We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice and easy access to the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn East Rutherford Meadowlands
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in East Rutherford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2007

I stayed at the Fairfield Inn Sept 7th - 9th and was pleasantly surprised at how nice the staff was and how clean the hotel was. The hotel was very clean and my room was ready when I arrived. It is smoke free hotel which is great. The continental breakfast was pretty good all things considered. There were various fruits, bagels, toast, cereal, French toast sticks, breakfast sandwiches, omelets, mini donuts, yogurt, juices, coffee, and danishes. The greatest thing about the hotel is it has a bus stop right out front where you can catch the 163 or 164 buses into the city to Port Authority. It runs pretty frequently. There is not much around the hotel. Charlie Brown’s is a steak house that is a short distance away. The food there is just OK. The hotel also has a few snacks that you can buy at the front desk. The hotel also offers free internet so you can stay connected if you like. Overall, I would say it was a very good place to stay especially if you want to save some money. Hotels in the city are way overpriced for how dirty the city is.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank l0v3_2_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Inn East Rutherford Meadowlands
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 347 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2007

Just returned from staying over the weekend of Sept8/07. I had difficulty finding a reasonably priced hotel in NYC and I found this one after reading the reviews on this site. The front desk was very helpful with the bus instructions. The bus stop to NYC in front of the hotel made for easy access to NYC. My 2 double bed room was an okay size. The room was clean, the continental breakfast was decent.. The hallways and the elevators could use a facelift. I needed the free parking since I was driving in from Canada. Since I was staying on a Sat & Sun, traffic wasn't too bad so the bus ride was only 15 minutes into NYC.

Not a bad place to stay if you need to park your car and don't mind taking the bus into NYC and you only plan to sleep there after spending all day in NYC. The hotel is located in an industrial area and there is nothing (i.e stores, restaurants etc) within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank magster888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2007

Stayed here one night with my wife and kids before a day trip.
First room smelled like smoke (not hotel's fault, it was non-smoking).
Manager changed room without any problem.
Next room was ok, but small.
There's not much to see in this area (we know the area, originally from Bloomfield, now live outside of Trenton), but other reviewers are correct when they say that the bus is right in front of the hotel. I saw a number of guests getting on the bus in the morning, presumably to go into NYC.
Breakfast was OK, typical continental with make-your-own-waffles (no Jimmy Dean sandwiches at this Fairfield).
Will not return, unless planning to go into NYC. The bus proximity is its best attribute.
Maybe I was spoiled by the Fairfield in Orlando near Universal (very nice), but I was definitely a bit disappointed.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank dlostyle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2007

Hotel was clean and room was ample for a family of four. A bus stop outside of the hotel made easy access into Manahatten. The bus trip took around 20 minutes. The hotel offered complimentary internet and breakfast -great for a day in NYC. This is a great hotel to access NYC if you are on a budget and will to take a 20 minute bus ride.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Wobblyboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2007

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in May 2007. I chose to stay in NJ rather than Manhattan, because it was an easy way to save 200 dollars every night. I took a bus to Manhattan every day. There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel, but the bus ride is not very comfortable, because the buses are almost always so full that you have to stand on the aisle. If you are travelling during peak hours (and in New York it is almost always the rush hour), the ride will take 30 minutes. If you are travelling on a Sunday morning, then the ride will take 15 minutes. The buses go seldom - once or twice per hour. The bus arrives at Port Authority, which is in the heart of Manhattan, so it is a good place to start exploring the big apple.

My recommendation is this: if you are visiting Manhattan for the first time, don't stay here - stay at a hotel that is located at Manhattan, because it is much more convenient and staying at Manhattan is the best way to experience the city. But if you have already experienced Manhattan before, then this hotel is a good opportunity to save 200 dollars per night compared to hotels of Manhattan. You will spend 1 hour in the bus every day, but your savings will compensate that.

The hotel is nice and clean. I have a back problem, so for me it is essential that the bed is comfortable. This bed was very good - not too hard, not too soft. There is a complimentary breakfast, which is good and plentiful. The sound-proofing is not very good, so you might here some noise from your neighbours. But other that that, the room was quiet. I had a room facing the back yard and I recommend you ask for a room facing this way, because on the front side there is a road near the hotel, so you might here some traffic noise - but on the back side there was no traffic noise at all. There was occasional airplane noise, but that was very seldom - not a problem.

There is only one restaurant nearby - a steakhouse, which tends to overcook the meat.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JM_Maa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2007

Just returned from my first visit to NYC. My friends and I stayed here. We had no proble getting to the hotel, we called the hotel in advance and they gave us 2 local cab companies that would have no problem finding the hotel. Getting to the city was easy, bus stop right in front of the hotel that takes you to Port Authority for $3.10 each way. The buss runs until 1:40am. The hotel staff was very helpful with any questions we had about getting around. The only complaint I have is that there is only one restaurant in walking distance and it was not very good. So once you return to the hotel you are not close to anything.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2006

As all posts have stated, the location of the Fairfield Inn is ideal for traveling to and from New York but is initially difficult to find when initially getting to the hotel. I would like to offer comments with regard to the hotel itself. We stayed in King Room #426, with adjoining room #424 that has two double beds.

I felt that for the price, the hotel had good value. Breakfast is served from 6 a.m. to 10 a.m. and includes: bagels, toast, English muffins, a variety of donuts, Pop Tarts, muffins, scrambled eggs in the form of an omelet, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, dry cereal and milk, yogurt, fresh fruit (today happened to be cantaloupe), and a waffle making station. There is also coffee, tea, hot chocolate, cranberry juice, orange juice and apple juice available. The USA Today newspaper is delivered every weekday to your room.

There is a small fitness room which has basic equipment such a treadmill, bicycle, etc. There is also a print station kiosk in the lobby in which you can attach your laptop to print items such as airplane boarding passes. Also, the free wireless Internet works perfectly in your room and throughout the hotel.

Though I do feel that the hotel value is good, especially in comparison as to what one would be charged in New York, I would like to point out items I noticed. The hotel elevators could use wiping. The heating/cooling unit in the room is not clean. In addition, the windows are not clean. The grout on the bathroom floor doesn’t look great – it is possible that the grout was not sealed when it was installed (white flooring) which is causing staining in the grout. However, the tile on the bath tub wall and the bath tub itself is immaculate with an extended curtain rod so the shower curtain does not stick to you. I had to run the water for several minutes before it became warm. The hotel provides soap and shampoo but no conditioner.

Staff is friendly and helpful. They had our room keys prepared when we arrived. When one of our rooms smelled like smoke, they were accommodating in reassigning that room to a comparable room.

The hotel décor is a little dated and worn and could use a little more cleaning. However, for the reasonable cost one and outstanding location, these two items boost the overall review of this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank VegasBling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Rutherford
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton East Rutherford-Meadowlands
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn East Rutherford Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Meadowlands
Hilton Meadowlands
#4 of 5 in East Rutherford
441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands
1.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Meadowlands - East Rutherford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn East Rutherford Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn East Rutherford Meadowlands

Address: 850 Paterson Plank Rd, Route 120, East Rutherford, NJ 07073-2130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > East Rutherford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in East Rutherford
Price Range: $126 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn East Rutherford Meadowlands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A terrific location and value among Meadowlands hotels, the Fairfield Inn East Rutherford / Meadowlands hotel is always fresh, always clean and full of thoughtful amenities. This Meadowlands hotel is conveniently located within minutes of The Meadowlands Sports Complex (MetLife Stadium, Meadowlands Racetrack) and just 6 miles from New York City. NJ Transit provides bus service right outside our door to NYC, 7 days a week (163 bus schedule). Fairfield Inn East Rutherford / Meadowlands hotel offers 141 spacious rooms each with FREE High Speed Internet, a well-lit work desk, flat panel TV and in-room coffee.. Start your day right with a complimentary Hot breakfast at this Meadowlands hotel. Keep your healthy lifestyle in our Fitness Center. Come see why Fairfield Inn East Rutherford Meadowlands is your choice for superior value and comfort among Meadowlands hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn East Rutherford Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn East Rutherford Meadowlands Hotel East Rutherford
Fairfield East Rutherford
East Rutherford Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing