We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy travel to city, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn East Rutherford Meadowlands
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in East Rutherford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2007

Just returned from my first visit to NYC. My friends and I stayed here. We had no proble getting to the hotel, we called the hotel in advance and they gave us 2 local cab companies that would have no problem finding the hotel. Getting to the city was easy, bus stop right in front of the hotel that takes you to Port Authority for $3.10 each way. The buss runs until 1:40am. The hotel staff was very helpful with any questions we had about getting around. The only complaint I have is that there is only one restaurant in walking distance and it was not very good. So once you return to the hotel you are not close to anything.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 359 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2006

As all posts have stated, the location of the Fairfield Inn is ideal for traveling to and from New York but is initially difficult to find when initially getting to the hotel. I would like to offer comments with regard to the hotel itself. We stayed in King Room #426, with adjoining room #424 that has two double beds.

I felt that for the price, the hotel had good value. Breakfast is served from 6 a.m. to 10 a.m. and includes: bagels, toast, English muffins, a variety of donuts, Pop Tarts, muffins, scrambled eggs in the form of an omelet, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, dry cereal and milk, yogurt, fresh fruit (today happened to be cantaloupe), and a waffle making station. There is also coffee, tea, hot chocolate, cranberry juice, orange juice and apple juice available. The USA Today newspaper is delivered every weekday to your room.

There is a small fitness room which has basic equipment such a treadmill, bicycle, etc. There is also a print station kiosk in the lobby in which you can attach your laptop to print items such as airplane boarding passes. Also, the free wireless Internet works perfectly in your room and throughout the hotel.

Though I do feel that the hotel value is good, especially in comparison as to what one would be charged in New York, I would like to point out items I noticed. The hotel elevators could use wiping. The heating/cooling unit in the room is not clean. In addition, the windows are not clean. The grout on the bathroom floor doesn’t look great – it is possible that the grout was not sealed when it was installed (white flooring) which is causing staining in the grout. However, the tile on the bath tub wall and the bath tub itself is immaculate with an extended curtain rod so the shower curtain does not stick to you. I had to run the water for several minutes before it became warm. The hotel provides soap and shampoo but no conditioner.

Staff is friendly and helpful. They had our room keys prepared when we arrived. When one of our rooms smelled like smoke, they were accommodating in reassigning that room to a comparable room.

The hotel décor is a little dated and worn and could use a little more cleaning. However, for the reasonable cost one and outstanding location, these two items boost the overall review of this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank VegasBling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2006

We stayed at the Fairfield East Ruth from Dec. 10 -13. Thouroughly enjoyed our stay. Front desk people, wait staff, even the maintenance workers were so very helpful and courteous. We had a king bed room with sleeper sofa. Clean room was of adequate size. We weren't in it that long, since we were there for New York City.
Easy access to Lincoln Tunnel. About a mile to Giants Stadium. We drove into the city although there is a bus stop right outside the hotel. Took 25 minutes to get to TImes Square on Sunday and Monday, an hour on Tuesday for some reason, although we left at the same time each day (@ 9 a.m.). 20 -25 minute return each night. ICON parking web site can help reserve parking spots at a pretty good rate, but you must be on time.
Nice variety of breakfast selections. Pleasant eating area.
Half the price of NYC hotels and not a bad commute. Will definitely stay there again on our next trip to the area.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank tlandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2006

This hotel is right on the NJ Transit bus line - the stop is in front of the hotel and is the reason we stayed there. The place is clean, the staff is friendly. It is not fancy but a good place to stay for convenience to the city. The breakfast is your standard continental breakfast and there is plenty of food.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebMCNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2006

this hotel is in an excellent location if you are touring New York / New Jersey by car. Free car parking with an excellent bus service into Manhatten, reasonable costs and most of all hassle free, have you seen the traffic getting into NYC!!

The hotel staff were very friendly, the breakfast was very comprehensive which is included in the price. Free hi speed wireless internet, so using skype could phone home from the laptop for 3p per minute in the hotel room! Using the webcam was able to chat to our daughter who was at home in the UK.

Recommended to all.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank markhilsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2006

This is a very clean, pleasant, well staffed hotel in a bad location.

The hotel is located between a very busy road and an industrial estate which means that there are a lot of trucks entering and leaving next to the hotel at all hours of the day and night. Also we experienced a lot of aircraft noise, sometimes into the early hours of the morning from the nearby airport.

The only good point about its location is that the bus (163) into New York stops right outside the property and drops you next to Times Square for $3.10. The manager (Lisa) provides you with a bus timetable and all the info you need for the trip.

Also bear in mind that staying in this part of New Jersey means that you will pay a fortune in tolls whenever you venture out in a car.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Markhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2006

It was a great Hotel. All personel were very helpfull and interested us very much. If you want to go NYC, bus station is front of The hotel. It was very easy way to go NYC.

I %100 advise You!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank coco3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Rutherford
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton East Rutherford-Meadowlands
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn East Rutherford Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Meadowlands
Hilton Meadowlands
#4 of 5 in East Rutherford
454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands
1.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Meadowlands - East Rutherford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn East Rutherford Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn East Rutherford Meadowlands

Address: 850 Paterson Plank Rd, Route 120, East Rutherford, NJ 07073-2130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > East Rutherford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in East Rutherford
Price Range: $122 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn East Rutherford Meadowlands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A terrific location and value among Meadowlands hotels, the Fairfield Inn East Rutherford / Meadowlands hotel is always fresh, always clean and full of thoughtful amenities. This Meadowlands hotel is conveniently located within minutes of The Meadowlands Sports Complex (MetLife Stadium, Meadowlands Racetrack) and just 6 miles from New York City. NJ Transit provides bus service right outside our door to NYC, 7 days a week (163 bus schedule). Fairfield Inn East Rutherford / Meadowlands hotel offers 141 spacious rooms each with FREE High Speed Internet, a well-lit work desk, flat panel TV and in-room coffee.. Start your day right with a complimentary Hot breakfast at this Meadowlands hotel. Keep your healthy lifestyle in our Fitness Center. Come see why Fairfield Inn East Rutherford Meadowlands is your choice for superior value and comfort among Meadowlands hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn East Rutherford Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn East Rutherford Meadowlands Hotel East Rutherford
Fairfield East Rutherford
East Rutherford Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing