We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“real bad!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Edgewater
DUNMORE
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“real bad!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

this hotel is not the place to go to if you want to get sleep! the walls are so thin you can hear the people next to you! it is not very clean the doors were banging all night people fighting in the hallway the breakfast is so-so i have stayed in alot of comfort inns that were so nice this hotel is like hotel from hell spend a little more money and stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: i do not know if there is a good one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BARBARA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    40
    30
    16
    13
See reviews for
46
23
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was our second time staying at this Comfort Inn. The cost is far less than staying in the city, which leaves you money for expensive souvenirs and ballpark food! The hot breakfast is plenty sufficient, and the rooms, thanks to a post-Sandy reno, are gorgeous! The staff is super friendly and attentive. The best part is that it's pretty much a straight shot across the GWB to get to the stadium. We will stay there again and again.

Room Tip: Look for first floor availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanainnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I went here because of the location with 3 other people. After spending a day in NYC we ran into disaster trying to check in to our hotel room. The room we received was the size of a closet with one bed and a bathroom that had no walls but merely a fold up roomdivider! It smelled awful and should be completely illegal. we eventually had to get a refund and find another hotel. They would not give us another room or anything for our trouble. I would never stay here because it was the worst experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edgewater hotels

Hudson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
116 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed here in part to find out for myself after reading so many conflicting reviews. Is this hotel heaven or hell? Neither. It depends on your travel style, who you are and what you're looking for. This may not be ideal for some business travelers given the lack of on site restaurant/bar and one aspect of its location, i.e., at the end of a strip mall parking lot. On the other hand, if you want a break from Manhattan room prices and you get a recently renovated river view suite? The river is 20 feet away and the view fantastic.
What you need to understand is that this hotel was a victim of Sandy and has only recently been able to reopen the first floor. The upside is that all those rooms are brand spanking new. The downside is that try as they might there will inevitably be some hidden mold somewhere which they have to find and kill to prevent off odors.
But I had a great night's rest, better than normal for being away from home and the service is as good as you'll find anywhere. Small staff but very caring, helpful and attentive.
Only one small detail left to mention: at free breakfast, egg patty and sausage were both cold. This is easily preventable by attention to detail. And not a big deal for me because I just gave them 20 seconds in the complimntary microwave in my suite and quickly resumed my al fesco breakfast on my balcony enjoying the view of northern Manhattan over free coffee.

Room Tip: River view if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4-star-traveler1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed 3 nights for a family function in the area. First, if you need a facility handicap-friendly, this is not it. Lots of stairs and no elevator. Our room was one of the newly remodeled rooms. The room had a very strong paint smell, the safe (which we did not even try to use) was installed upside-down, and the wardrobe cabinet was delivered to the room after we checked in. We were assured that the staff would be back shortly to install the handles so that we could use it. They still were not installed 3 days later. We only had 2 small drawers in which to place our clothing. I moved the ottoman and found an empty Sprite bottle under it. Our adult son and his wife were placed in a "non-smoking" room that strongly smelled of smoke and actually had ashtrays in it. The hotel was totally booked, so they had to stay one night in that room and were able to move to another room the next day. Breakfast area extremely small, though I must say the breakfast was adequate.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JanCado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This motel is nice and clean, good breakfast, but the best thing about it is it's location to NYC if traveling by car. We have been on a road trip three times now to New York and found entering from 80 the easiest and less stressful way to get to this New Jersey motel. You can leave your car here and catch a bus two minutes walk from motel, and goes straight into bus terminal on 42nd Street close to Times Square. Bus runs every ten minutes, and easy and safe to catch the bus to return to motel. Time varies from twenty minutes to 30 minutes if in peak hour. Lovely area of New Jersey on Hudson River with plenty of shops and restaurants very close by. Great views of Manhattan. I would highly recommend this motel for convenience to NYC. The staff are very helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with verandah overlooking Manhattan
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmfenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, FL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights on our first visit to NYC. The staff was friendly and willing to help us learn the area. The gentleman who was in charge of housekeeping even helped us carry in our cooler and other items which were heavy. Our room was nice but a little heavy on the air freshener. We could not get a room on the river...but easy to walk to the boardwalk along the river with a scenic view of NYC. Area was safe and nice restaurants & even a grocery store within walking distance. The NJ Transit stop was close by which took about 30 minutes into NYC Port Authority on 42nd St (Times Square). As seniors we only had to pay $1.90/per person each way. I would highly recommend this facility.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgewater
Comfort Suites North Bergen
#4 of 7 in North Bergen
3.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
Econo Lodge
#3 of 3 in Carlstadt
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Rodeway Inn Bronx Zoo
#7 of 12 in Bronx
4.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rodeway Inn Meadowlands
#16 of 16 in Secaucus
3.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Comfort Inn Times Square West
#199 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 725 River Rd, Edgewater, NJ 07020-1171
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Edgewater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Edgewater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Edgewater
Edgewater Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Edgewater Nj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing