We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Indian Restaurant”
Review of Caffe Delhi

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Caffe Delhi
Ranked #36 of 79 Restaurants in Denville
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The place is very clean, the staff is very courteous. The food is excellent, with a good selection that may be fewer items than more expensive restaurants. If you want a really good buffet at a really good price, this is the place to go.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Netmouse R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    9
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“I was figuring when I could come back before I even left”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Thanks social media for helping us find Caffe Delhi. Parsippany is the usual "go-to" town when looking for Indian. No place in particular but usual find a place. Denville will be my destination going forward. Caffe Delhi was GREAT! We started with vegetable samosa and it was so good. I had Chicken Dansik and my wife had Lamb Rogan Josh. I can vouch for mine being delicious. She said hers was also, but I was unwilling to share mine in order to try hers…so you will have to take her word for it… Aloo Paratha bread and ras malai rounded out one of my favorite meals in a long time. The staff was also extremely pleasant. Looking forward to trying their buffet.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank njjimg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good lunch buffet”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great lunch buffet. We were here last weekend and it was a real treat. Both veg and non veg food was tasty. Although d number of items were not too many everything on d buffet tasted gud especially d dessert. Try this place if u r in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vandana M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Succasunna, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointed after reading all the other great reviews”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

After reading all the 5 star ratings, my husband and I decided to try Caffe Delhi, since we're looking for a new Indian restaurant. I'm sorry to say we were primarily disappointed. The onion bhajia appetizer was very good. My husband requested an appetizer that was not on the menu (samosa chaat) which they had no problem making. I thought the samosa chaat was delicious. My husband thought it was good but he said he's had better elsewhere. Unfortunately that's where our satisfaction ends. We ordered garlic naan which, while flavorful, was rather limp. I've had naan elsewhere and it's a little more 'sturdy'. This bread seemed kind of damp. For entrees, I ordered the chicken makhani which I thought was way too buttery. I've had chicken makhani before and have never had it taste that buttery. I thought the butter was way too overpowering. My husband ordered the chicken vindaloo and he ordered it extra spicy (he can never get food spicy enough). He said his dish was OK but it wasn't spicy and he's had better elsewhere (like the samosa chaat). We did have some leftovers of both entrees and had them 2 days later. My husband said his vindaloo was much better. My makhani did taste a little better 2 days later but it was still overly buttery. The service was very good and the atmosphere was nice. Initially of 4 tables, we were the only non-Indians in the room, which I always think is a good sign (when those of the same culture/ethnicity as the restaurant frequent it, because it leads me to believe the food is authentic). I was very sorry to have to write an 'average' review because I had such high hopes for this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Spectacular, Fantastic, Incredible”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I've been going to this restaurant regularly for a few months now and I cannot say enough how great it is.
The service is great, but the food, of the food is so great, it will now be difficult to find another Indian restaurant that can measure up to this.
The owner/manager is a really nice guy that will talk with you and tell you exactly what to get to suit your taste.
and make sure to get the nisharwa naan, its unforgetable

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jwilltellu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Delhi also viewed

Parsippany, Morris County
Parsippany, Morris County
 
Parsippany, Morris County
Parsippany, Morris County
 

Been to Caffe Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing