We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

A former colleague's retirement party was all the impetus we needed to leave a steamy Florida end of summer and head to New Jersey to partake in the festivities. But a five-day stay in a motel/hotel? Not usually the most pleasant aspect of any getaway: will the bed be comfortable? - will the noise in the hallways at night prove bothersome? You know, all the little and not-so-little misgivings and realized disappointments that one can experience at nearly every price point. But this hotel was more than a bit of serendipity from the friendliness and helpfulness of staff to the comfort level of the suite. The bed rivaled the comfort of ours at home - even if the pillows were too mushy for my taste. Somehow, I slept like a baby. As to noise factor? Who knows? I found the perfect preventative by leaving the bathroom fan on all night and the door ajar so the "white noise" would permeate to the sleep area. Sweet little kitchen missing only a conventional oven to make it liveable as a long-term accommodation. And I'd bet that many Manhattan studio apartments don't have the amenities and room this suite had. A great location on the perimeter of a mall and with easy access to major roadways. Dining abounds within less than a mile and we settled on more than one evening for a nearby New Jersey style diner that embodied the concept of comfort food and a million choices on the flavorful menu. I spent the final day alone packing and chilling out while hubby and a friend visited their old haunts. I never left the suite until dinner that evening and I enjoyed every restful, comfortable minute of it. We'll certainly return whenever New Jersey beckons.

Room Tip: Our room was #215 on the second floor, near the elevator. Next time we'll request the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
The Homewood Suites Dover NJ would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and comments regarding your recent stay here with us.


The entire staff at the Homewood Suites Dover NJ would like to thank you for giving us such great positive feedback and we are so excited that we were able to provide you with an great stay.I will pass on your positve comments to my staff

We again thank you for your business and loyalty and look forward to your soon return.

Sincerely,

Larry Benus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    84
    33
    19
    9
See reviews for
186
69
19
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel has an extremely customer friendly staff and excellent amenities. Its "Zagat" rating is off the charts. Our six year old granddaughter joined us and we had a ball. Swimming, hiking, watching movies, etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Victor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor! Your comments and time are greatly appreciated. I am estactic that gave us a "Solid 5 Stars". Thank you very much. We look forward to your return when traveling to our area again. Have a great rest of summer

Regards

Larry Benus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newyork, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I was treated like a king, all the staff was very friendly, and the hotel manager gave us the best attention and the best service ever. The room was very nice, clean and comfortable. the kitchen was very well prepared, and the room temperature was excellent, I think this was my best experience ever.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Johnny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
We would like to thank you for your great feedback and comments.

The entire staff at the Homewood Suites Dover NJ would like to thank you for giving us such great positive feedback and we are so excited that we were able to provide you with an Extremely Satisfying stay.

We again thank you for your business and loyalty and look forward to your soon return.

Sincerely,

Larry Benus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Rooms ok, food ok, pool very chlorinated. Maids do not clean well and you have to request sheet changes. Some of the front desk staff are very lazy and really don't want to follow up. Good location near the mall, you need a car.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peripatetic_Pro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
The Homewood Suites Dover NJ would like to thank you for your feedback and comments regarding your recent stay with us. I do apoligize for your issues that has occured

We do value your feedback and there is nothing that we want more than to make your time with us Extremely Satisfying. Our daily meeting with address your issue.

I look forward to hearing from your soon,

Sincerely,

Larry Benus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on two occasions during August of 2013. We were pleasantly surprised by the friendliness of the staff, especially Joanna, Aeriel and Adaya. Quite frankly I did not encounter a single person working there who did not ask us how our day was going or what they could do to make our stay more enjoyable. As an example: On the night of our first stay, we arrived at the hotel about 7:30 to check in. The manager asked us if we had eaten dinner. When we answered no, she asked one of the staff to prepare two take out boxes of that evening's dinner. Having just driven four and a half hours and being given dinner when we arrived made us feel right at home. The full breakfast every morning was a real nice touch, especially the waffles. The light dinner fare is anything but as we left sated every evening of our stay. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with lots of space and a full kitchen. Overall, I would rate this hotel very high and encourage anyone who is traveling through the area to stay here.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 4th floor if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarioBrutus59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your feedback and comments in regards to your recent stay. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope that we surprise you again. r We look forward to your future stays

Larry Benus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Best hotel in Dover/Rockaway area. Good Location. Staffs are very friendly. Room is very clean and decent size. Recommended for long stay----Much better than "Extended Stay of Amererica". Good for Business Trip, Family Vacation, and Temporary Housing as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
The Homewood Suites Dover NJ would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and comments regarding your recent stay here with us.


The entire staff at the Homewood Suites Dover NJ would like to thank you for giving us such great positive feedback and we are so excited that we were able to provide you with an great stay.

We again thank you for your business and loyalty and look forward to your soon return.

Sincerely,

Larry Benus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, MA, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were in town for a family party and needed a place to stay nearby where they live and this hotel happened to be right next door and it accepts pets, so it was perfect. The suites were nicer than expected and very comfortable for everyone. The staff was very nice as well. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Katherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We would like to thank you for your great feedback and comments.

The entire staff at the Homewood Suites Dover NJ would like to thank you for giving us such great positive feedback and we are so excited that we were able to provide you with a wonderful stay.

We again thank you for your business and loyalty and look forward to your soon return.

Sincerely,

Larry Benus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Parsippany/North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Courtyard Rockaway-Mt. Arlington
Courtyard Rockaway-Mt. Arlington
#1 of 2 in Mount Arlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Denville / Rockaway / Parsippany
6.6 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Parsippany
Sonesta ES Suites Parsippany
#3 of 16 in Parsippany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway

Property: Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway
Address: 2 Commerce Center Dr, Dover, NJ 07801-5779
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Dover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Dover - Rockaway is located just minutes from Parsippany, Morristown, Denville, Mt. Arlington and the International Trade Center in Mt. Olive in Dover, New Jersey. Enjoy full breakfast each morning, evening dinner & drinks and complimentary high-speed internet access. Whatever the reason for your visit, keep in shape at our fitness center, indoor pool, basketball & tennis courts. Explore many Dover area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway Hotel Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing