We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay for NYC Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Edgewater
Certificate of Excellence
Arab, Alabama
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay for NYC Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights while on vacation in New York City. The staff was excellent. They were always very helpful whenever we ask for anything. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast and welcome home reception at night were always very good. There is a bus stop within walking distance from the hotel that will carry you right into the Port Authority Bus Terminal in NYC. From there, it is easy to hop on the sub way or you can step right outside and you are a block from Time Square. The affordable rates and free parking made our family vacation to NYC possible.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcMis96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    190
    44
    15
    9
See reviews for
391
147
29
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

This hotel is in a perfect location for access to NYC. We personally chose this hotel for the following reasons:

- Proximity to NYC West side and cruise ship terminal
- Price ($179 including free parking vs. $350+ in NYC, with $60 parking)

In these two regards, the hotel met or exceeded our expectations. It was very easy to access the hotel from the GW Bridge. A nice surprise (perhaps b/c I didn't read enough reviews) was the shopping area around the hotel, including some popular stores (Pier 1 Imports, for example) as well as restaurants ranging from Panera/Chipotle to Fleming's Steakhouse.

The hotel offers a free breakfast in the morning which is your typical travelers' hotel breakfast. Toast, waffle-maker, cereals, yogurt. A couple of hot items were there as well but I usually steer away from them so I don't recall what they were.

The drive to NYC Pier 88 in the morning was just as smooth and easy as I had hoped for when booking the hotel. Perhaps it was a 15 minute drive -- up to the bridge, across, and down the Henry Hudson Pkwy. Piece of cake.

The only reason I have to give this hotel 3 stars instead of 4 is that the bed was so horrifically uncomfortable that I was awake EVERY HOUR during the night, and finally gave up and got up ridiculously early. It hurt my back so badly that I just could not lie in it for one minute longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anniebob29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

My family and I decided to take a quick four day vacation to NYC. My wife suggested we stay across the river in New Jersey as it may be more cost effective for a family of five. Initially I was opposed but after arriving at the Homewood Suites I was pleasantly surprised. The property is fairly new and well maintained. A nice perk of staying here was parking was free.The staff was awesome and very knowledgeable about site seeing opportunities in NYC. The rooms have a kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave, and stove top. We stayed in a king size bed suite with a queen pullout sofa bed.There was complimentary breakfast and dinner every day. The breakfast selection was nice and the Belgian waffle maker was a hit with our family. Dinner was a disappointment. We were not able to find items the kids would eat so we ate out most nights. The hotel is located on the promenade with a number of clothing shops like the Gap, Banana Republic, and Victoria Secret. There were smaller chain restaurants like Panera, Chipotle, and Hagen Daz as well. The hotel provides a free shuttle to Port Imperial so you can ferry into Manhattan pretty easily. You are about a twenty five minute drive, depending on traffic, from Liberty State Park if you want to take the ferry to Ellis Island and the Statue of liberty. Overall this was a great place to stay and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornelius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is the 3rd Easter Weekend in a row that we have stayed at this hotel. The accomodations are great. We like to stay here due to the location and the easy access to New York City. Having been here 3 times, we now pretty much know our way around.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Edgeh20visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

My family stayed in this hotel from 8th April until 14th April.We have stayed in many Hiltons, Dunblane Glasgow and Edinburgh and several in England. This was our first time staying in New Jersey and this hotel was terrific. The staff are fantastic very friendly and welcoming and the guest rooms are spacious and very clean. living in Scotland we are used to lovely scenery/views however ask the hotel for a room of the Manhatten skyline its just simply stunning. If your looking for a nice hotel with easy access into New York you wont go wrong with this one.We cannot wait to return next year.Thankyou Homewood Suites Edgewater from the McDonald and Duncan family from Stirling Scotland.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darnata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Overall a very nice hotel. Decent sized suite; although it could be a little bigger. Breakfast and dinner buffet OK; a little small and crowded. Although the unlimited drinks were very nice! Easy access to NJ Transit Bus to New York City and local shuttle very convenient. However, we were charged an additional $20 per night from our reservation rate when we checked in. Tried to explain it to the very unhelpful desk clerk to no avail. Apparently, they think they can charge you an extra "current" rate only a couple weeks after your reservation when you arrive. Perhaps legal; but very poor customer service. Also, arrived on a very warm day, and the air conditioning in our room was neither on or working. Took about 3 hours to get it on; and never did work very well.

Room Tip: Make sure you double-check your rate before leaving on your trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

This hotel is outstanding. It is clean and welcoming. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is easy access to NYC via the ferry. I am a frequent traveler and this hotel beats the high end hotels for service and amenities. The staff truly make a difference here - they will go out of their way to help you. What a find!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgewater
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Edgewater NYC Area
9.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Paramus
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ridgefield Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 3 in Edgewater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
20.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN the Inn at Ramsey
21.0 mi away
Comfort Suites at Woodbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area
Address: 10 The Promenade, Edgewater, NJ 07020-2128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Edgewater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Edgewater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Edgewater-NYC Area is ideally situated on the western banks of the Hudson River, providing spectacular views of and convenient access to Manhattan. Visit our hotel and enjoy full breakfast each morning, evening dinner & drinks, complimentary high-speed internet access, & free on-site parking. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center & sauna. Explore many Edgewater area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Edgewater Hotel Edgewater
Homewood Suites Edgewater
Hilton Edgewater
Homewood Edgewater
Edgewater Hilton
Edgewater Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing