicting reviews. Is this hotel heaven or hell? Neither. It depends on your travel style, who you are and what you're looking for. This may not be ideal for some business travelers given the lack of on site restaurant/bar and one aspect of its location, i.e., at the end of a strip mall parking lot. On the other hand, if you want a break from Manhattan room prices and you get a recently renovated river view suite? The river is 20 feet away and the view fantastic.
What you need to understand is that this hotel was a victim of Sandy and has only recently been able to reopen the first floor. The upside is that all those rooms are brand spanking new. The downside is that try as they might there will inevitably be some hidden mold somewhere which they have to find and kill to prevent off odors.
But I had a great night's rest, better than normal for being away from home and the service is as good as you'll find anywhere. Small staff but very caring, helpful and attentive.
Only one small detail left to mention: at free breakfast, egg patty and sausage were both cold. This is easily preventable by attention to detail. And not a big deal for me because I just gave them 20 seconds in the complimntary microwave in my suite and quickly resumed my al fesco breakfast on my balcony enjoying the view of northern Manhattan over free coffee.

Room Tip: River view if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4-star-traveler1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgewater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#38 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
BEST WESTERN Fort Lee
#3 of 6 in Fort Lee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#432 of 477 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 725 River Rd, Edgewater, NJ 07020-1171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Edgewater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Edgewater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Edgewater
Edgewater Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Edgewater Nj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing