We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service and quality significantly declined” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rebecca's Restaurant

Rebecca's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Rebecca's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 85 Restaurants in Edgewater
Cuisines: Latin, Caribbean, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Union County, NJ
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service and quality significantly declined”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We've been to Rebecca's a dozen times for special occasions and have always been pleased with the food and service until recently. On our recent visit, Rebecca was not there but a group of young, apparently inexperienced hosts were terribly disorganized which made for scenes of chaos regarding seating, timeliness, and sacrifice to general courtesy. Service went down considerably after the restaurant apparently made a mistake with incorrect booking dates for a party of 12. They even made an error with our reservation, claiming we were supposed to be there an hour earlier. The mistakes quickly escalated, as we had to repeatedly ask for basic items like silverware, and dumb ones like providing a carafe for our wine without ice in it. When we asked for ice, they took the bottle and didn't bring it back for 20 minutes. We had a Groupon, and were asked so (which made us feel uncomfortable). When we ordered dessert (the actual order took 15 minutes + 3 visits from different hosts to get the menu), we were told one of the items was not eligible despite the similar price and our contesting it's indication on the Groupon. "Rebecca told us, sorry." So why couldn't you tell us BEFORE we placed the order? The epitome of our experience came when we received the check. We noticed other customers with a Groupon who did not order extra items were able to leave without paying any tax (they did not even get a bill). However, as we were told, we had to pay tax on all the items + the extra appetizer we purchased. No problem with the extra appetizer, but the whole bill? Again, not indicated on the Groupon. The food was ok, not as I remember, but the portions were smaller. Perhaps the problem with the overall ambience placed a bitter taste in our mouths. Sorry Rebecca, we will not be back again, and am sure many other customers are as equally disappointed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank legend88ls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
83 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful atmosphere, ok overpriced food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

I went here 2 times.
This is a small place with a nice ambience beautiful lit garden and very romantic. Great for the date.
They don't have liqueur license you have to buy and bring your own. But the price list is so " well" set up that don't expect to pay less then $150 for 2 (no alcohol).

Service was not good. They were rushing you so badly. Waiter came 5 times asked ask if everything is ok and if we r ready for desert ... They brought us check without us finished food what was rude. Also I be seen manager (of owner) saying in the corner to waiter to speed up, and to get things going. Very ennoying !!!!

As a groupon guest you are expecting to be treated the same as "normal". But you are not. Immediately you are handed a menu with big letters Groupon or Living social menu. They definitely not treat u the same. Even though as a "normal" guest it wasn't anything special either.

The food is nice. Anbience excellent.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maryinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Okay food, mediocre service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was our second visit and, unfortunately, we were disappointed this time around. The service was mediocre; we had to ask several times to have our water glasses refilled, despite the fact that the restaurant was by no means full so they weren't all that busy. No one asked us how the food was or would we like anything else, until it was time for dessert. The specials were good, but several in our group ordered ropa vieja, based on one person's recommendation. It wasn't what it must have been once-- disappointing meal. Later, one of us ordered an espresso, which she sent back because it tasted like burnt coffee and had no crema.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea112Tampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellieha, Malta
2 reviews
“Fresh and good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Its the first and it would not be the last,! Great food great people, wish I could visit more and more

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandron46666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude, Inconsiderate, and the Food is Nothing Special”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

The staff is rude, the food is nothing special, and above all they never can accomodate you as they claim to always be booked. I purchased a Groupon and for months they kept telling me they are booked. I will never be returning to this restaurant again. Learn how to treat your patrons, a complete attitude adjustment is in order.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank syntec1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rebecca's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rebecca's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing