We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun!!!!”
Review of The Funplex

The Funplex
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Funplex is an indoor family amusement center, open year round, featuring over 100,000 square feet of fun. What's unique about The Funplex are attractions like Foam Frenzy, MagiQuest, and Go-Karting. Some of our other attractions include Adventure Lazer Tag, Free Fall, Bumper Cars, 4D Theater and a state-of-the-art Arcade!! We also have a full service Cafe.
Midland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
183 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Fun!!!!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I've come here multiple times for camp trips. The food was average, and the games were fun. The prizes cost a little bit too many tickets, and the very few claws were rigged, but overall, it was fun.

Helpful?
1 Thank Summerbrieze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    28
    21
    4
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“My 13-year-old boys had fun, but were almost too old for Funplex”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The boys only did the indoor activities, not the pool stuff. They liked the laser tag, bumper cars, and arcade games, but the line was too long for them to do the go-karts which had been something they were really looking forward to. Other indoor rides were really for younger (smaller) children. They did the magician game, which took a long time and can not be completed unless you purchase a wand, since the rental wands can't be taken out of the magician game area but some of the quest items were located outside .... Overall cleanliness OK, noise level very high for adults, staff friendly. We didn't purchase any food, just drinks.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank VJSinFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompton Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Stay Away!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I am the mother of a 3.5 year old daughter. We were invited for a birthday party. I wish we had declined. My daughter was given only a pretzel to eat be abuse they were out of pizza. The lines for the rides were out of sight and after waitin for more than 20 minutes we never got to redeem our prize tickets. Never Again. Stay far far away.

Helpful?
4 Thank travelgirl05667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't ever go here!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I spent approximately $500.00 on an Ultimate Birthday Pkg. & it was far from ultimate!!! One ride wasnt working & the line for the karts was 45 minutes & the swinging ride was 35 minutes! So much for unlimited rides as the package includes. The website stated each child in the party would receive a slice of pizza but we only received 4 slices and the rest of the kids received cold, hard pretzels! The mgmt. didn't know their website was wrong & when I pointed it out to them they changed the site but wouldn't refund me any $$.
When the children tried to redeem their tickets one entire kiosk was broken & the only thing a staff member could say was " not a fun day to be at the Funplex". The parents arrived to pick up their children & some kids couldn't redeem their tickets for prizes. Those that stayed had to wait Nother 45 minutes. Save yourself a lot of money & aggravation & find a place that really cares about their customers.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average fun for adults”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

More of a kid oriented fun place, with a few adult-type attractions. Food's awful and overly priced, but no one is going to go to Funplex strictly for the food (think carnival midway type foods). For a few hours of fun though and something different, I'd head back.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LongshotDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Funplex also viewed

 

Been to The Funplex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing