We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton East Rutherford-Meadowlands
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in East Rutherford
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, United States
1 review
“Working stay”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great hotel experience, but you have to like Mexican food, if you do not your meal selection is greatly diminished. The entrance to and exit from the road out front is poorly designed making arrivals and departures difficult, but typical of New Jersey.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood17gm, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton East Rutherford-Meadowlands, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Mark K;

Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor about our location. I am pleased to hear that you had a Great Hotel Experience while staying with us. I'm sorry about the difficulties you had entering and exiting our hotel from Rt 17., as an alternative we do have a rear entrance to our location from Stanley Street which is a local neighborhood street. Again, thank you for sharing and we look forward to your return.

Regards,
Tom, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    128
    25
    15
    7
See reviews for
256
95
18
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Outstanding customer service from check in to check out, staff very helpful and ready to go the extra mile, comfortable and nicely decorated rooms, everything was working in the room and kitchen, superior complimentary breakfast. Great experience

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood17gm, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton East Rutherford-Meadowlands, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear David R;

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you had a "Wonderful Experience". We see that you enjoyed our outstanding customer service from check in to check out. We truly appreciate your comments and look forward to your return in the future.

Sincerely,
Tom, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2013

When visiting New York, I normally stay in Secaucus but everything was booked. This was a nice change. The hotel was clean and the room (222) was large (it was disability room that slept 6). My kids enjoyed the breakfast and their own room. I could see the MetLife stadium, Empire State bldg and new World Trade Center from my window. I would stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood17gm, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton East Rutherford-Meadowlands, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Charles R;

Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel. They are very much appreciated along with your business. We are glad to hear that you think we are a Great Family Hotel. We look forward to your return next time you are in our area. Again, thank you.

Regards,
Tom, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I'm a regular at this Homewood Suites, having switched from the local Sheraton in favor of the better price, location and amenities here. Staff is always friendly and helpful, the property is very comfortable, and I appreciate the included breakfast AND dinner in the very nice lounge area. A 10 minute drive to Secaucus Junction; grab any train and the next stop is Penn Station NYC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood17gm, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton East Rutherford-Meadowlands, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Rob R,

Thank you for your loyalty to our Homewood Suites in East Rutherford, NJ. We truly appreciate your comments and are glad to hear that you think we are "Comfortable, clean, and have a nice staff. We look forward to your continued support and thank you for your business.

With regards,
Tom, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great place to relax. Carolina, Manny, Elsa and the other staff made me feel right at home, even though I was away from home for more than a month. The breakfast and dinner foods that are offered are of restaurant caliber. The location is superb with various shopping nearby and great shuttle service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Randall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood17gm, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton East Rutherford-Meadowlands, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Randall S;

We truly appreciate your comments on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to hear that you had a great stay and were able to relax. We thank you for your business and look forward to your return in the near future.

Cheers!
Tom, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in late April, (Thurs. through Sunday), to visit Manhattan and go to a Mets and Yankees game. We found the price for this hotel was much better than what you would get in NY. In my opinion, if you are driving, you wouldn't want to drive into the city, especially if you are not use to city streets like NY. If you are using a GPS to get there, use the following address: 66 Stanley Street East Rutherford, NJ 07073. The address they have on their website doesn't work on a GPS. They do have that other address at the top of their site, but we didn't notice it before heading out. They should put it on our confirmation letter, they do have a link to it, but we usually print our confirmation letter well in advance and use whatever address is on the confirmation letter.

Parking here is free, which is a great perk and hard to find hotels that offer free parking. The hotel staff was very friendly. We stayed in a one bedroom suite. The room size was great. We had a living room, kitchen and bedroom. The beds were VERY comfy, but the living room couch and chair were not all that comfortable and they did have a few stains on them, not a big deal we didn't spend much time there, anyway. Everything else looked very clean. They also had free Wi-Fi in the room and it was at a very good speed. I think there were also a couple of computers in the lobby area.

The hotel offers free dinner including wine and beer, Monday through Thursday….unfortunately we didn't make it back in time for it, so I can’t comment on it. I believe it is 5:30 pm to 7:30 pm. They also offered free breakfast which varies a little day to day, but basically, make your own waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, omelets, fruit, oatmeal, cinnamon rolls, bagels, yogurts, cereal, etc.

There is a Panera Bread right next door at a little shopping plaza. I can’t remember everything there, but I think there were 2 other places to eat, one being a Grill/Buffet.

This is a great place to stay if you are going into Manhattan. If you are going to take the bus into the city it goes right to the Port Authority in Manhattan. The bus stop is only about a 5-10 min walk from the hotel.

You can skip this next part if you are not taking the bus, but here are a little more details on taking the bus.

I recommend you take the free hotel shuttle to the stop your first time to get an idea of where you will be waiting and getting off. If you plan on walking back, do not pay too much attention to the route the shuttle takes, he goes around the longer way. Ask the driver how to walk back when he drops you off but I will also give you directions later. Ask a staff member at the hotel for a bus schedule. The bus number is 163. Be sure to buy a round trip ticket when you get on the bus. If you don’t you cannot buy a ticket from the driver at the Port Authority you have to get it from the vending machine which is a little confusing….we didn't get the round trip the first day and luckily a local helped us get our ticket, one of thing it asked was for a zone number and we had no idea…it’s Zone 3. Anyway, it cost $4.25 each way per adult. We got a military discount at $1.90 each way which is also the price for seniors and children. The buses can get pretty full. Sometimes it’s standing room only….but you can wait for the next one if you are not in a hurry. You will get off at the last stop at the Port Authority. It takes about 20 minutes to get there if there is no traffic.

I will admit coming back can be a little intimidating. You would go to gate 224 at Port Authority….then go to the “Local Bus” side NOT “Express Bus”. Then when you get off it will be the stop AFTER Patterson/Jane , you get off at Hackensack. You have to pay attention to the ticker at the front of the bus….they do not stop at every stop….you have to push the button and request a stop. If you need help, like we did at first, ask the locals riding the bus, they were VERY friendly and helpful for us….by the 3rd day we had it down packed. As I said it was a bit intimidating at first but you get used to it.

Once you get off the bus, there will a little convenience store called The Pantry, on your right. You can call the hotel and they will pick you up until 11:00 pm, or you can walk back very easily…..we felt safe doing it. Cross the street and take that street right in front of you, Cornelia St., then take a left at the end, Ann St. You will see Homewood Suites, just cut through the Police parking lot and you are right there.

I hope these notes were helpful!

Enjoy your stay at Homewood Suites! I don’t think you would regret it!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elsplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood17gm, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton East Rutherford-Meadowlands, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Elsplace;

We are delighted to hear that you think we are a "Great Place to stay when visiting Manhattan!" We truly appreciate your review on TripAdvisor and thank you for the valuable information that you have provided for everyone else to see. We look forward to your return when traveling to our area. We thank you for your service to America.

Sincerely,
Tom, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I had to stay here a week for work. The rooms were very clean and spacious, but what really impressed me was the staff. It was my first time in New Jersey and New York. Richard, Linda, and Carolina were VERY helpful with all my first time tourist questions about going into Manhattan. Better to drive or public transit? Bus or train? Gotta bus schedule? Gotta train schedule? Once I get there, how do I get back? What's the return gate for the 163 train to East Rutherford at the Port Authority Bus Terminal? Can y'all drop me off? Can y'all pick me up? Which Hop Off Hop On bus company is the best? For every question I had, the staff had an answer or a solution. I only mentioned 3 names, but the entire staff was great. Plus the breakfast and weekday dinner are very good. Saved money on eating out. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebelRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood17gm, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton East Rutherford-Meadowlands, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Rebel Ray;

Thank you for staying with us and reviewing us on TripAdvisor, we truly appreciate your comments. It pleases us to hear that you think we have a "Terrific Staff, & Great rooms. We will be sure to share your review with our entire staff. Again, Thank you and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Tom, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Rutherford
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn East Rutherford Meadowlands
1.9 mi away
Hilton Meadowlands
Hilton Meadowlands
#4 of 5 in East Rutherford
359 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Hasbrouck Heights
Home2 Suites by Hilton Hasbrouck...
#2 of 3 in Hasbrouck Heights
104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn East Rutherford Meadowlands
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton East Rutherford-Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton East Rutherford-Meadowlands

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton East Rutherford-Meadowlands
Address: 125 Route 17 South, East Rutherford, NJ 07073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > East Rutherford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in East Rutherford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton East Rutherford-Meadowlands 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton East Rutherford-Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Rutherford-Meadowlands Hotel East Rutherford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing