We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor condition for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cranford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Disgusting stain on sofa. I covered it with a towel to feel clean and not think about it. Leg broken on table. Both visible as you walk in. Air conditioning causes one room to be hotter or colder than the other. Living area has to be the wrong temperature to get sleeping area right.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Mark W.,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Please accept our apologies for your experience. As mentioned in previous correspondence, our General Manager has spoken to our housekeeping team regarding your comments. We take all feedback very seriously, and rest assured this issue is not recurring. The sofa has since been cleaned and the table leg repaired.

Regarding the HVAC; similar to a house or apartment, temperatures are somewhat tough to regulate room to room. Our suites are equipped with central air conditioners and the thermostat does control both rooms.

Please contact me prior to your next stay if travel brings you back to Cranford, NJ. I am confident your next stay will be nothing short of 5-stars!

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 642 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

Lovely facilility, but tricky to enter the first time you arrive. Rooms were neat, clean, quiet. Staff was helpful. Family friendly. Internet was good. Bus. Center computers need to be updated, could not print boarding pass on Delta.com Breakfast was disappointing. There was only one attendant on several days, and she was overwhelmed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
1  Thank granpaAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for your 4-star review! I am happy to see you mentioned a number of our strengths, including cleanliness and a friendly staff.

You mentioned the breakfast being disappointing; would you mind contacting the property directly to share your thoughts? Homewood Suites dictates our breakfast buffet menu, and it offers a wide variety of menu items. Waffle station, 2 different styles of fresh cooked eggs, meat, potatoes, hot and cold cereal station, and fresh baked muffins are all included.

I look forward to speaking to your directly. In addition, should travel bring you back to Cranford, NJ, please contact me directly to ensure your next stay is nothing short of 5-stars! Thanks,

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980 ext. 7803

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The stay at the Homewood suites was a pleasureful one. Everyone was nice, patient, and helpful. It would be so nice if their shuttle would travel just a little further seeing that so much is past 5 miles away, but HEY, rules are rules. I would recommend the homewood suites.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Jamieson Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Jamieson Q.,

Thank you for your great, 5-star review of the property! You mentioned a shuttle radius of 5-miles; please contact the property to inform of us where you needed to transportation. True, the hotel radius for shuttle transportation is 5-miles; however, we are willing to work with our guests to deliver the best possible experience.

Should travel bring you back to this area please contact us directly. I'd be happy to make your returning reservation. Thanks!

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We used this hotel for all our wedding guests that were coming from out of town. It was perfect. Not only was the location ideal for our event, but Rebecca was a pleasure to work with. She took care of every detail and made organizing all these rooms easy. My wife and I just sat back and let her do all the work. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear David D.

Congratulations on your wedding! Thank you for taking the time to write a 5-star review of our property. Rebecca truly is a great asset to this hotel, as displayed by the level of service you received from her.

If you need a quick getaway, please do not hesitate to contact us and we will be happy to make your reservation. Thank you for your review and enjoy the honeymoon!

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980 ext. 7803

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed June 6, 2013

the overall stay was great. the rooms were good, could have been alittle fresher, a staleness in the air. also housekeeping put a stained pillow cases on the pillows. The staff was very attentive and professional. I would stay again. one of the best continental breakfast I've experienced. Since the group I was with was on a christian retreat, the Atmosphere was great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for your great 4-star review of the property! Above all, I am happy the experience and level of service you received was excellent. We always strive to be our best, and your comments will be shared with the entire team.

Please accept my apologies for the pillowcase, that is a serious issue. Rest assured it has been addressed with housekeeping, the specific person responsible for cleaning that suite and the person responsible for inspection. I am confident it will not occur again.

Please contact me directly should travel bring you back to Cranford, NJ. I am confident your next stay will be nothing short of 5-stars! Thank you,

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

OUr room shows definite signs of age. Furnishings are dated and roo;m needs fresh paint, furnishings, etc. Obvious patch on ceiling did not show care of workmanship. The staff were very caring and pleasant. However, front desk didn't know that the hotel website says AARP members could check out as late as 2 P.M. if available. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank johnl745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear John L.

Thank you for your 4-star review of the property. In spite of a few issues you experienced, I am proud to see the staff provided you with excellent service, warranting 4-stars.

Please know we take all feedback very seriously. Your information has been shared with the maintenance team and the individuals responsible for preventative maintenance in the room. While we do have a regular scheduled program in place, recent high-occupancy at the hotel over the past 6 - 8 weeks does not always allow adequate time to address all aspects of the program.

As a note, AARP members are able to check-out by 2pm if available. Again, due to recent high occupancy at the hotel, a 2pm late check-out is not always available. Be sure to inquire with the desk for details.

Please contact me should travel bring you back to Cranford, NJ. Upon your next stay, I am confident it will be worthy of a 5-star review. Thank you,

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We recently stayed one night with two small children (3yrs and 6yrs old). HomeWood Suites is very inviting and provides just enough extra space for all of us to spread out. The separate bedroom was great, and kitchenette a nice addition. Breakfast was simple but well stocked and both kid and adult friendly. Location is very convenient-just off the Parkway and only 20 minutes to Liberty State Park, and plenty of parking. Despite being so close to the Parkway the room was quiet. The only downside is that there is no indoor pool.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arm9f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear arm9f,

Thank you for your great 4-star review of the property! It appears you enjoyed all the amenities we offer complimentary to our guests. Unique to our property is the proximity to NYC and are attractions without the "hustle and bustle" or noise from the highway. Also unique to our property is we only offer 1-bedroom or 2-bedroom 2 bathroom suites; no studios and certainly no standard rooms.

Should travel bring you back to the area, please contact me directly to ensure your next review is 5-stars. Thank you!

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranford
2.5 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
566 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Clark - Newark
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#1 of 1 in Springfield
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Home2 Suites Rahway
Home2 Suites Rahway
#1 of 5 in Rahway
358 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Linden
Hampton Inn Linden
#1 of 4 in Linden
614 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Westfield Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford

Address: 2 Jackson Dr, Cranford, NJ 07016-3602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Cranford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cranford
Price Range: $145 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Newark-Cranford is conveniently located just 17 miles from New York City in Cranford, New Jersey. Visit our hotel and enjoy full breakfast each morning, evening dinner & drinks, free high-speed internet access, & comfortable one and two-bedroom suites. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center and outdoor pool. Explore many Cranford area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Cranford Hotel Cranford
Homewood Cranford
Cranford Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing