We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn East Windsor - Cranbury Area
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in East Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2007

Stayed here one night for a wedding that was held in their banquet facility. I was pleasantly surprised...I thought it would be run-down, but it was the opposite. The room was very comfortable and nicely decorated, very modern. The bathroom was clean, loved the bowed out shower curtain.

We ordered extra pillows, and it took a reminder call, but otherwise everything was fine.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sonya732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 469 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2007

This is one of the better Holiday Inns I've come across in my travel experience. The room was new and spacious and attractive. My kids had fun in the pool (which was also newly furnished, it appears). The have free WiFi and a business center. The hotel is pretty close to Princeton, but cheaper than other Princeton-area hotels, so I'd say it's a good deal.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank tangerinedream454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2007

An old Holiday Inn slogan promised that "The best surprise is no surprise." I always liked that slogan, but I never found it to be true. I tend to avoid Holiday Inns (I've resented them since they lost their iconic light chasing sign that promised an end to an endless day of family vacation in my youth). Holiday Inn Express properties seem decent enough, but Holiday Inns usually disappoint. So, it was with some trepidation that I booked a two-night stay in this property, at exit 8 off the New Jersey Turnpike.

Check-in was efficient. The lobby and ground floor areas were clean. But getting to our room with luggage and toddler required a few trips.

The elevator was convenient to the front desk...and if your room is near the elevator, you're in luck. Ours was down an amazingly long hall, then left, past the vending/ice area.

The room was a bit on the small side, affording little room for storing luggage for two adults and one toddler.

The king-sized bed was a standard spring model, rather firm. And the bedding was nicer than expected.

The room overlooked the pool (although the sight of several big, I mean big, guys with bald heads and tatts throwing a football from the end to the other, along with their big women, kind of intimidated us from jumping in after a long, hot afternoon at Six Flags Great Adventure. We did visit the pool the following morning and it was a bit chilly still, so our swimming was little more than dangling legs. I wish the pool featured some heat. I also wish a kiddie pool was available as this pool is a bit deep for my toddler (depth range 3-8-feet).

The TV, an LG HD, picked up some stations (although some froze and disappeared...as digital is wont to do).

The bathroom was nicer than expected, with a granite sinktop and travertine floor. But why does Holiday Inn use tissues that feel as if they are a mild form of sandpaper? The toilet tissue was only slightly gentler. The conditioning shampoo was some generic Holiday Inn brand, as was the "French-milled" deodorant soap. The toilet featured those cheap plastic seats (and I still miss the old "sanitized for your protection" toilet seat wrapper).

The rooms featured a safe in the closet (I never know what to do with those...the "do not disturb" sign and a loud TV seem to do the trick), although I would prefer a fridge.

The carpet seemed less than clean (with some evidence of someone's previous snack under the desk/work station). I never could get the free wireless Internet to work (well, it worked...kind of...but was too slow to allow me to connect to anything).

We didn't avail ourselves to the restaurant, so can't pass judgment there.

Located just off the NJ Turnpike, road noise was abundant, however the air conditioning created ample "white noise" to cover the sounds of semis screaming by.

So, I guess to my surprise, this hotel offered no surprises. Actually, I take that back. I just remembered that there appeared to be a blood spatter on the drop ceiling just outside our bathroom door (probably just a nose bleed or something).

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Maar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2007

We were very satisfied with this hotel. It was very clean, and the staff was very friendly. Close to restaurants, and very close to softball fields which was the reason for our stay. If we play here again we would encourage others to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank auntgoggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2007

This place was the Bomb! Very clean, well appointed rooms. The staff was freindly and catered to all my needs. The new renovations are great.
I would recommend this place to all my business associates,friends and family.
They must have new management since the Ramada Inn because the attitude of the employees has changed greatly.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kad88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2006

They are renovating this hotel and we had a newly renovated room. It was nicely decorated, clean and the beds were comfortable. We had the breakfast buffet which was fine, nothing spectacular, but certainly edible and inexpensive. We would stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeorgieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled on business
Thank HRHIM1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Windsor
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn East Windsor
Hampton Inn East Windsor
#1 of 5 in East Windsor
483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn East Windsor/Hightstown
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Robbinsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Freehold
21.7 mi away
Ramada Toms River
Ramada Toms River
#3 of 11 in Toms River
1,290 reviews
23.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn East Windsor - Cranbury Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn East Windsor - Cranbury Area

Address: 399 Monmouth St, East Windsor, NJ 08520-5003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > East Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in East Windsor
Price Range: $99 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn East Windsor - Cranbury Area 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn® East Windsor hotel's staff works hard to provide you with unparalleled comfort and convenience, so you feel energized when you leave and ready to book your next stay. Situated right off the New Jersey Turnpike at Exit 8 and halfway between New York City and Philadelphia, travelers are never too far from their next destination.On-site professional events are always a success in East Windsor, NJ since the hotel hosts the National Conference Center, featuring 14,000 sq ft of space and modern A/V equipment. For a sophisticated social or corporate event, you may also want to consider reserving the Windsor Ballroom. Free Wi-Fi access and a Business Center assist you with executing work seamlessly from the comfort of the hotel.East Windsor is only a few minutes from attractions in the Princeton and Trenton areas if you feel like venturing out, while the Grounds for Sculpture are only 14 miles away. Be pleasantly surprised by the prices at Jackson Premium Outlets, and then head to Old Bridge Township Raceway for fast-paced family fun. Six Flags Great Adventure is perfect for thrill-lovers, so make sure to ask about our Stay & Play packages.After a day of exploring, our full-service JT's Restaurant and Pub is the place to grab a meal. When you stay with us in East Windsor, NJ, hotel features like an outdoor pool and sauna help make your trip more enjoyable. Guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in (some exceptions apply please call the hotel for details). Valid photo ID and credit card required at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn East Windsor - Cranbury Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn East Windsor Hotel East Windsor
East Windsor Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing