We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific pub grub”
Review of Plumstead Grill

Plumstead Grill
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Cream Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
New Jersey
Level Contributor
352 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Terrific pub grub”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Stopped here for lunch while out on the bike, and it's a good thing we have saddlebags because we took half the meal home. Other reviewers were so right about the huge portions and the fact that Plumstead Grill offers quantity AND quality, at very reasonable prices. Cindy was our helpful and friendly server, and she did a great job of checking in and keeping our iced teas full. We had the turkey reuben with sweet potato fries and the turkey club with regular fries. On both sandwiches, the turkey was fresh roasted, tender and juicy--no deli meat here--and it was abundant. The sweet potato fries were the best we have ever had, and both those and the regular fries were crisp on the outside, tender inside, and completely greaseless. The dessert menu was pretty astonishing for a casual grill, and if we weren't so full, we would have indulged. We look forward to doing so next time, which will certainly be soon. Lunch, including tax but before tip, was $22.00 total. A real bargain.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GHartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    47
    18
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An okay place”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stopped in for dinner on a Friday evening. The place was busy but there was no wait for a table. The service was great, menu extensive, and atmosphere typical for a bustling dining hall. The portions were huge, food was fresh, and pretty good. The sesame seed bread was warm, crusty, and fresh. The salad was rather large, but was not drained properly so my dish was filled with water. My husband ordered the clam chowder which he said was surprisingly good. The stuffed flounder was good and filled with lots of stuffing that was more crab than bread...a good thing. The prime rib was huge, a thick cut and cooked well, but unfortunately spoiled by jarred or powder based au jus. We will return the next time we are in the area and again, a nice place but do not expect 5 star dishes.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice portions.”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Busy restaurant, with big portions and pretty good food. Service was very good. Liked it very much. A bit noisey, but it was pretty busy.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elvis082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Seafood special was excellent”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Went here for the first time in ten years and wondered why it's been so long. I had scallops, shrimp, clams in a cream sauce over linguini and at first wondered if it would be worth the price ($22 I think). It also came with soup and both the soup and meal were worth it. I was only able to eat half of it and ate the rest for lunch the next day. My wife had a steak sandwich which was also good and my daughter had chicken fingers once again, good. Staff was very friendly and my only knock on the place was the margaritas, just so so but everything else made it worth the trip. Highly recommend and will make it part of our regular rotation

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kryszkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Vermont
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Definetly a place to go.”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were recommended to go by people in the campground we were at. We were definitely impressed. The building was impressive and the food great. The value was outstanding. Try the lamb chops and be happy. Desserts are wonderful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plumstead Grill also viewed

 

Been to Plumstead Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing