We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cranford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Ok...while the hotel is obviously older and is in severe need of a renovation, the staff is extraordinarily kind and we truly appreciate the level of service received. The staff tries hard in spite of whomever is lacking in reinvesting. A true shame.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Hello reksamlion,

Thank you for your review last month of Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford. We are proud to see the staff made you feel at home; albeit you not being completely satisfied with the condition of the property.
Please know a renovation is planned for 2013; including new carpeting, bedding and furniture. Coupled with the great service from the staff, your next stay should be nothing short of fantastic!
Please feel free to contact the property directly regarding your comments and we'd be happy to address accordingly. Happy New Year!

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

601 - 607 of 666 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have stayed in this establishment several times in the last couple of years as it is convenient to where our family is located. It is part of the Hilton chain and I have been a card member for over ten years. This past week, we had a family emergency and needed the accommodations again. The previous time we were there was in mid October and it was OK. We found this time the rates increased approximately 25%. There were no special events going on or it wasn't a holiday week.
The TV in the bedroom wasn't working and the breakfast was fair to poor.I reported this to the front desk and was told that the storm must have caused the TV failure. The storm was 2 weeks ago.

My view is, the higher the price, the lower the service. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wanderer46342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Hello wanderer46342,

Thank you for your response and your loyalty to Hilton and HHonors. There are a few issues regarding your stay that I would like to address directly. As a quick overview: I am unsure of your exact reservation information; however, I can say without a doubt rates did not increase 25% from October to November. Rates did increase by $10.00 for 2013; however, there are numerous discounts based on the date and length of stay. I'd be happy to review the rates with you.
The TV issues has been recitifed since your stay; I am unsure if the storm caused the issue. Regarding the breakfast; my apologies for it being less than your expectations.
Overall, we take your issues very seriously. Please contact the hotel directly so we can address your concerns immediately. Thanks!

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Love the layout of the suite, with kitchen/living area and separate bedroom. The rooms were clean, hotel staff professional and personable and the location was an easy drive off the Garden State Parkway. Breakfast was included, but we didn't take advantage of it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that's close to an access door to the parking lot for convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jnachbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Hello Jnachbur,

Thank you for your great review of Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford! Please contact the property directly for your next reservation; to ensure you recieve the same level of exemplary service.
In addition, hopefully on your next stay you will be able to take advatnage of the breakfast offered complimentary seven days a week; as well as complimentary dinner Monday to Thursday!
We look forward to welcoming you home!

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My reservation requested a handicap accessible room for two nights. The clerk who could not be bothered tried to put us in a regular room at the end of the building. I complained and was put into a proper room which was OK. The room was comfortable but the bathroom flooded when I took a shower. The second day we did not get any soap etc.

The breakfast service ran out of bagels and milk more than 1 hour before it was closing. The staff was not friendly, helpful or accommodating.

Room Tip: Look before you bring your suitcase in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victorlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Hello Victorlinda,

Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford; and please accept our apologies for your less than satisfactory stay. We strive for exemplary service; however, it appears we fell short of your expectations.
Please contact the hotel directly so we can address your issues directly. Happy New Year!

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-7091980

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

After reading online reviews about this hotel, I decided to book it while on a two-week trip for work. I had always enjoyed a decent experience with the chain and a good value. I have been sorely disappointed. The front desk staff seems inexperienced, and is rude. The welcome home reception menu is unappetizing and unappealing. They usually run out of wine by 6 and don't bother to replenish based on the customers still around. The breakfast items menu are just as boring, and don't bother asking for a bagel during the week because the answer is "we don't have bagels."

The carpets in the rooms are stained and moldy, just as the bathrooms. The linens are old and of low quality, and the appliances do not work. To get something repaired, it takes a couple tries and they will argued they sent someone to fix whatever was it you needed fixes, and look at you as if you are making things up.

Throughout my stay, there was debris in the hallway on the third floor, and every night I came home, it was still there. It shows the staff does not bother to check.

So please, don't waste your money. Go somewhere else if you value your money and service.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nclapotra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Hello nclapotra,

Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford from November, 2011. We apologize for your less than exemplary stay; but know that much has changed in the last year.

First and foremost: the cleanliness reviews are not indicative of a typical night at the property. Many improvements have been in place to increase the level of cleanliness at the property.

Breakfast is one the most vital amenities available to our guests and we have worked diligently to enhance the quality and selection. Everyday for breakfast you will expect the following selections:
Fresh made scrambled eggs, either plain, vegetarian, or with meat
Hot Bacon or Sausage
Biscuits, Breakfast Potatoes, or Hash Browns
Fresh Baked Muffins
Fresh Bagels
Assortment of breads for toast including white, wheat, and english muffins
3 Types of Cereals
Hot Oatmeal
Assorted Yogurts
Fresh Fruit including Bananas and Apples

Finally, the Welcome Home Dinner Reception has been enhanced as well; please feel free to contact the property for an upcoming menu prior to your stay!

Overall, we feel very confident with the direction of the property since 2011, and hope you will try us again. Please contact the property directly for your next stay. Happy New Year!

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We recently stayed here for two nights for a family event in the area. It was convieniently located right off the Garden State Parkway. I had bnever stayed in a Homewood Suites before so didn't know what to expect. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. If you neede something, they had it! We stayed in a non-smoking room that was adequate for us. I liked the idea of a couch and tv in one room and more than just your bed to sit in. We liked having the refrigerator and ice at our fingertips. Popcorn was a nice touch whic we enjoyed in the evening whikle watching tv. My only complaints were 1) not enough tables and chairs for breakfast (the place was jammed packed the two nights we were there) and 2) the mattresses should be replaced! They were not really up to the standards I expected from a Hilton property.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rakdanit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Hello Rakdanit,

Thank you for your great review of Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford! In addition, welcome to the Homewood Suites brand, part of the Hilton Family of hotels! All Homewood Suites locations include the following amenities COMPLIMENTARY to our guests:
*Daily Hot Breakfast Buffet
*Hot "Manager's Reception" Evening Light Dinner Buffet including beer and wine (Monday-Thursday only).
*Wireless Internet
*Business Center, Fitness Center

Specific to Newark-Cranford, all our suites arfe 1 or 2-bedroom configurations, all with separate living room and sleeping areas.

When visiting the area again, please contact the hotel directly so we can cotninue the great service you received. Happy New Year!

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was a perfect home base for us for 2 nights as we attended an event in the Oranges. Traveled with my husband and two small children, under age of 5. The hotel was literally right off of the Garden State Parkway which was AWESOME for us. It took us only 20 min to get to our location each day and it was all highway/freeway driving which was perfect. We booked a one bedroom suite which was standard and efficient. The bed was very comfortable; the sleeper sofa was awful. After spending half the first night on the sleeper sofa, my husband crammed into the king size bed with me and our two little ones which was fine. The kitchenette is basic with just enough eating utensils and a few cooking utensils as well. We particularly appreciated that the bathroom was off the main living space and also separate from the bedroom. So when the little ones were asleep we did not have to walk through the bedroom to use the bathroom. Just the kind of thing parents appreciate.... Breakfast quality was just ok (eggs, potatoes, bacon/sausage, bagels, toast, muffins, dry cereal, yogurt, granola, fresh fruit, juice, water and coffee/tea/hot chocolate). In comparison to similar hotels (residence inn, hyatt house, embassy suites) the quality left something to be desired but.... it was FREE!!! So I will not complain anymore; it suited us just fine I guess. Not much around to eat in terms of chain restaurants but the front desk has some menus of highly recommended guest favorites that deliver. Altogether, it was an awesome value for the cost we were able to reserve it for so I would recommend it for anyone travelling who wants a close stop off near to major freeways and close enough to NY.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamJJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood S, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Hello TeamJJJ,

Thank you for your excellent and detailed review of Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford! In addition to all the complimentary amenities you listed available to our guests; do not forget about complimenary hot buffet dinner available Monday to Thursday.

If space becomes an issue with a family of 2 kids; we do offer two bedroom two bathroom suites that are almost double the size of a single bedroom suite; but not double the price!

Please contact the hotel directly for your next reservation so we can discuss 2-bedroom suite availability and rates. Happy New Year!

Vinnie Cicerale
Director of Sales
908-709-1980

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranford
2.5 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
647 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Linden
Hampton Inn Linden
#1 of 4 in Linden
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Clark - Newark
2.9 mi away
Best Western Riverview Inn & Suites
19.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford

Address: 2 Jackson Dr, Cranford, NJ 07016-3602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Cranford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cranford
Price Range: $131 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Newark-Cranford is conveniently located just 17 miles from New York City in Cranford, New Jersey. Visit our hotel and enjoy full breakfast each morning, evening dinner & drinks, free high-speed internet access, & comfortable one and two-bedroom suites. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center and outdoor pool. Explore many Cranford area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Newark-Cranford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Cranford Hotel Cranford
Homewood Cranford
Cranford Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing