We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food, but standard Chines-American fare”
Review of Mr Chu

Mr Chu
Ranked #12 of 80 Restaurants in East Hanover
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Jersey
Level Contributor
480 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Very good food, but standard Chines-American fare”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Went there Christmas day as it was one of the very few restaurants open. Waited one hour for a table (got there 6:15pm) even though we were told it was a 30 minute wait. (Had to get there before 5:30 or after 8pm to avoid wait.) The food was good but the service was VERY slow given the huge crowds - and it honestly was not worth the wait - we would not do this again. There is really no place to wait and it was VERY uncomfortable standing in the limited hallway/walkway. We would go back, just not on a major holiday.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ams44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    39
    11
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MidWest
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“This can't be the best Chinese in the area.”
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

The food was SO salty, way too much sauces. Prices werent anything special given the poor quality. The vegetable dumplings were the best part. The scallops although covered in sauce did seem fresh. Would never go back. I heard there is a place called Bill and Harry's down the road, I'll try that next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ICanBeCritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
151 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Don't Even Think About It!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is the worst Chinese restaurant I've ever eaten at. I don't know how they stay in business. They're way overpriced for the quality and amount of food they serve. We ordered the Shrimp with Lobster Sauce and it was blah! To boot, the decor is dull and dreary.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank taurus044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
129 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good for a quick lunch/dinner”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The food is good, the atmosphere is average, and the service is competent. I often stop for a quiet lunch. For dinner it is average.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fenton1826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“It's getting run of the mill....”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

What was once a great Chinese restaurant has become run of the mill.....just like any other you find in strip malls or shopping malls.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aldo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Chu also viewed

Parsippany, Morris County
East Hanover, Morris County
 
Parsippany, Morris County
East Hanover, Morris County
 

Been to Mr Chu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing