We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite Restaurant In the Area”

Charlie Brown's Steakhouse
Ranked #32 of 76 Restaurants in Denville
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our philosophy is simple; to provide great food, exceptional value and friendly service to each and every customer we serve.
NJ
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Favorite Restaurant In the Area”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Absolutely love the salad bar - service is always great and the steaks are always good! Member of the handshake club and like the benefits offered. Wish there were more of them - miss the Hackettstown location.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 60rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    38
    25
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hopatcong, New Jersey
Level Contributor
175 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Disappointed this trip!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We are handshake club members and regulars at This Charlie Browns and have always found the food to be good and the salad bar excellent. However, on this last visit, two of the four of us were disappointed in the dinners. Our friend had the Jumbo lump Crabcakes and they looked more like overcooked meatballs than crab...she was not thrilled with the look or flavor ...I had the "shrimpfest" ..,which I have had many times over the years...but this time the shrimp seemed to be oily, over fried and the coconut too strong. Not sure if they had a new cook or the oil was not clean, but I could not enjoy this meal. Eating salad bar and rice was nit in my plans when I arrived at the restaurant. I am hoping this was just an off nite as I would hate to think we will not be meeting at Charlie Browns anymore.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank idatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway Township, NJ
Level Contributor
104 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Hit or miss. The salad bar keeps me coming.”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I love their salad bar but the rest of the menu is never outstanding and is sometimes gross. Kind of like the equivalent to Red Lobster for fish. They probably have cooks, not chefs, and work off a chain type recipe. I hate chains and this definitely has that feel. The service is also hit or miss and they seem to have a lot of turn over. There is one bus boy who has been there forever and he's great but the wait staff usually screws up the bill and are slow. Again, I go here for the salad bar. Period.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karliesjz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Okay.”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Had a steak dinner. Steak was okay. I was not impressed. The meal was mediocre.Priced accordingly. Potato was cold.

Helpful?
Thank GMeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
376 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“It's more than steak”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had regularly visited Charlie Brown's Steakhouses in various places but all that were local to us have closed. We were surprised to find that the Denville location was still open. In the past we have found that the daytime service was good but slow and inconsistent at night. This time we had good evening service and we enjoyed a hamburger with sauteed onions and a cheeseburger with Swiss. We enjoyed them both but were disappointed with the sweet potato fries which were somewhat limp. We did not buy the salad bar but we have enjoyed that in the past. We often made that our meal. There are interesting salads, nice fruit and terrific bread. Our waitress told us that the chain has had financial problems but they have maintained some of the locations. She also told us that they will be renamed Charlie Brown's Grill to reflect the varied menu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tweedybird26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie Brown's Steakhouse also viewed

 
Denville, Morris County
Denville, Morris County
 
Denville, Morris County
Denville, Morris County
 

Been to Charlie Brown's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing