We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Saffron - CLOSED

Saffron
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Nj
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We went there for lunch and have been back for dinner. Prices are slightly on higher end. The buffet was decent nothing extraordinary. Average indian food. Nothing to rave about.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pre2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
livingston, new jersey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“consistently outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have brought Indian friends here for dinner. Lunch is exceptiional, usually with at least 4 vegetarian dishes; on weekends it includes desserts. Naan is amazing; decor elegant. This is a lovely venue.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank macbethLivingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillson, New York
Level Contributor
138 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch Buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

As some earlier reviewers commented, this restaurant can be pricey for a la carte which is the only option in the evenings. At lunchtime, however, it's a whole different story as their lunch buffet is an Indian food-lover's paradise.

Salad, pickles, chutnies, samosas, dosas, kebabs, grilled tandoori to start - the selection varies from day to day - and then at least one chicken, one lamb and several vegetable curries and dalls, all of them superbly cooked and rich in spices. Waiters bring fresh nan to the table and there are always 2 dessert options. At around $10 per head it is simply unbeatable and it is available 7 days a week.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neilepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Our hotel concierge recommended this Indian restaurant. We were very pleasantly surprised. The wait staff was extremely attentive, and the food absolutely delicious. If you're staying at the Hanover Marriott , this hotel is about 4 miles away and worth the trip.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RachelB54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“simply the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is our favorite Indian restaurant, and probably our favorite restaurant in general. My husbands has many colleagues who are from India so they dine a lot in Indian places in NYC, and he claims this is the best Indian food he's ever had. It is very authentic and flavourful and not "watered" down to fit the American pallet ( but if you don't like it too hot - just ask and they will go easy on the chilly ).
The food is simply delicious, and every thing we ever tried was just superb.
I especially like the pea soup ( the mulligatawny is also very good ) and the saffron tandoori chicken. They have all these exotic dessert and it's always fun experimenting and trying something new. During weekends they have the buffet which is amazing.
If you look at it from the outside the place doesn't look too appealing, it's located on a strip mall along route 10, not the first place you'll go looking for a quality restaurant - but I guarantee you will not regret it. We live about 20 min drive from east Hanover, and still when we crave really good Indian food, we are happy to make the long drive.
Service is very friendly and attentive, and we always leave very happy.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaimy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron also viewed

East Hanover, Morris County
East Hanover, Morris County
 
East Hanover, Morris County
East Hanover, Morris County
 
East Hanover, Morris County
East Hanover, Morris County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing