We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean w/ great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Edgewater
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson Township, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
“Clean w/ great service!”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Hot breakfast and dinner, clean rooms, and excellent hospitality! Family accomodations, shopping plaza attached, suburban area with another shopping plaza three minutes away. 20 minutes to New York, catch the bus across the street to NYC. Too many amenities to share, stay here you'll be pleased.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starisles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    200
    47
    16
    11
See reviews for
412
156
29
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Champlain, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We spent three nights here to avoid paying high NYC hotel prices. The hotel shuttle takes you to the ferry which is 10 minutes away. Ferry ride- $9 each way- was quick- 8 minutes and you are in NYC! Excellent breakfast with many choices. Plenty of seating in the lobby and friendly staff. The hotel was renovated a year ago, and it shows. The area is very nice and there are restaurants within walking distance. Tons of shopping in the area too if you didn't find what you wanted in NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the NYC skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbiemindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Recently stayed here when I had to travel for work in New York City. What a great alternative than staying in NYC. The hotel had a shuttle that took me to the ferry station which is very easy and cheap. I was in NYC within 10 minutes. The hotel itself couldn't be located any better. It sits on top of a shopping area that has tons and tons of restaurants and retail outlets. The staff was very accommodating and seemed like they went out of their way to make my stay wonderful. And like other Homewood Suites, they also offer free breakfast and dinner which included a salad bar, entrees, desserts and beer/wine. Do yourself a favor and stay here.

Room Tip: See if they have a suite with a view of New York City!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stated at this hotel on a recent trip to NYC it is conveniently located along the Hudson with quick access to the ferry. The Edgewater area is very nice with beautiful views of the city. Homewood Suites was clean, the staff friendly and efficient. They provide a complimentary breakfast and dinner daily. The breakfast was better than the dinner but you can't go wrong with free, the convenience was so nice. Also this hotel is located next to The Promenade which has great stores such as Express, Ulta, bath and body works, panera and Chipotle just to name a few. It snowed during our stay so it was nice to have something to do and you don't have to drive, just step right out of the hotel and you are there. There are also lots of places to eat along the main road and a Target and PathMark nearby. Our room had a full kitchenette complete with a dishwasher!! Loved this hotel and our stay was fabulous. There is a washer and dryer available and the place is very kid friendly. My husband goes to NY on business and we prefer to stay here over anywhere! I especially love to go to the TJ Maxx and Marshalls shoe shop that is just down the road, they have the best stuff, better than what I can usually find in Maryland where I am from. We prefer to stay here and take the ferry than to stay in the city!!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jchim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
146 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

I had to take two stars off because of noise pollution.
One for the lack of door mechanisms that prevented other guests from allowing their doors to slam shut from wide open and another because the elevator sounded like the gates of hell opening with an excruciating, metal on metal grinding.

I think that the hhonors preference setting for "high floor, away from the elevators" is broken, or maybe there are too many diamond members in circulation. Yet another stay where I was as close as possible to the elevators - in-fact, my bedroom wall adjoined the shaft (oo-err!)
The dining area isn't very large and seemed to be fully occupied each evening, so I didn't bother with it.

PROS:
Friendly staff
Shuttle service was great - highly convenient lift to/from the ferry at port imperial
Jacuzzi tub
Great view of the city on the east facing side
Convenient location at the promenade, walking distance to several good (enough) places to eat.
*Actual* high speed internet (for a change) - I think I saw speeds around 400-500 K/sec over wireless.

CONS:
The noise from the elevators and the noise from the slamming guest suite doors
Large screen TVs in low definition, am I acting spoiled? - It just seems a huge waste to run SDTV on a 46"+ screen, it might as well be 27"
Check-in seemed slow and convoluted - having to provide my driver's license and credit card (which is on file already at hhonors and used to make the booking as it has for the last eight years) - then, just as I thought I was done with the procedure, I then had to put my bags back down again to find the rental car keys for the tag number and then sent back outside in the rain to hang a paper notice on my rearview mirror under threat of the car not being there by next morning otherwise.

To be fair, maintenance were in this morning, repairing the elevator, I guess things happen, but for the first few nights I had thought that the sounds of hell were coming from some outdoor rooftop ducting, so I hadn't asked to move - though that's what the hhonors preferences are supposed to be for.

Also, somehow my reservation was made for a smoking room (possibly the booking agent) - again, my hhonors preferences not only state non-smoking, but that smoking (or lack thereof) is the most important thing to me.

Without noise issues and lack of good sleep consequences, this would have been a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCLimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

My son is a student at Columbia's medical school in Washington Heights. There are no hotels nearby, so usually when visiting from New Hampshire we've been forced to stay in midtown, swallowing the high cost of parking. Located in New Jersey, alongside the Hudson and about 3 miles from the George Washington Bridge, the Homewood Suites is a perfect alternative. It took less than 10 minutes to reach his dorm located at the foot of the bridge on the NYC side. I arrived mid-December for a one night stay. It had been a long, harrowing drive due to an accident on the Bronx-River Expressway and I was cranky, stressed and hungry. The manager's reception was minutes before closing, so understandably food selections were thin. The gentleman manning the service saw my disappointment and offered to whip up "something" for me. In minutes, he prepared a delicious shrimp scampi...that and the open wine bar went a long way toward comforting and relaxing me. Everyone I encountered from the desk to housekeeping staff was equally warm and accomodating. The view of the NYC skyline out my suite was somewhat truncated, but still awe-inspiring. I also liked being just footsteps from shopping and a great walking/jogging path next to the river. My only complaint was being awakened by the sound of a dog barking and yipping in the room over me. The hotel is not dog-friendly, so this dog must have been smuggled in. (It sounded like it was purse-sized). I managed to fall back asleep and didn't mention the incident to the front desk until morning. Personnel took my complaint seriously and promptly investigated, but it appeared the offending guests had checked out. Based on my overall excellent experience (dog yipping aside), we have booked the hotel for the several days entailed in participating in my son's graduation in May.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors with a view of the NYC skyline. Worth the extra dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia6604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

My family of 5 needed to find an affordable place close to New York, and also near Northern New Jersey for the Christmas weekend as we were visiting relatives in both areas. We looked for a suite in a convenient location with access to transportation to NYC as we preferred not to drive into the City. The Homewood Suites seemed like it met the criteria and the price was reasonable. We reserved a suite with 2 double beds.

When we arrived following a 15 hour drive, we learned that there was not a suite available but they offered us 2 studio rooms for the price of 1 suite. With an additional bathroom, and more privacy, we were pleased with this solution.

Both rooms were in excellent condition. They were clean, spacious, and quiet. The flat screen tv's were great and everything in the rooms worked. We experienced no problems.

It was a bit hard to locate the hotel because it is in a mall near the Hudson River and signage it limited and the roadways are a bit confusing, but after the finding it the first time, we learned how to get there from River Road. Parking was free and easy.

Because it is in an upscale mall, the kids were able to get late night snacks at Chipotle one night. They almost went to the movies another night, but fell asleep first. We finished our shopping locally before the family holiday festivities. Great location. And fairly easy to get into NYC by car, ferry, or even PATH train - lots of choices and the hotel shuttle to the ferry terminal - which we didn't use, but were offered, seems very convenient and also links with the light rail to the PATH, Hoboken and Jersey City.

The breakfasts at the hotel were above average for comparable facilities. We always enjoy the make-your-own waffles, but having fresh fruit toppings, including blueberries, strawberries, and sliced mangoes - well stocked, by the way - as well as the usual whipped cream, butter, syrup, and chocolate sauce, made it a cut above the crowd.

During our stay over the Christmas weekend, we found the entire Homewood Suites staff, from the front desk, to housekeeping, maintenance, the shuttle driver, and especially the breakfast team to be among the most helpful and friendly of any hotel we've ever stayed in. I've been in Ritz Carltons, Four Seasons, Marriotts, etc. around the world. But I can't recall an entire staff that was uniformly and sincerely friendly and helpful. The people here were so nice and warm - and it was a holiday weekend when people often have a grudge about having to work. I can't say enough positive about the place.

When we checked out, there was a bit of an accounting problem, but that was taken care of efficiently- with a fax and a phone call - by Sandy, the general manager, who confirmed the errors had been reversed with an email.

Overall, we were very pleased with our choice and it helped make our trip a great success and pleasure.

Room Tip: There are rooms with river/city views that might add even more pleasure to your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FanofHockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgewater
Comfort Inn
#3 of 4 in Edgewater
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#390 of 468 in New York City
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area
Address: 10 The Promenade, Edgewater, NJ 07020-2128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Edgewater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Edgewater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Edgewater-NYC Area is ideally situated on the western banks of the Hudson River, providing spectacular views of and convenient access to Manhattan. Visit our hotel and enjoy full breakfast each morning, evening dinner & drinks, complimentary high-speed internet access, & free on-site parking. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center & sauna. Explore many Edgewater area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Edgewater Hotel Edgewater
Homewood Suites Edgewater
Hilton Edgewater
Homewood Edgewater
Edgewater Homewood Suites
Edgewater Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing