We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“review of stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cranford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our stay was alright overall. Front desk staff -very nice. Breakfast crew- could have cared less if we had what we needed. They were just in a hurry to close that area. Had to ask for bedding items for the pullmout sofa but when I did they were made available immediately.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Donna L.:

Thank you taking the time to review our property. I am happy to see the front desk took care of you. Please accept our apologies for the less than warm reception at breakfast. Please know your comments are taken very seriously and have already addressed it with the persons’ responsible.

Should travel bring you back to the Cranford/Newark area, please contact me prior to selecting a hotel. I would like to discuss in detail what I can do to ensure your next stay is nothing short of 5-stars. Thank you!

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 653 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

very good ; very comfortable; great room set up; conveient to major highways. On a family reunion week-end. Close to the park where the family met on Saturday. This is a nice location when I come to north jersey.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Barbara S.:

Thank you for your great 5-star review of the property! I am happy to see we exceeded your expectations and delivered a great experience. I trust the family reunion went very well. When another reunion is planned, we look forward to welcoming you back to the property. Thank you!

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Excellent accommodations! Great service! Breakfast, good quality food, nice service - Hotel easy access and nice atmosphere. Will return in future. Nice to have a separate room from bed. Never disappointed with Hilton.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Lee K.:

Thank you for your great 4-star review of the property! I am happy to see we exceeded your expectations and delivered a great experience. We pride ourselves in a great breakfast and an even better service delivery. Our greatest strength is our staff.

Please contact me prior to your next stay. I would like to ensure it is nothing short of 5-stars. Thank you!

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

There was a constant thumping against our wall from the time we entered the room at 10:30 pm and continued all night. Turns out the laundry room was right next door to our room, though the hotel staff lied about that when I asked. The phone system was also on the fritz, and our phone bgena ringing at 4 am in the morning. Terrible night!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
1  Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Erin C:

Thank you for taking the time to review the property. First and foremost, please accept our apologies for your less than satisfactory experience. I understand the value of a good night’s sleep and its affect on your overall experience.

We are looking into the noise and phone issues you mentioned to correct it at the property. If travel brings you back to Cranford/Newark, NJ, please contact me prior to booking your hotel. I would like to discuss with you, in detail, what we will do to ensure your stay is nothing short of 5-stars. Thank you,

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Rooms very clean though we had to call for extra towels and bed linens and blankets for the sofa bed. We were traveling with 5 people and I feel this should have been anticipated and supplied. Also said free popcorn but none supplied though trivial I'd expect a checklist of sorts to be done once room is flagged as 'done'. Also had to go and ask for more toilet paper. The breakfast was awesome with large variety & quantity. The biggest gripe was my son said "the pool water is yucky ours at home is at least clean" and he was right. Dirt leaves spiders potato bugs and other particles floating around and that was two days in a row. Also the side door to the hotel just opened. It is supposed to be card key access only. Traveling with young children I'd expect better protection as there were two guys standing around outside parking lot drinking beer. The front desk said it would be repaired next day.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gravelgert2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear gravelgert2,

Thank you for your 4-star review of the property. Your review was very detailed, and we appreciate you taking the time to highlight a few items. All reviews are taken seriously and are addressed.

Regarding the door access: we take security very seriously and addressed it immediately. I can comment with 100% confidence the issue was rectified and guests are only able to open the door with a valid room key.

There is a large tree directly above the pool. While on a daily basis we do clean/vacuum the pool, a windy day may contribute to debris being in the pool. It is important to note the pool does pass all local Board of Health inspections, done on a routine basis.

As mentioned before, we take all feedback seriously and appreciate you taking the time to respond. I invite you to contact me prior to your next stay to ensure it is nothing short of 5-stars. Thank you!

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is the worst Homewood Suites ever. Dirty rooms, unwashed sheets, stained bathrooms, stained and smelly towels, unprofessional manager and front desk staff, cleaning staff that do not speak English, reservation all messed up, even though I am a hhonors member. Will NEVER stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
1  Thank Bolaji T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Bolaji T

Thank you for taking the time to review the property, and please accept our apologies for your experience. Your claims are somewhat harsh, and there is a level of perception that is sometimes not 100% reflective of the actual situation.

First and foremost, our suites are cleaned and inspected on a daily basis to ensure quality. Housekeeping places a monthly order for linens as well, ensuring our sheets and towels are always fresh and rotated into the existing inventory.

Furthermore, it is common in the hotel industry for many of the housekeeping staff to not speak English as a first language. The housekeeping department is the true heart and backbone of any hotel, and we support and appreciate our diverse staff.

Finally, the entire management team has a combined total of over 50 years of hospitality experience. We do pride ourselves in communicating in professional manner, and we do apologize for your feelings the response was unprofessional.

Your feedback is taken seriously. I trust that the level of compensation offered by management coincides with the issues you experienced. We do hope should travel bring you back to Cranford, NJ, you contact us ahead of time to ensure your next stay is nothing short of 5-stars.

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980 ext. 7803

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the great reviews/ratings, and we were completely pleased that we did. Lovely hotel and staff. Everything was so nice and luxurious and cozy. Great TV. Even cookies upon check-out!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Beverly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Beverly J,

Thank you for your great 5-star review of the property! I am happy you took the time to read our reviews and make an educated decision based on your research. Our goal is to provide every guest with a great experience, and it is obvious we exceeded your expectations. Please feel free to contact me should travel bring you back to Newark-Cranford, NJ. I'd be honored to make your reservation. Thank you!

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980 ext. 7803

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranford
2.5 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
623 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Clark - Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Linden
Hampton Inn Linden
#1 of 4 in Linden
627 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Riverview Inn & Suites
2.9 mi away
Home2 Suites Rahway
Home2 Suites Rahway
#1 of 5 in Rahway
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford

Address: 2 Jackson Dr, Cranford, NJ 07016-3602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Cranford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cranford
Price Range: $132 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Newark-Cranford is conveniently located just 17 miles from New York City in Cranford, New Jersey. Visit our hotel and enjoy full breakfast each morning, evening dinner & drinks, free high-speed internet access, & comfortable one and two-bedroom suites. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center and outdoor pool. Explore many Cranford area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Cranford Hotel Cranford
Homewood Cranford
Cranford Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing