We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please Change Personnel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cranford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2013

It was with great sadness that I had to rate this hotel as being Poor. We had stayed before and were delighted enough to select it again in as we visited family in the area from NC. We were placed in a in a first floor smoking room with wafts of smells from both cigars and cigarettes. I had requested a top floor no smoking room. Personnel at the desk acknowledged my request but said that was all that was available. Noticed other checking in after us that were placed in other rooms and they had no reservation. The breakfast was poor to terrible and the person in charge was closing out ahead of the 9:30AM stated. When asking for an item she just turned away and said "closed".

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
1  Thank Selma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Selma S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. First, please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you faced. You mentioned a few issues I would like to address:

I am able to confirm your suite was in fact non-smoking; however, it was near smoking suites. Due to the layout of the hotel, most of our suites with two-full size beds are located on the first floor. In addition, Hilton/Homewood Suites requires a certain amount of our rooms designated as smoking. Therefore, we do have suites on the first floor with two full size beds designated as smoking.

For future bookings, may I suggest you inform us of your most important preference e.g. away from smoking rooms, top floor, or bed preference. We may be able to place you on a higher floor away from smoking rooms, but in a suite with a king-size bed. Please know that the other guests checking in may have requested a suite with a king size bed; as we diligently try to honor all requests as best as possible.

With respect to the breakfast, Monday through Friday service ends at 9:00am. For holiday weekends, we may explore the option of keeping it open later. Please know the staff experience is being addressed swiftly.

I do ask you contact me directly prior to your next stay in Cranford. I am confident your next stay will be nothing short of a 5-star review. Thank you,

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 652 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

breakfast staff totally awesome! great food and extremely helpful if something wasnt available. rooms are very efficient for an extended stay and appreciate the two room suite cleaning staff needs better management

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank April W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear April W,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I take all feedback very seriously, especially when you mention areas that need to be addressed with the staff. Please know the General Manager has taken the lead on your comments and changes are in place to improve service.

I am glad to read other elements of your stay were very positive. If traveling back to Cranford-Newark area, please contact me directly to ensure your next stay is nothing short of a 5-star review. Thank you,

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Both my wife and I were very pleased to stay at the Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford while attending our grand-daughter's graduation from Montclair State University. We were very pleased with the accomodations and service we received during our two day stay. The complimentary breakfast was delightful and offered a variety of breakfast offerings. We plan to visit again. Sincerely, Dana and Connie Denault (Marblehead, MA)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
1  Thank Dana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Dana and Connie Denault,

Thank you for your great 4-star review of the property! I appreciate all feedback, especially when it is positive and descriptive. I am happy to see you enjoyed our breakfast, one of the many amenities we offer complimentary to our guests.

If travel brings you back to the Cranford-Newark area, please feel free to contact me directly, to ensure your next stay earns a 5-star review! Thank you,

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

When I finally settle in I realized that the HVAC noise was horrible which was after 11 p.m. and the engineers were off the clock, therefore; nothing was done. Did not get any sleep at all due to the horrible noise. Room 328 please check the HVAC unit out..the noise is a sleep killer. Other then this, I love the hotel and the stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Patricia T,

Thank you for your great 4-star review, especially considering the issue you experienced with the HVAC. Your comments and feedback are taken very seriously as we always are improving. We have since fixed the issue in the suite, as we realize a great night's sleep is one of the most important elements of your stay.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review our property. Please contact me prior to your next stay, to ensure all elements of the suite are working properly so we can earn a 5-star review.

Thank you,

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Excellent location just off the Garden State Pkwy but in a quiet spot. Very pleasant decor and helpful staff. Large suite with separate bedroom, split bathroom, kitchenette, excellent price for what we got. Large choice of breakfast items and spacious seating area although crowded when we got there at 9 a.m on a Saturday.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank tag1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear tag1000,

Thank you for your great 4-star review of the property! I appreciate all feedback, especially when it is positive.

I am happy you were able to take advantage of many of the amenities we offer complimentary. Weekends do tend to be busy, and most guests come down for breakfast right before it ends at 10:00am. For future travelers reading this review and response, a helpful tip to ensure seating in the breakfast area is to try and enjoy breakfast around 8:30am. You are also welcome to bring your meal back to your suite to enjoy breakfast in privacy.

Again, thank you for your review. Please feel free to contact me prior to your next stay, to ensure we can deliver a 5-star experience!

Thank you,

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I was very disappointed by my stay at this hotel. Parking is nonexistent and I felt unsafe. I had to drive around many times and park in another parking lot. This should have been mentioned while checking into the hotel. The mattresses are horrible, and when I called the front desk for extra tissue it never arrived. I called two times. The management staff was unhelpful. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear P B:

Thank you for taking the time to respond, and our apologies for the issues you faced. Please know I take all feedback and comments very seriously. It appears you experienced a few issues I would like to address.

Due to high occupancy the past few weeks, parking has been a problem; however, we do have the correct number of spaces required by the city of Cranford. The hotel is located in front of a corporate park; therefore, street parking in front of the hotel is safe and does not have a high volume of traffic. Additionally, we do have an overflow parking lot which is in conjunction with the assisted living facility just a few feet beyond our parking area.

There should not have been an issue with receiving tissues; again my apologies.

Our mattresses are Hilton approved and comfort is very subjective. Hilton takes this into account when specifying bedding products. I am sorry you did not enjoy a good night’s sleep during your stay.

I do invite you to contact the hotel directly at the contact information below. Thank you for staying with us, and if travel brings you back to Cranford, NJ, I am confident your next stay will be nothing short of fantastic.

Thank you,

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980 ext. 7803

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We reserved a smoke-free suite (We had children and asthmatics), we did not receive one. The room was FILTHY. Had last guests trash, hair in the fridge and showers...my nieces socks turned black after walking in the room or an hour. Very disappointed. My one year old pulled out an old can of the previous guests "muscle milk" within minutes of arriving in the hotel room. Staff was nice and understanding, and the breakfast buffet was great. Just VERY disappointed about the cleanliness of the room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
1  Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Heather A:

Thank you for taking the time to respond, and our apologies for the issues you faced. Please know we take all feedback and comments very seriously. First, the General Manager shared your experience with the housekeeping team and spoke to the individuals responsible for cleaning and inspecting the room during a counseling session. The hotel does have a monthly carpet cleaning program in place; however, due to recent high-demand at the hotel we are not always able to perform the service when scheduled. Your specific suite had a long-term guest check-out; however, due to limited number of two-bedroom suites available we placed you in that particular room. But we failed to clean the carpet prior to your arrival.

Please know your experience is not indicative of a stay at the hotel, nor was it acceptable. We fell well short of exceeding your expectations, but I am confident should you choose to return your stay will be nothing short of fantastic. Please feel free to contact the General Manager or me directly to discuss any other concerns.

Thank you,

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980 ext. 7803

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranford
2.5 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
622 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Clark - Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Linden
Hampton Inn Linden
#1 of 4 in Linden
626 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Riverview Inn & Suites
2.9 mi away
Home2 Suites Rahway
Home2 Suites Rahway
#1 of 5 in Rahway
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford

Address: 2 Jackson Dr, Cranford, NJ 07016-3602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Cranford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cranford
Price Range: $133 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Newark-Cranford is conveniently located just 17 miles from New York City in Cranford, New Jersey. Visit our hotel and enjoy full breakfast each morning, evening dinner & drinks, free high-speed internet access, & comfortable one and two-bedroom suites. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center and outdoor pool. Explore many Cranford area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Cranford Hotel Cranford
Homewood Cranford
Cranford Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing