We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mice ans roach infested”
Review of Ramada East Orange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada East Orange
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Orange
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I always taught that this Ramada was a hell hole, and took the advice of my boy friend to stay there in East Orange, and it was roaches crawling all over the bathroom, bath tub that didn't drain, had to shower standing in the same water that my boyfriend got out of, and was awoken by the squealing and squeaking of a mice on a glue trap. I was told that if I stayed for 3 nights that there would a 20% discount, only got a 20% on the 3rd night! and I'm getting to start a BLOB on my stay at the EAST ORANGE RAMADA, ALONG WITH PICTURE PROOF.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Claudette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ch_01_eng_75, General Manager at Ramada East Orange, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Hello Claudette J,

I want to thank you very much for your time to write us a review so we are able to improve our service. Many times it is impossible to understand the places we lack quality in but through guests' experiences we are able to understand our hotel position better. Nonetheless, the most sincere of apologies to you, because we were not able to live up to your expectations.

We recently investigate your room and bathroom prior to your stay. It must have been no more than two days since special treatment was done to your room both in the mattress and in around the walls in the room and bathroom. Our team is always ready to help, and hope to see you again soon not to provide an unpleasant experience but a more uplifting one.

Please excuse us at this time as we were lacking in attention and I promise we will take better care of our rooms. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
There are newer reviews for Ramada East Orange
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 537 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stay near the airport (Newark) if you have some business in the area. The lobby had a heavy curry smell to it. The floor upstairs smelled like people recently smoked but not cigarettes. There really seem to be no hotel alternatives for this immediate area so you have to travel.

Room Tip: try another hotel
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigsky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ch_01_eng_75, General Manager at Ramada East Orange, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Hello bigsky3,

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We apologize for any inconvenience that you had during your stay at our hotel.

Many times as a manager and hotel team we are unable to notice these issues where our valuable guests are able to help us. Also, we have installed an air fresher to all hallways and lobbies to keep the environment to be fresh and up to the guest’s health.

Please excuse us this time as we are doing our best everyday to provide the best for our guests. We will improve our mistakes and make sure they are not repeated again for future. We hope to see you again at our hotel soon. We appreciate your comments. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Glenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ch_01_eng_75, General Manager at Ramada East Orange, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Overall not a bad stay. The room was not well insulated so there was always a bit of noise fro the parking lot even though we were on the 6th floor and the staff did not really clean the room but just made the bed and changed the towels. For the price it was a good deal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Alvin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Shaniqua P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this place! I guess the best way to review is to list the pro's and con's.
Pro's: Location is great, as we caught the train into Penn Station each day for our 3 night stay. We wanted to visit NYC but could not afford the expensive hotels in the city, and also needed car parking, which most of the city places didn't offer. It was a 25 min train ride into Penn Station. Breakfast was free each day. They have a laundry which was convenient, and also a little shop for necessities.The bed was really comfy and room was clean.
Con's: The hallways are really hot! I don't think they have aircon in the hallways which makes them stifling and a bit smelly. I went down to use the gym one morning, and was disappointed to find the only equipment working was the treadmill. It's not in a great part of town, but as long as you don't wander the streets at all hours of the night, we felt quite safe. Breakfast area got really crowded in the mornings, and they don't allow you to take the food back to our room, which is a bit of a dilemma when there's no tables left.
All in all, it was average but suited us okay.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the car park, as it's at the back so less street noise.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chocmint1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Belen M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Comfort Suites Newark
#13 of 16 in Newark
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada East Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada East Orange

Address: 120 Evergreen Place, East Orange, NJ 07018-2000 (Formerly Royal Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > East Orange
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Orange
Price Range: $78 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada East Orange 2*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 mile from New York City, Manhattan. 5 Miles from MetLife Stadium, SuperBowl 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada East Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada East Orange Hotel East Orange
East Orange Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing