We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above average diner experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colonial Diner

Colonial Diner
Ranked #12 of 108 Restaurants in East Brunswick
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Above average diner experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Although it is not open 24 hours, which was a turn-off for me as a college student, I enjoy going here now with my fiance and we took his parents there for brunch. Everyone's meal was fantastic, but as his upstate family found out, there's no Italian Toast at Jersey diners, sorry! But, the huevos rancheros my fiance ordered was awesome and so was the egg white omelet I ordered. All-around great breakfasts, and I had an awesome sandwich here too. I believe it's owned by the same management as Skylark, their menus are very similar and more progressive than a usual diner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    25
    20
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
East Brunswick, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“They have some pretty good French Onion Soup..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

For a diner their French Onion Soup is pretty good. It has no brandy or alcohol in it but its pretty good.

Helpful?
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milltown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Omlette I Ever Had!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Don't know what they do to those eggs, but the omlettes are fabulous!! I've never had anything else there, but no one has ever looked unhappy with their meals.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Freshen up the Menu.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Food has gotten progressivley worse over the years. Bland tasting items that show up at differing degrees of temperature, based on how long they hang around waiting to be delivered. Staging, firing, and expediting out of the kitchen seems to always be a major issue. And by the way, toast means toasted bread, not warm bread that is the same color as when you put it in the toaster, and on which butter will not melt.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BATMANCHICAGO60625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neshanic Station, New Jersey
Level Contributor
175 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Hit or miss diner, tries hard to have unique meals though”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Since they had new owners about two years ago, this place has classed it up to be a little bit nicer than your average NJ diner. They have all the regular diner favorites, but also more creative twists like crepes and fancy mozzarella sticks. The salad bar is comprehensive and delicious. The prices are a smidge higher than a regular diner, but they make up for it in food. The atmosphere is diner-y.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SheyJosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonial Diner also viewed

 
East Brunswick, NJ
East Brunswick, NJ
 

Been to Colonial Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing